We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in the centre of Essaouira” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Loulema

Save Saved
You added Dar Loulema to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Loulema
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 rue Souss, Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 156 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in the centre of Essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Spent two nights in May at Dar Loulema, second time we've stayed there. Loved it! Right in the medina, very convenient for restaurants etc. Wonderful welcome from the French owner and the lovely staff, who do everything possible to make your stay a success. We stayed in Mogador, which is decorated in blue and white and suited us perfectly. Delicious breakfast on the roof, which has wonderful views over the sea. Recommend it very highly.

Room Tip: Each room is different, we enjoyed the simplicity and decorative theme of Mogador.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    12
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

After the hustle & bustle of Marrakech, Dar Loulema was a wonderful tranquil place to relax at the end of our holiday. We had a quirky well appointed room & enjoyed excellent breakfasts served on the lower roof terrace. On our final evening we enjoyed a delicious evening meal served in a ground floor room by a log fire. Fantastic views of sunsets and of the waves crashing on the rocks from the upper roof terrace. Altogether, a brilliantly situated riad that we would love to revisit on a future trip to Morocco.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Spent 2 nights there in a double + side bed on the second floor. Excellent everything, with special mention for breakfast in the ground floor room by the fire (it was raining and on the cold side during our stay). Location is perfect, the riad is beautifully built and appointed, staff and management helfpful and friendly, so another good experience to finish our first Moroccan week ever.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Nathalie and her staff are lovely and welcoming to all their guests. The riad is beautifully decorated and the views from the roof are amazing. The location is great.

When I arrived I wandered through the Medina, but then I discovered if you just follow the road to the end by the fishing docks, you can easily walk to the Dar and to everything.

I put the picture of the sunset from the roof of the Dar Loulema on my Facebook page so I could look at it everyday because it's so beautiful. I would return tomorrow if I could.
Lucky you if you go for a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A warm welcome from Nathalie and her charming staff awaited us. The location is certainly brilliant for exploring, and we found Essaouira very easy to get around without getting lost, unlike Marrakech! Great place to shop till you drop too! We bought from the wood co-operative, although you can buy cheaper from some of the little independents. We liked the idea of the fair trade thing, and the prices were still really good. The riad itself is spotless, with comfy bed, lovely breakfast, and mint tea on tap if you need it. Unfortunately the weather was not on our side, with lots of rain, but we felt we'd experienced a side of this resort that others hadn't, by seeing it like this! We loved the breakfasts, with the fresh pastries and jams-yummy. The riad is a peaceful, pretty retreat from the hustle and bustle. Many thanks for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights after staying 4 nights in Marrakech. Our room was on the 3rd floor so we had plenty of stairs to climb. However it was convenient for breakfast on the roof terrace.
The bedroom was fine and had a kettle for tea/coffee, but no safe. Free WiFi was available on the 1st floor. There was no A/C in the bedroom but with the Atlantic breeze that was not a problem in September. I don't know about value because it was part of a holiday deal.
There is a good restaurant next door that we visited a couple of times.
Essaouira is a small town so one can walk everywhere from the Dar Loulema which makes for a very relaxing holiday. The fishing harbour is incredible.

Room Tip: This is a tall riad so if you have a problem with stairs ask for a room low down. Our room had a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This riad was in an amazingly central location and was both beautiful and inviting. The view of the town and the Atlantic Ocean from the terrace was unforgettable. Breakfast was just fine. We cannot recommend this riad enough!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Loulema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Loulema

Address: 2 rue Souss, Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Loulema 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Dar Loulema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Loulema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.