We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zahra Mogador

Save Saved
You added Riad Zahra Mogador to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Zahra Mogador
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Quartier des Dunes, Essaouira 44100, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

What a particularly nice family run this really good little hotel. Not pretentious in any way, just good, clean, comfortable, and excellent value. And an enormous breakfast was included. I asked where I could hire a car and they kindly organized a car to be delivered to hotel which saved a lot of hassle and was good value. The owners were very friendly and the swimming pool is very nice. Two tortoises live in the garden!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    90
    18
    9
    3
See reviews for
95
144
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Between two kite-surf lessons we wanted to have a proper lunch. although we didn't expect there to be a real restaurant (since it's called a riad), it happened to be one of the best experiences in Essouira (not the cheapses anyway). The view from the restaurant over the ocean (one block away from the beach) is brilliant and the food was delicious and surprising (in a good way). Traditional sea food with a creative twist. By the way: their different home made olive oil variations are definately a add on! If you're on the beach or go watersporting, this restaurant is one to keep in mind.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My friends and I had a fantastic time at Riad Zahra. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The Riad was beautiful (I've since been inspired to decorate my own place in a similar style) and very reasonably priced. The rooms were lovely. Location was great too. Close to the surfing area and not too far from the Medina.
The pool area was picturesque - surrounded by brightly coloured flowers. The turtles and tortoises provided hours of amusement. I would recommend it to anyone and would happily stay there again if I returned to Essaouira.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra Mogador, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thanks Rozzie for your fantastic review and I hope to see you again in Essaouira and in Riad Zahra.
All the best
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Nice familly stay, where we enjoy the place even as we experienced quite unusable bad weather (raining...).
Perfect situation as very close by walking from the beach & kite/winsurfing clubs, enabling the kids to go and come back alone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at the Riad for a total of four days and was overwhelmed by the hospitality of the owners and staff from the word go. After our welcome to the Riad, we were offered onsite assistance during our stay, which is always reassuring for foreign travellers.
The Riad is only a mere 20 minute stroll from the medina and tucked only minutes away from the beach. Breakfast every morning was exceptional (and super generous!), the room was clean and comfortable and the constant attention from the friendly staff was such a pleasant surprise and made our stay truly memorable.
The poolside was a welcome retreat from the crazy beachside wind, while the Riad's restaurant offered a fabulous range of fresh, Spanish-inspired food. It's just a shame we weren't there long enough to see the opening of the new restaurant!
What really sealed the deal for us was the constant attention to detail from the owners. The family-run environment made it the perfect place to stay. I highly recommend this Riad for anyone considering a trip to Essaouira - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Found our stay at this Riad to be rather disappointing after staying in wonderful riads in Fez and Marrakech. Foyer area very nice, and the staff were helpful and welcoming. Rooms were dowdy and the shower areas need updating. No flyscreens on the windows, so could not open. Beds extremely hard and uncomfortable. Breakfast was poor and as previously noted lin other reviews eft uncovered. We had dinner in the restaurant upstairs. Two of the meals were extremely poor quality. Reasonable pool area, though can get crowded and insufficient seating around perimeter. Short walk to the beach, Very disappointed with the beach, as it was quite dirty and had a lot of broken glass. Nice walk or cheap taxi ride to town centre. A couple of nice restaurants/cafes on the walk into town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Riad Zahra and really enjoyed our stay.
The Riad staff are very welcoming, a special mention to Jeffrey, who always had a smile on his face and was eager to please. The food in the upstairs restaurant is amazing, the chef is a great chef with a fab sense of humour. The food in the downstairs restaurant, could've been better. Breakfast was ok but the same thing every day got a bit much, could've done with an option and maybe some fruit. The tables were set up with the food ready for people to come to breakfast and the flies got there before the clientele each time as food was left uncovered. Was a bit unclean too, we ate downstairs one evening and there were still crumbs left on the seats and floor from breakfast.
The rooms were very dark and in need of a bit of a spruce up and the beds were too hard and uncomfortable. As no air conditioning became very hot too, struggled with keeping windows open because of the Mosquitos. Had a couple of cockroaches too.
Essaouira Medina is a good place for a wander and food and we felt quite safe there and unhassled by the locals. In all it was a good trip.
The Riad itself was lovely on the inside and if these things could be rectified, I would go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room as people who were upstairs suffered with the heat even more than we did i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Zahra Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zahra Mogador

Address: 90 Quartier des Dunes, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#19 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Zahra Mogador 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Essaouira Medina and just 2 minutes walk to the beach, this 23 room family Riad with pool and 2 restaurants is a haven of peace. It's an ideal starting point for numerous water activities and excursions by 4x4, horse or camel.Too windy for the beach ? Just rest and relax on the terrace with its great sea view or by the pool.Satellite TV and Free WIFI accessParking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Zahra Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zahra Mogador Essaouira
Riad Zahra Mogador Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zahra Mogador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.