We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Zahra Essaouira” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zahra Mogador

Save Saved
You added Riad Zahra Mogador to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Zahra Mogador
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Quartier des Dunes, Essaouira 44100, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Riad Zahra Essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Fantastic hotel that far exceeded our expectations.

The owners were lovely and really made us feel welcome, speaking near-perfect English. They also helped us organise a camel ride and quad biking and made it very easy for us.

Breakfast and dinner was also lovely, with speciality Moroccan dishes that were delicious.

The pool was also large and had turtles in them, which was a pleasant surprise and made swimming all the more fun!

The room itself was quite quaint and had a traditional feel to it. Everything was really clean and spacious too.

Also location is perfect as it is situated on a quiet part of the beach so there is little noise in the evenings; yet it is still only a 10-15 minute walk to the main medina and practically situated on the beach itself.

Thank you for such a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propriétaire at Riad Zahra Mogador, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear guests,
We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the service provided by our team and the quality of food.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this fantastic review.
We will be very glad to welcome you back in the future.
We wish you all the best
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    90
    18
    9
    3
See reviews for
98
148
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I could not fault anything, room was lovely, and so quiet that we overslept every day. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful. Staff and owners were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again. In a nice quiet area, only 10-15 mins walk into the medina.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propriétaire at Riad Zahra Mogador, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Riad Zahra.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the service provided by our team.
On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to welcoming you back to Riad Zahra.
Kind regards
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Learning how to kitesurf was our reason to go to Essaouira and we are so thankful for having been booked into Riad Zahra for that week. We had an awesome week in Essaouira - met great people, experienced our own borders, saw great landscape, ate incredibly well, had funny nights out, shopped veeery nice things, spent relaxing hours at a Hamam - and to top it all, we had the chance to stay in this wonderful loving atmosphere of the "Zahra Family"! I've been travelling a lot in my life and I will always remember Riad Zahra as one of my highlights, especially regarding being so welcome, the beautiful house, the spacious rooms, the combination of professionality&easy-going plus the thing I cannot really put in words: feeling home after just a couple of days! I know it's rare to find this feeling when you're travelling. Thank you so much Edith, Xavier and Jofre!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propriétaire at Riad Zahra Mogador, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your time and for your kind review.
We are very happy to read that our Riad was able to answer your expectations, and we will be very glad to welcome you back in the future.
All the best
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed in the Riad Zahra, one of a group of 11 windsurfers, during the first week in May 2013. We arrived from the airport very late at night, tired and ready for sleep. We were greeted very courteously and shown to our rooms with no delay. I shared a twin room which was plenty large enough although, to be honest, was a bit short on space for two people's clothing etc. The decoration is delightful and photos on this site give a taste of the local style. The en-suite bathroom was clean and charming with Moorish appeal.

In the light of day, the interior of the hotel is beautiful with a grand entrance hall, foyer and staircase. There are huge palms and ferns reaching right up the second floor and paintings by a local artist all over the walls. Breakfast was served in two rooms at the rear of the hotel furnished in the local style with very relaxed and comfortable seating.

Breakfast was good although the same every day. Freshly squeezed orange juice, bread, cheese triangle, butter, jam, honey, fresh fruit, yoghurt, pancakes, cake, tea and coffee. There was plenty.

The hotel has a restaurant, although it would be easy to miss it. It is tucked away up on the top floor of the hotel but it is SO worth a visit. Walking into the restaurant you are immediately hit by the stunning view from the panoramic window along the length of the room overlooking the huge bay of Essaouira. The food is very good, there being a mix of fish and meat meals and a selection of sort of Moroccan/Spanish tapas. Service was vary good although our large group caused some minor confusion with the orders. Recommended!

There is free WiFi pretty much throughout the hotel. Whether or not it works in your room seems to be pretty much the luck of the draw although the effectiveness of your phone's/computer's WiFi is probably the overriding factor. Reception is great seated in a comfy chair in the airy lobby.

The management and staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful and were completely unfazed by having a group of 11 windsurfers invading the place for a week.

The hotel is located about a 15 to 20 minute walk along the seafront from the medina although taxis (mostly ancient Mercedes with 'character') are a very cheap option for heading into town. There, you will find everything you might seek in a Moroccan town including souk, restaurants and bars.

If I visit this part of Morocco again, I would definitely seek out the Riad Zahra. I recommend it very highly.

Room Tip: Only saw one room, above reception at the front of the hotel. It overlooked the road. Perfectly co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propriétaire at Riad Zahra Mogador, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
Was a pleasure for us to have '' 11 windsurfers invading the place for a week."
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the service provided by our team and I hope to see you the next year.
All the best
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A perfect spot for a kitetrip in Essaouira, located very close to the beach.
The rooms are big, the breakfast is the best & the owner, his son and all the other staff who work there are very kind, all really nice people. They make you feel like home immediately and they help you with anything, anytime, always!
There are also a few shelves with books you may read (all kind of languages), which was a great solution when I finished my book ☺.
The kiteschool next to the riad is very good too. Great teacher and helpful staff.
If there’s no wind to do watersports, you can relax at the pool & in 5 min (cheap taxi) you’re in the Medina.
I do absolutely recommend this Riad to all kiters who are planning a trip to Essaouira! And hopefully I come back there once myself!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propriétaire at Riad Zahra Mogador, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Marjolein,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this fantastic review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and was very glad we met your expectations.
I hope to see you soon
Kind regards
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My family and I have just returned from 5 nights stay at Riad Zahra really great location if you want to take part in water sports and the taxi to the Medina in the evening is 50p so no big deal. Excellent hospitality with a lovely breakfast each morning. We all enjoyed relaxing by the pool after our surfing etc lessons and the children loved swimming with the small turtle that got in the pool occasionally. Good value for money.

Room Tip: We had a 2 rooms on the top floor one for myself and my husband and a room next door for our 12 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Owner at Riad Zahra Mogador, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for writing such a positive review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We hope to welcome you back to Riad Zahra in the near futur.
Kind regards
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just spent six nights @ Riad Zahra & cannot speak highly enough of the place, the management, & staff.

The riad is 250 meters from the beach & was the perfect location for us as we were in Essaouira to go kite boarding.

Our room overlooked the pool & gave us sweeping views of the beach. There are two restaurants within the Riad & each served great food, especially the afternoon happy hour/tapas.

Xaivier (the owner) is/was wonderfully polite & engaging and cannot be faulted for how the place runs. His son Jofrey gave us really useful local knowledge about the beach & for kiting. All of the staff we great also.

The riad isn't just for kiters, there were numerous European families & couples staying whilst we were there also.

The riad is a reasonable 15 minute walk from the medina.

If you're going to Essaouira to go kiting, this is absolutely THE place to stay. If you're going to Essaouira (but not kiting), stay here regardless.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Owner at Riad Zahra Mogador, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear guests,
Many thanks for this review and for recommending the Riad Zahra.We are glad to read that your stay was pleasant.
We hope to welcome you back to Essaouira in the near futur.
All the best
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Zahra Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zahra Mogador

Address: 90 Quartier des Dunes, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#19 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Zahra Mogador 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Essaouira Medina and just 2 minutes walk to the beach, this 23 room family Riad with pool and 2 restaurants is a haven of peace. It's an ideal starting point for numerous water activities and excursions by 4x4, horse or camel.Too windy for the beach ? Just rest and relax on the terrace with its great sea view or by the pool.Satellite TV and Free WIFI accessParking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Zahra Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zahra Mogador Essaouira
Riad Zahra Mogador Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zahra Mogador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.