We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DELIGHTFUL, FRIENDLY, GOOD LOCATION, REASONABLE PRICE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Zahia

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Zahia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Al Zahia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Rue Mohammed Diuri (Skala de la Kasbah) | Medina, Essaouira 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“DELIGHTFUL, FRIENDLY, GOOD LOCATION, REASONABLE PRICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in early March and had a very pleasant stay. The riad is located in the centre of the old town but in a quiet position with plenty of local restaurants and shops, etc., and with all the attractions of the town of Essaouira itself, within a 10 minute walk.

The bedrooms are laid out on 3 floors with the 4th floor being an open air terrace for breakfast and with sun beds. Our room was pleasant, equipped with heating if required and a good ensuite shower room. The ground floor has various sitting areas with an open fire for chilly evenings.

Essaouira is a pleasant small coastal town with a very lively fish market and lots of small fish restaurants which are well worth a visit. There is a long - over 1 mile - sandy beach and safe swimming, camel riding and quad bikes for the brave. The town is enclosed by high walls surrounding the town and laid out with cannon emplacements and main entrances.

All in all a very pleasant 3 days in a comfortable riad and with Essaouira itself well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    59
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
41
69
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was great. The Riad is very clean, heaten(!) and the staff friendly. Essaouira is a beautiful little town, and this Riad reflects it perfectly. Mainly the breakfast on the rooftop was great! Unfortunately we stayed only one night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is really good. I will be back as soon as posible!! And very good staff.
I had enyoy every second because there are a lot of things to do!! I sincerely recommend that special and magic hotel

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Well situated in Essaouira close to all the restaurants and shops the Riad has a good ambience and is quite attractive. However we did not have a great experience when we stayed there..

The first bedroom we stayed in was hot and very air less at night and we found it difficult to sleep in. I suspect in the Summer it only gets worse. We found that the bed sheets were dirty and had not been changed. The " patron" was not apologetic for the state of the sheets and after some discussion we managed to move to a larger room for a small increase in price. Unfortuately during the next day there was building works being carried on next door so the room was not quiet.

Fom our experience we would not recommend this Riad to friends

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clementon, General Manager at Riad Al Zahia, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hi,
Just let you know that I was told that the sheets were clean but you got them dirty to complain about something and get an other room, you wanted the suite... that is why i was "not apologetic" i did not find this fair so I made you pay just a bit more but aparently you did not like it and you took well your revenge on trip advisor putting 1/5 ... Not fair at all, ... its a pitty ... as we have got plenty of happy cleints if you see all other reviews...
Sorry for both sides for this unpleasant situation....
I wonder when somebody invents the "client-advisor" for hotels to see clients profile and lets not alow tripadvisor to be a tool to attack hotels.... no?
Bye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

When you enter the riad you receive a very welcoming and homely feel. There are fresh flowers everywhere and a big bottle of water and mini chocolate sweets in the room.
The ground floor is tastefully decorated. Free wireless Internet was accessible from the room .Big breakfast is serve on the roof in nice Moroccan Dishes. The owner is very kind. The Riad Very well located, in the medina not far from the harbor and the bastion.

We would recommend this riad, it’s a great place in Essaouira

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

One of the best things about staying at this Riad was that we were bumped up from our room to the best room in the house. It came as a beautiful surprise and we were so pleased - thank you so much!

Apart from that, the riad itself is beautiful and charming. The place is decorated with vintage posters, the rooms downstairs have games for families. Breakfast can either be served to your room or eaten down stairs - we always ate downstairs as it was so lovely!

We found that everyone in the riad had a respectful and knowledgeable approach. This, we found can sometimes make all the difference when you're in an unfamiliar place. The professional nature of everyone there is second to none - a very smooth operation! We were given lots of information on where to go for dinner, how to make our way back to the riad and were even given free maps of Essaouria.

The riad itself is well located and once inside its very easy to navigate even in the dark. There are sensor lights along the stairs and a light at the bottom of the stairs was always kept on.

I would highly recommend this place - and a tip to all those who do end up staying: there's a restaurant called Ramzy's near the riad that serves cold beer late into the night - definitely worth popping in!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucuresti, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We found very friendly personnel upon arrival, though quite late in the evening. They gave us good advice for nearby places, including restaurants, and we have used it.
We extended our stay from one to 2 nights, and we had to change rooms, but it wasn't much of a trouble.
The beautiful terrace on top of the riad is to be used for breakfast, when you can also enjoy a view on the ocean. The location is very convenient for all activities and easy to reach. The rooms are clean and comfortable.
Beautifully restored, as in most of the old buildings, the smell of the room is not very fresh, and there is not so much to be done with air coming from the inner courtyard mainly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Zahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Zahia

Address: 4 Rue Mohammed Diuri (Skala de la Kasbah) | Medina, Essaouira 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Zahia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Zahia is one of the best places to spend a few days in Essaouira, with friends, on family or in couple Essaouira has lots to offer, to visit and to see, and Riad AL Zahia has the best location to explore it all.We have all kind of rooms for everybody doubles, triples, twins and family rooms, all rooms are different styled, cossy and very confortable, average big and high roof with its private bathrooms.We have a lovely terrasse where you can have your breakfast admiring the beautifull Ocean and the wonderful roofs of the medina, like a tale!!Book your tickets now, Essaouira is waiting for you, be very welcome!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Al Zahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Zahia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.