We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice View from the Rooftop but Poor Management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Loulema

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Loulema to your Saves list
Dar Loulema
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 rue Souss, Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 161 Essaouira B&B and Inns
SF CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice View from the Rooftop but Poor Management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

When we found Dar Loulema we were excited to be close to the ocean within the outer perimeters of the medina. After climbing 4 flights of stairs to the "suite" that had been reserved in our name we found it to be a shockingly small room for the 150 euros we had committed. The room bordered the top terrace of the riad which had a decent view but the room's latched wood "windows" were not enough to hold back the cold of the persistent night wind of Essoaouira nor buffer the shrill screeching of flocks of seagulls early in the morning. We tolerated the close quarters, poorly lit bathroom with little to no water pressure, worn furniture and white bedspreads against whitewashed walls, but were most taken off guard by the obvious lack of hospitality by the management. There were no attempts to make amends for the cramped room they reserved for us at an inflated price. However, they did offer us a larger room for 70 more euros. Other than that one exchange, as a previous reviewer stated, there was simply no one to be found to welcome or guide guests or serve breakfast at the designated time. When breakfast was finally served we found it to be as mediocre as the room and the management. We found this particular establishment not to be representative of the warm hospitality generally found in Morocco. We departed early and we would not recommend staying here because of the inflated prices and the disrespectful attitude of the management.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

I stayed at Loulema for 3 nights- in a suite. This was one of the more expensive accommodations in my two weeks in Morocco- and definitely the worst. The management (Natalie) was very warm- till the time I did my booking and got there. Once I reached, there was an indifferent welcome and no attempt at all to ask about my journey, suggestions for places to visit, eat, etc. In fact, apart from the workers who served breakfast (who were friendly but busy), I barely saw anyone from the management in my whole trip. The worst was to come on my day of departure. As we needed to catch a 8am bus, we requested breakfast at 7- just basic bread and coffee- nothing elaborate. When we got to the dining area in the morning, there was not a soul around- and no sign of any food!! Finally, after searching everywhere, we made for the door- and a sleepy and vague looking caretaker asked if we'd like breakfast. By this time it was too late and we left with the worst possible impression of this place. I would not recommend it to anyone. Yes, it has great location and nice enough decor. But the people who run it almost go out of their way to make this a negative experience.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

Fabulous Riad right by Essaouira's main square - Very friendly staff, original decor...will definitely recommend to everyone who is looking for intimate and charming place with the centre of the town on your doorstep - great views of the ocean from the roof terrace too...

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in Memphis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2007

Dar Loulema was an ideal place to start our holiday in Morocco. It's located right off the main square in Essaouira, don't be put off by the short dark alley you have to walk down to reach it! It's perfectly safe.

We stayed in the Todra room on the 2nd floor. It was I think the smaller of their rooms but was very nice and it had a wonderful bathroom. Nice hot water in the shower. They put a lot of thought into the room with nice touches all over.

They have numerous sitting areas all over the riad, very cosy romantic rooms to have a cup of tea whenever you please.

Every evening they lit lanters and candles on every floor giving it a very romantic feel.

Breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace, fruit, croissant, bread, tea or coffee every morning, plus I think they vary an additional item. The first morning it was crepes, the second chocolate muffins.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, not a lot of english spoken but enough to be able to get our needs across.

There is a doorbell high on the right hand wall by the front door that you ring to get in. Make sure you leave your key at the desk before leaving.

We would highly recommend this location. It was delightful and had beautiful views from the terrace. My only complaint is that the bed was very hard. But would stay there again.

  • Liked — Romantic setting and location
  • Disliked — Hard Bed
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2007

We really enjoyed our stay at this Riad. Essaouira is a fantastic place and Loulema is located right in the heart of its medina and minute walk from the beach. It had an amazing roof terrace where you could see all around and out to sea, and get served breakfast in the mornings. The room itself was good but not outstanding. The owners and staff don't speak too much English, so be prepared for this, but genuinely very friendly service. We had a homecooked meal in the riad one night and it was a highlight of the holiday - very romantic.

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, USA
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

We stayed for one night in late February. It's a nice place with an excellent location but the help seemed a little indifferent. Compared to most place we stared in our 3 week Morocco trip this was the one place where we were not given a warm welcome and an orientation. We arrived and were escorted to our room -- no effort provided to understand our needs and desires and no offers for help beyond a recommendation for dinner (we did have almost our best meal on our trip at La Licorne and would recommend that restaurant highly --- stay away from El Patio where the fish was "off" and portions miniscule). The room was nice but the place lacked management warmth.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2007

We were charmed by the hospitality of the staff and the beauty of the hotel - everything is perfectly appointed, everyone is very friendly. After three days in bustly Marrakech, it was lovely to come here. The roof terrace looking out to the Atlantic is a special treat. The 2nd or 3d floor rooms are probably a bit more light and private, but every room is beautiful. The Taros bar next door is the place to be - and the music does stop after 10:30 pm! I would go back anytime.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Loulema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Loulema

Address: 2 rue Souss, Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Loulema 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Loulema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Loulema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.