We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little charming very friendly hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Matins Bleus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Les Matins Bleus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 rue Draa, Essaouira 44100, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely little charming very friendly hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I staid for 1 week in feb 2013 in this lovely little old family house. We understood from the young familymembers who run the place that it used to be a primaryschool and that they lived for several generations in it. It is situated in the heart of the old Medina: so an excellent location to discover the beautiful city. And surprisingly tranquil. The personel is unbeleavably friendly, modern / liberal (they say themselves: 'Muslim light') and speak many languages excellent! They make time for you, every contactmoment they have a friendly word and make a short chat. They serve a lovely breakfast, fresh orangejuice every morning and fresh bread! The rooms are just perfect, not very spacious but clean and charming, with a hot shower! They managed a taxy from the airport for us and one of the brothers even accompanied us to the house of a painter and negotiated for us. Essaouira is a pearl to discover and my girlfriend and I are very happy that we picked this place to stay. So highly recommended!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    93
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
72
156
30
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Such a lovely peaceful atmosphere in contrast to the busy town outside, run by genuinely caring and friendly staff. The rooms are fairly basic, but clean and will meet all of your needs. The home cooked food is fantastic and very reasonably priced. I really couldn't fault this place at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed here for two nights. Because of the layout you do hear people coming up and down the steps (from my room anyway) but guests were not very noisy. The price was reasonable and the lobby is very cozy. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful (they called the hotel in my next destination to arrange my booking). Breakfast, which was included, was pretty basic but they do have a very nice rooftop where you can eat. I would stay here again. It is also a very short walk to the water.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ifrane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The Riad is a calm get away with great music playing up to the terrace. The People are warm and friendly and always ready to make suggestions for what to see. The location is perfect; easy to find and near everything you could want. It is close to the supra tours bus station, near one of the big gates to the medina and plenty of food around the corner. I loved it so much that I have already returned with my family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Received a warm welcome at this very well managed hotel. In the center of Medina but calm environment, friendly staff and a good breakfast in such a wonderful town makes for a very great stay. We will never forget. Definitely come back one day and recommended.
Figen & Yves

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The location of this hotel is convenient, which saved me much trouble when I was walking back to the hotel in the Medina at the very late night. It's rather quiet in the hotel and everything is alright there. Wifi connection is reliable. A worth-to-stay place for budget travellers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here for only one night during a quick getaway from Marrakech. We chose it because it was a very good value, and looked to be in the Medina area. We easily walked from the Supra Bus Station in about 15 minutes or so. Everyone we met here were very friendly. The hotel was very pretty inside, and had a great ambiance. Our room was on the top floor. It was small, with two beds, and a private bathroom. This was the only place during our stay in Morocco that had a shower curtain! We were on the terrace level, and it was nice to sit there with a glass of wine and use the wi-fi. There are no views from the terrace, so I left my tired traveling buddy on the terrace while I ran out once again to go to the ramparts in time to see the sun set. I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Les Matins Bleus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Matins Bleus

Address: 22 rue Draa, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#13 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Matins Bleus 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Les Matins Bleus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Matins Bleus Essaouira
Les Matins Bleus Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Matins Bleus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.