We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zahra Mogador

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Zahra Mogador to your Saves list
Riad Zahra Mogador
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amira Lalla Meryem, Essaouira 44100, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't have been better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My friends and I had a fantastic time at Riad Zahra. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The Riad was beautiful (I've since been inspired to decorate my own place in a similar style) and very reasonably priced. The rooms were lovely. Location was great too. Close to the surfing area and not too far from the Medina.
The pool area was picturesque - surrounded by brightly coloured flowers. The turtles and tortoises provided hours of amusement. I would recommend it to anyone and would happily stay there again if I returned to Essaouira.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra Mogador, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thanks Rozzie for your fantastic review and I hope to see you again in Essaouira and in Riad Zahra.
All the best
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    109
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
120
205
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Nice familly stay, where we enjoy the place even as we experienced quite unusable bad weather (raining...).
Perfect situation as very close by walking from the beach & kite/winsurfing clubs, enabling the kids to go and come back alone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at the Riad for a total of four days and was overwhelmed by the hospitality of the owners and staff from the word go. After our welcome to the Riad, we were offered onsite assistance during our stay, which is always reassuring for foreign travellers.
The Riad is only a mere 20 minute stroll from the medina and tucked only minutes away from the beach. Breakfast every morning was exceptional (and super generous!), the room was clean and comfortable and the constant attention from the friendly staff was such a pleasant surprise and made our stay truly memorable.
The poolside was a welcome retreat from the crazy beachside wind, while the Riad's restaurant offered a fabulous range of fresh, Spanish-inspired food. It's just a shame we weren't there long enough to see the opening of the new restaurant!
What really sealed the deal for us was the constant attention to detail from the owners. The family-run environment made it the perfect place to stay. I highly recommend this Riad for anyone considering a trip to Essaouira - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Found our stay at this Riad to be rather disappointing after staying in wonderful riads in Fez and Marrakech. Foyer area very nice, and the staff were helpful and welcoming. Rooms were dowdy and the shower areas need updating. No flyscreens on the windows, so could not open. Beds extremely hard and uncomfortable. Breakfast was poor and as previously noted lin other reviews eft uncovered. We had dinner in the restaurant upstairs. Two of the meals were extremely poor quality. Reasonable pool area, though can get crowded and insufficient seating around perimeter. Short walk to the beach, Very disappointed with the beach, as it was quite dirty and had a lot of broken glass. Nice walk or cheap taxi ride to town centre. A couple of nice restaurants/cafes on the walk into town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Riad Zahra and really enjoyed our stay.
The Riad staff are very welcoming, a special mention to Jeffrey, who always had a smile on his face and was eager to please. The food in the upstairs restaurant is amazing, the chef is a great chef with a fab sense of humour. The food in the downstairs restaurant, could've been better. Breakfast was ok but the same thing every day got a bit much, could've done with an option and maybe some fruit. The tables were set up with the food ready for people to come to breakfast and the flies got there before the clientele each time as food was left uncovered. Was a bit unclean too, we ate downstairs one evening and there were still crumbs left on the seats and floor from breakfast.
The rooms were very dark and in need of a bit of a spruce up and the beds were too hard and uncomfortable. As no air conditioning became very hot too, struggled with keeping windows open because of the Mosquitos. Had a couple of cockroaches too.
Essaouira Medina is a good place for a wander and food and we felt quite safe there and unhassled by the locals. In all it was a good trip.
The Riad itself was lovely on the inside and if these things could be rectified, I would go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room as people who were upstairs suffered with the heat even more than we did i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Riad Zahra is a beautiful property and very authentic. We spent 6 nights here. All of the staff were very polite and efficient. The room was very comfortable. We ate in both restaurants and the food was superb. The Riad Zahra is perfect if you are in Essaouira for kite surfing as it is across the road from the main beach (a two minute walk). The Riad provides weather information for those that need the wind for their holiday!

It is an enjoyable 20 min stroll from the main town or you can take a taxi for around 80p.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Riad Zahra is a wonderful Riad with a perfect location less than 100m to the beach and a short 15 min walk (or 5 min taxi) into the Medina. Riad Zahra is not only great for singles but couples and families. It has a wonderful welcoming feel and a very friendly atmosphere with staff being able to speak a number of languages. Rooms are large and perfectly adequete for everyone's needs. Great range of food can be bought through out the day not only in the pool side restaurant, but upstairs in their new tapas and grill restaurant. Would recommend this Riad to anyone travelling to Essaouria and can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#35 of 76 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
3.9 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#8 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#15 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
1.0 mi away
Riad Chbanate
Riad Chbanate
#3 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zahra Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zahra Mogador

Address: Amira Lalla Meryem, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#18 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Zahra Mogador 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two minutes' walk from the beach and 20 minutes from the Medina and souks, you'll find this family run Riad with its 23 bedrooms has everything you need for a delightful holiday as a family, a couple or with friends. Riad Zahra is in the residential quarter of Essaouira. All its comfortable bedrooms are decorated in traditional Moroccan style and have en suite bath rooms, satellite TV and Wifi. There are family sized rooms, others have balconies and some enjoy a sea view. And you'll enjoy meals in our two restaurants whose great range of Moroccan, Asian and Spanish dishes is enhanced by a wide choice of the Kingdom's wines. Open air swimming pool, terraces and parking. We'll happily help you organize your stay and can recommend places to visit, restaurants, surfing and kitesurf schools, rides on horse or camels, transfers from airports, vehicle hire ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Zahra Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zahra Mogador Essaouira
Riad Zahra Mogador Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zahra Mogador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.