We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Jardin des Douars

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Jardin des Douars to your Saves list
Le Jardin des Douars
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar Sidi Yassine - Ida Oueguerd, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
2 reviews
“Fantastic stay ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed last week and it was great. They helped us organise everything we wanted to do outside of the hotel. The food at the hotel was delicious and really varied - not just tagines - and the room was gorgeous clean and air conned! The shower gel they provided also smelt amazing.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hello Nina,

We really want to thank you here for your nice review, and for your communicative joy during your stay! It was a pleasure to share those few days at Le Jardin des Douars, and to help you organizing your activities, and give the best tips. We wish you the best!

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed at Jardin des Douars for two nights during a weeklong trip to Morocco. It was a great place to enjoy the Moroccan coast. It is about a 15-minute (or less) drive to Essaouira, which makes it an easy base from which to explore the town. But it's far enough away to be a large property with beautiful gardens and two swimming pools. If you wanted to spend all your time in Essaouira, you'd be better off staying in the town itself, but I found it more relaxing to be able to get out of the city when we weren't sightseeing.

The property itself is lovely, and our room was very spacious. There were a number of other families staying there at the same time, but it didn't feel too crowded. The restaurant area was nice, and the weather was mild when we were there so dinner was served outside.

My only complaint was that one of the pools was billed as a "quiet" pool for adults only, but there were many kids using it when we were there, so it definitely wasn't quiet. It seems that distinction is not enforced, which would have been fine had it not been billed that way. Otherwise, the service was good, and we had a great stay. Hopefully we can return again some time!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSMA80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear guests,

We were happy to share a few times with Californians! And we are glad you enjoyed the property, the restaurant, and globally your stay here... We warmly thank you for your nice review, and we wish you a good trip back home!

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed 4 nights and loved it. We flew into Marrakech and hired a car, which I would definitely recommend: it's not absolutely essential, but it makes getting around so much easier; it's also cheaper than a taxi or transfer, and a dead easy drive pretty much on one road tr whole way.
After the inevitable stress and hassle of getting out of the airport, the hotel felt like an oasis. The gardens are beautiful and an explosion of colours and smells, while the architecture and decor cleverly done to make it look and feel older and more rustic than it actually is. The rooms have charming features like huge wooden doors, high domed ceilings and massive bathrooms. Ours had its own terrace which was lovely.

Breakfast is included and is delicious. All the meals we at there were really good and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was usually taken inside but other meals outside on a lovely patio area.

There are two pools which are both very nice, and innumerable other hiding places to sit and read in the gardens. The hammam spa is very nice and relatively cheap compared to what you find in most hotels.

The hotel management were really nice and helpful, and the staff were absolutely excellent and very friendly.

The hotel is a short drive from the town with its beaches and watersports as well as shopping and eating in the old medina.

Overall, it's a lovely relaxed vibe. Sometimes possibly to extremes - one night we came home shortly after 10pm and needed a bottle of water, and couldn't find a single member of staff to help us nor any way of raising one, which was annoying and really odd. But this is a minor gripe. It didn't spoil our enjoyment of this wonderful hotel, and it doesn't stop me recommending it wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Romantic Room which had its own terrace and was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PS_and_KB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear guests,

We were glad to welcome you here for those 4 days! And we are happy if you enjoyed so much your stay. We will relay your congratulations to all our staff.

We really thank you for having such a catching joy, and for your sweet review. If you travel another time around Morocco, you know how to find us!

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

only two days at Villa Basmah, perfect retreat for our family of 10, would have loved to spend more time there .
The villa is very close to the hotel , this is convenient if you want to get there for lunch dinner, or spa. But once in the villa , you do not want to get out as it is so comfortable.
Breakfast by the villa pool in front of the beautiful garden (thank you Antoine, you are doing a great job !) was memorable.
Essaouira only 10 minutes drive.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margounette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome your family at Villa Basmah! We are glad you had such a good time here in our little gem. And we thank you for your kind review. Have a very good trip back home!

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont-Ferrand, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We were there for a wedding in May. This place is simply amazing. It's like an oasis of flowers and water nestled in the middle of the desert. The outside terrace where you can leisurely sip cocktails or have dinner is basking in a beautiful light in the late afternoon. I could have stayed there for hours. Very nice pool too. The staff is very friendly. And when you've relaxed enough, there is plenty to do in the area wether you are the sport type (kite surfing, golf ...) or just want to go see the Médina in Essaouira.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Hi Mat,

Many thanks for your feedback! It was a real pleasure to welcome your whole family for this amazing wedding. We are also glad you enjoyed some relaxing days after the party, relaxing at the pools or sipping cocktails. We wish you a very trip back home, and we hope to see you again soon!

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
153 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

A lovely resort - very beautiful gardens. And a spa pool for the adults and a family pool for playing. At no point, were we on top of other guests. A full day was enjoyed each day without noticing that the time had gone by.

The double room had an adjoining bunk bed room for children, with a shower room.

Maid service was thorough but not intrusive. The service in the restaurants and bars was understated but attentive. The menu of the day was delicious every day that we stayed. Lamb tagine was our collective favourite.

I agree with the comments made regarding the absent/flaky wifi so bring a book - remember when we used to do that! I also agree with the tea/coffee making request - not that I wanted room service - but a cup of tea in the morning, without somebody needing to get dressed to go to the breakfast bar, would have been preferable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maud180291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Maud,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay amongst us!
It was a real pleasure to welcome you here, and to make you discover the hotel and Essaouira.
We also thank you for the few suggestions you have made, which will help us to improve again!

We wish you a good trip back home!

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a stunningly beautiful resort property with great food.

The Pros:

1. Gorgeous property meticulously designed and landscaped
2. Excellent French & Moroccan cuisine and wine selection
3. Very nice Hammam and spa
4. Quiet and secluded
5. Reasonable prices

The cons:

1. Mostly French clientele and many of the staff speak French but not English
2. No wifi in the rooms and even in the common areas, it's slow
3. Far from the city with nothing in the area to walk to
4. No fitness center

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntiGravity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear guest,

We warmly thank you for you review. We were glad to welcome you here and spend a few days with you. We hope we'll have the opportunity to see you one day again in Essaouira or in our little paradise!

A few tips for our readers :
- All our staff have english lessons 4 times a week since we have more and more guests coming from UK or US ;
- Le Jardin des Douars is located in Essaouira country side, 13km from the sea and the medina, and we provide a shuttle service at any time ;
- Due to technical issues here in Morocco country side, we can't have very high speed wifi everywhere (we would love to!), but we provide 3 wifi connexion spots in commons areas ;
- We have a well being center (hammam, massages, esthetic cares), but no fitness center... maybe one day :-)!

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
2.1 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#7 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
5.6 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#14 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
5.7 mi away
Riad Chbanate
Riad Chbanate
#3 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
4.8 mi away
Riad Zahra Mogador
Riad Zahra Mogador
#13 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jardin des Douars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin des Douars

Address: Douar Sidi Yassine - Ida Oueguerd, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#3 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#8 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Jardin des Douars 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Essaouira hills, sheltered from the high winds in a magnificent natural setting formed over millennia by the Ksob Oued (river), the Jardin des Douars is a beautiful guest ksar (palace) dedicated to lovers of nature, authenticity, simplicity and kindness. A guesthouse of charm in voluptuous forms, constructed in accordance with Moroccan traditions and materials, combining a subtle refinement of decoration with the luxuriance of a garden for real relaxation and simplicity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Le Jardin des Douars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Jardin Des Douars Hotel Essaouira
Le Jardin Des Douars Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing