We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10/10!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Baoussala

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Essaouira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Baoussala
Save
You added Riad Baoussala to your Saves list
Douar El Ghazoua, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“10/10!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Baoussala is a charming place to stay, made so special by Dominique and her team which is led by Leah. The accommodation, food and surroundings are excellent and nothing is too much trouble. I arrived with a damaged walker - essential for my mobility - and this was fixed on site with miminum fuss. Thank you Dominique, Leah and staff for a magical few days. Remembering my stay always makes me smile!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    36
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
184
201
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This Riad is about 12km from Essaouira in a walled compound of several small buildings. The accommodation is in traditional style, no TVs, no phones, and only a limited number of rooms. The main building is around a courtyard where breakfast is served, or you can have it on the extensive roof. Lunch can be ordered there too, and dinner on warm evenings. Otherwise there is ample space inside. The pool area is beautiful and calm, and the gardens a delight. The hosts, Dominique and Leah, are very attentive and know the area well for those who want to explore. We didn't because my travel partner is disabled, so days relaxing and the occasional trip to a beachside restaurant was the order of the day. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, a sign of a well-managed establishment. Both Dominique and Leah speak excellent English.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Baoussala is the perfect place to unwind and have a proper relax with lovely staff, friendly guests, delicious food in beautiful, tranquil surroundings. Thank you to Dominique and Leah and everyone at Baousala that make you feel so at home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Recently returned from seven wonderful days at Riad Baussala. Dominique and Leah have created an oasis of sybaritic calm just outside the delightful historic fishing port of Essaouira. From the moment we arrived we felt we had come home. The children had the "romantic" red room because it is a triple. We had the smaller room next door.

Mostly we just wanted to relax in the many cosy corners on offer. The only creatures in a hurry where the tortoises after the children organised a race!

Of course we went into Essaouira and bought leather, wood and scarves. We also went down the coast to walk along the beach and down a charming cascade followed by a pleasant light lunch overlooking the Atlantic at Da Nar (delightful host)

We ate a wonderful array of Moroccan food in the delightful firelit dining room every night - and most days enjoyed lunch by the pool, which, relying on the sun, was a bit parky for the adults but fine for the children who revelled in it.

We had a nightcap by the fire in our room most nights after looking at the starscape from the roof.

At the end of the most relaxing break we have had for ages nobody wanted to leave. A truly enjoyable and fulfilling week.

Malcolm, Rosemary and family

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our family of four stayed three nights at the Baoussala, and it wasn't enough. The accomodations and layout provide an aura of relaxed comfort - from the day-beds for sunning by the pool, to the quiet corners (inside and out) that are perfect for an evening glass of wine or breakfast. Dominique, Leah, Rachid and the other staff always greet you with a smile, and bend over backwards to make the guests' stay as enjoyable as possible. For example, the cook was able to whip up some crepes for the kids, despite that we were in between the lunch and dinner hours. We also had trouble with a rental car and Dominique kindly inserted herself into the process, dealing directly with the car provider to resolve the issue. The pool area is lovely - a particular hit with our daughters (10 and 13). We stayed in the 'dome-ceiling' room, which offered plenty of room and character, ample bathroom space and separate sleeping quarters for kids and parents. Everything about this Riad conveys an understated style and level of comfort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We just had the most fantastic 6 days at Baoussala. Went with the kids (9 and 7). Rooms were fabulous - there was plenty of room for 4 of you with seperate area for kids to sleep. The riad was absolutely beautiful amazing layout. Beautiful courtyard and roof terrace. Amazing pool area with lots of seculed areas to avoid the wind. Staff were fantastic - we really felt at home. Couldnt fault it. We hired a car which we felt essential as we wanted to go and explore - there are tons of things to do with kids - we surfed, road camels off the beaten track, went quad biking on the dunes and explored Essaouria. Food was lovely but wasnt the cheapest around.

Room Tip: Marribou suit was incredible - outside of the courtyard area so a little quieter. We dicided it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We arrived at Riad Baoussala after a busy week in Marrakech. As we wended our way down the long unpaved road at the end of the 2hr drive from the city looking for our inn, I confess I had my doubts. Morocco had been a dream destination for my wife since childhood, and the frenetic pace of our time in and around Marrakech with excursions into the Atlas and to the edge of the Sahara had been thrilling but a bit touch-and-go. I worried that Baoussala would disappoint. As we came in through the front gate Dominique, one of the owners, greeted us with an offhand warmth that was quite disarming; and the gardens, walls and trees around us, with only the sound of the breeze, left us feeling that we could deeply unwind our cares and leave our busyness behind. Baoussala feels like home, as it is for Dominique. She designed the place and it looks like she merges traditional Morocco with other inspirations from the continent into a laid-back evocation of Africa in a world-travelers' den. The communal dining area is graced with Moroccan rugs, tadelakt floors, bookshelfs of paperbacks in 12 languages, and artwork of north and sub-Saharan Africa. We opted to take all our dinners here (not included in the room price, though breakfast is) since it was such an inviting place to which to return at the end of the day with the warm hospitality of the staff and pleasant conversation with the other guests. Our room was charming with its sitting area, hearth, reading room and bath shaped of glazed brick and clay with natural wood hatchwork ceilings. My wife, the designer and traveler with uncompromising standards, was deeply pleased with our setting, snapping pics of each detail and from every angle. We enjoyed returning to the room from dinner as the evening chill set in to find the fire lit and the room ready for reading, lounging and sleep. Baoussala is 10-15 min from the center of Essaouira, set in the hills that roll away from the Atlantic. We found access to town easy through arranged cabs or occasionally traveling in with staff on their errands. Essaouira is magical as well offering history, souks, hammam, and a less aggressive sales mentality than Marrakech. I surfed a few days we were there and the riad was nicely situated between town and some of the breaks. We left Baoussala wishing we had a few more days, but we left rested and with our heads and hearts cleared for the homeward journey from Morocco. This is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Baoussala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baoussala

Address: Douar El Ghazoua, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Baoussala is a lovely house situated in the nature, 9 kilometers south of Essaouira, and near by the wild beaches of Sidi Kaouki. This charming hotel is composed of 3 rooms and 3 suites, all differents, comfortables and stylish, they offer a quiet and peacefull atmosphere.From the gardens to the roof terraces, the pool to the Hammam, with your family of just as a couple, the Riad Baoussala is the perfect place to chill out and enjoy a stay near Essaouira.The pool is now heated at 28° all year arround thanks to an ecologique system. We offer a free access to the Hammam and we propose scrubs and massages upon request.Dominique, Leah and their team welcome you in this uncommom place where modernity and tradition are mixed for your pleasure! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Baoussala Essaouira
Riad Baoussala Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Baoussala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.