We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a makeover” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lalla Mira Hotel-Restaurant-Hammam

Save Saved
You added Lalla Mira Hotel-Restaurant-Hammam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lalla Mira Hotel-Restaurant-Hammam
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14 rue d_Algerie | Medina, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Needs a makeover”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

They claim to be the first "bio-hotel" - I didn't get what was so bio about it. Breakfast is ridiculously loveless (a few tiny tomatoes that tasted like german greenhouse tomatoes, a bit of bread, jam, OJ, so-so coffee...), mattresses are pretty hard and I had to kill two giant cockroaches both nights before going to bed. Asked for a bug spray, they looked half-heartedly for one and then told me they didn't have one. Location of the place is pretty good, though.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    12
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
4
15
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

On arrival I presented my reservation at the reception. The lady at the reception has been withheld my reservation. According to the reservation should I receive 10% discount, as I stay 3 nights or longer in Lalla Mira. When checking out, they couldn't remember of the promised discount.
At this Point I wanted to talk the manager but she shoult not been in Lalla Mira. This was not supposedly because, I had seen her 2 minutes before. On E-mails from me, in which I complained the overpayment was not responding.
This fraud affected my impression of Lalla Mira very negatively.
It's a shame, because this place is very clean and the staff during my stay were very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We booked this based on the review in the best known travel guide and we should have known better. Had we checked here first, we would have been wary and probably not stayed there. The staff were friendly, if a little distant. The bed in room nine was awful. The mattress was both thin and hard, with a lumpy, grubby duvet and small, inadequate pillows. The water pressure was atrocious, with just a dribble of water coming from the shower. I know that it's solar heated, I know our room was on an upper floor, but none of that excuses the fact that it was useless. Breakfast was very basic (don't expect decent coffee).

The hammam experience was very rough and ready.

Overall, the place completely lacked charm, and coming from the wonderful place we stayed in in Marrakesh, it was very disappointing to pay the same price and get a fraction of the quality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge MA
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Lalla Mira oozes with charm and the breakfast is tasty. But the price is very high compared to other places with greater services within the same couple of blocks of the medina. Owner is not keen on wifi. Only a single computer available with internet. Water pressure is quite low (better to go for a gommage at the hammam in order to get clean). Owner is very kind however and female staff are very helpful.

Room Tip: Room #4.. beautiful..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Stayed with friends in April. the riad was noisy, the beds were not comfortable the breakfast was not edible except for the boil eggs we specially requested. ok for backpackers, but not for people of mature age and used to style and comfort.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Pro - easy to find, friendly staff, nice breakfast, female operated
Con - loud street noises, loud animal noises even on top floor, uncomfortable bed, tiniest pillows in the world, hammam was just ok

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

My Fiance and I stayed here and loved every minute of it. We fell in love with Essaouira and the people here. Like others mentioned, the rooms back onto an alleyway which can be filled with children playing drums with pop bottles, laughing and being noisy. We enjoyed watching and listening to the children but can understand how some would find it a nuisance. I didn't visit the Hammam in the hotel but my Fiance did and said it was an amazing experience. The beds are hard, so if you're used to plush American beds, this may be an issue. Overall still highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lalla Mira Hotel-Restaurant-Hammam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalla Mira Hotel-Restaurant-Hammam

Address: 14 rue d_Algerie | Medina, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lalla Mira Hotel-Restaurant-Hammam 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Lalla Mira Hotel-Restaurant-Hammam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalla Mira Hotel-Restaurant-Hammam Hotel Essaouira
Lalla Mira Hotel Hammam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lalla Mira Hotel-Restaurant-Hammam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.