We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room #4 is an absolutely beautiful room, but this place is too pricy.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lalla Mira Hotel-Restaurant-Hammam

Save Saved
You added Lalla Mira Hotel-Restaurant-Hammam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lalla Mira Hotel-Restaurant-Hammam
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14 rue d_Algerie | Medina, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Cambridge MA
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Room #4 is an absolutely beautiful room, but this place is too pricy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Lalla Mira oozes with charm and the breakfast is tasty. But the price is very high compared to other places with greater services within the same couple of blocks of the medina. Owner is not keen on wifi. Only a single computer available with internet. Water pressure is quite low (better to go for a gommage at the hammam in order to get clean). Owner is very kind however and female staff are very helpful.

Room Tip: Room #4.. beautiful..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    6
    8
    3
See reviews for
3
15
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Stayed with friends in April. the riad was noisy, the beds were not comfortable the breakfast was not edible except for the boil eggs we specially requested. ok for backpackers, but not for people of mature age and used to style and comfort.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Pro - easy to find, friendly staff, nice breakfast, female operated
Con - loud street noises, loud animal noises even on top floor, uncomfortable bed, tiniest pillows in the world, hammam was just ok

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

My Fiance and I stayed here and loved every minute of it. We fell in love with Essaouira and the people here. Like others mentioned, the rooms back onto an alleyway which can be filled with children playing drums with pop bottles, laughing and being noisy. We enjoyed watching and listening to the children but can understand how some would find it a nuisance. I didn't visit the Hammam in the hotel but my Fiance did and said it was an amazing experience. The beds are hard, so if you're used to plush American beds, this may be an issue. Overall still highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

I arrived at this Riad after a bad experience in another one, I must admit that I was exhausted. The service was excellent and the breakfast simply delicious, all organic food. The room very clean and perfect service. Antiallergic matresses and perfect care for detail. Rooms can be reached through narrow stairs.

Breakfast and restaurant is excellent!

The location is central, inside the medina, but walking around in those narrow streets is a little dodgy by night, I suggest you do not walk around too late.

I was just disappointed in the end, when I discovered that a tax was being added to my bill plus room charge, very odd!! I had to leave it but not sure yet that was due to me to pay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

I was looking forward to staying here because of most of the reviews. However the bed was as hard as concrete. We requested two beds and my friend slept on a small sofa. I piled all my clothes and blankets under me to be able to get some rest.. Tthe manager moved us the next day but the bed was only slightly more comfortable. The linen was clean but the pillow was filthy. The brick walls were covered with fine mortar and if you accidently brushed against them your clothes became covered with white dust. The street was noisy but quieted before midnight. I would not stay here again. I can't imagine anyone recommending this for this price.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lalla Mira, if you are willing to spend the extra cash, the suites on the top floor are a great bet. We had the suite with its own balcony which was a suntrap and made a fantastic escape from the medina. Late afternon when the sun had left our balcony we headed to the rooftop for more sun lounging and sundowner drinks to the sound of the prayer call. Essouira itself is an amazing little town, far, far calmer and certainly superiour as a destination to Marrakech. Staff at the Riad were really friendly and made us feel welcome. Rooms spotless and Great breakfasts, all organic and healthy, lots of pastries and goats cheese with small changes every day, if you ask the night before they will bring a tray to your room.

The only down side would be if you are ealry to bed people as there was some street noise from local revellers who seemed to congregate by one of the few street lamps placed just outside the Riad. However, they had wandered off by midnight every night....leaving nothing just the peaceful night outside!

Over all this is a heavenly Riad and we would definately return when we return to Essouira..Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lalla Mira Hotel-Restaurant-Hammam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalla Mira Hotel-Restaurant-Hammam

Address: 14 rue d_Algerie | Medina, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lalla Mira Hotel-Restaurant-Hammam 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Lalla Mira Hotel-Restaurant-Hammam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalla Mira Hotel-Restaurant-Hammam Hotel Essaouira
Lalla Mira Hotel Hammam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lalla Mira Hotel-Restaurant-Hammam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.