We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Baoussala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Baoussala to your Saves list
Riad Baoussala
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar El Ghazoua, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Aix en Provence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Expect: To be pampered by the wonderful staff that will bring you anything you need before you have even thought of it and is at the same time totally discrete; to have an abundance of nice spots to sit and relax (pool? garden? roof terrace? patio? or many others during the day, in front of the fire place in common room at night); to make friends with other travelers or to enjoy your privacy, whatever you prefer; happy kids if they are animal lovers (2 cats that love to sit in you lap, 2 dogs, many turtles inside the property, and donkeys as well as the occasional cow or dromedar outside); beautifully decorated rooms with your own fire place readily prepared every day; welcoming hostesses that will show you what to see and where to go and help with whatever you need (thanks Dominique and Leah!); very nice dinner in the evening if you prefer to stay at Bassouala; wild and beautiful beach 15 minutes drive away (along a very rocky road!); not wanting to leave.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    36
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
189
206
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

On our trip along the Atlantic Moroccan coast we stopped in Essaouira for two nights before heading to Marrakesh. We stayed in the Hamman room, which was rather cosy and spacious. There were candles a lovely fireplace and the ceiling had muiti coloured glass bits which gave the room ax exotic touch, pity one of the glasses was broken and it since one night it was raining a bit of water was dripping from the ceiling but it was nothing too bad. The owner and Leah made us feel very welcome and their waiter Rasheed was also extremely kind and helpful.
Lovely pool although the water was really cold. We had dinner there one night and the food was really nice. Wi fi is available almost everywhere and the atmosphere is very relaxed: guests don t even need to say when they want to have breakfast, and it can be servered anywhere you wish.
The main downside is that is not located very close to Essaouira and the last three kms are unpaved bumpy road.
Ideal if you just want to relax and do very little.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had been driving for hours in the Moroccan October sun, when at the end of a 3km dust track we turned our hire car around the last corner and we were met with a very unassuming wooden gate, with a terracotta painted wall surrounding the perimeter. Hot, tired and hungry we entered through the gate and WOW! suddenly our weary heads were lifted. We had walked into an Oasis of colour and tranquillity.
No sooner had we put our bags down we were asked to sit down at our table in the courtyard and were treated to a fantastic meal with wine and a very gratefully received beer.
The rest of our stay was fantastic, eating there every night on a different table in the courtyard was just a magical experience.
Daisy, our youngest made a friend (Sophia) and they played and explored the grounds, and even found some tortoises in the Garden.
We all also enjoyed the swimming pool and terrace, relaxing and playing with the owners dog, who was very soft and playful.
the rooms are great, and there is free WI-Fi within the grounds.
I have to mention Rasheed, he was always very helpful and whatever we asked for he provided with a smile and treated the kids like an uncle!
A fantastic place to spent time, like other reviews our only regret was only spending three night there.
Well done team Baoussla!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Absolutely loved this Riad!! Fantastic, attentive staff made us feel really at home, perfect way to relax after the craziness of Marrakech. Lovely room, relaxing atmosphere and great pool. Also highly recommend the food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spent a pleasant few days here, but I had very high expectations after reading all of the 5 star reviews, and unfortunately it didn't quite live up to them.

On the plus side, the riad is attractively decorated and the food is good. The pool area and courtyard where breakfast and dinner are served are very nice, although I didn't like the style of the bedrooms quite as much (although they are large). The owners were very friendly and helpful indeed, and made every effort to help us enjoy our stay. The vibe is distinctly bohemian, which although not really my style, was relaxing and enjoyable on holiday. The riad is located quite a way from Essaouira, down a very bumpy track.

It's hard to put my finger on why I'm only awarding 3 stars. To explain, I think that if you were in Morocco anyway and were spending a few days in Essaouira, this would be a perfectly nice place to stay. However, I don't think it's so amazing that it's worth doing what we did on the basis of all of the rave reviews, and travelling all the way from the UK specifically to come here.

Room Tip: The rooms around the courtyard can be a bit noisy - there's a cottage near the pool which looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Certainly off the beaten track but only about 20 minutes by car from the Medina and beaches of Essaouira, this Riad is a place to unwind. Dominique and Leah go out of their way to answer all your queries about the area and to ensure that all your needs are met. It feels much more like staying in a home than in a hotel. The grounds are well laid out with lots of little private areas where you can sit and read, chat, relax.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

First, i want to make clear that Baoussala is not on the sea or walking distance to the medina. However, for us, that was perfect. After doing the big tour, Marrakech, Fez, Tangier, etc., we were a little tired. The riad is out of the way, set in what was/is some type of orchard. One afternoon we hung out all day at the pool and had a wonderful lunch cooked for us, and the breakfasts were great. Leah and Dominique were great hosts and i would easliy stay here again. Very relaxing, a great way to end a trip

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Baoussala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baoussala

Address: Douar El Ghazoua, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#2 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Baoussala 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Baoussala is a lovely house situated in the nature, 9 kilometers south of Essaouira, and near by the wild beaches of Sidi Kaouki. This charming hotel is composed of 3 rooms and 3 suites, all differents, comfortables and stylish, they offer a quiet and peacefull atmosphere.From the gardens to the roof terraces, the pool to the Hammam, with your family of just as a couple, the Riad Baoussala is the perfect place to chill out and enjoy a stay near Essaouira.The pool is now heated at 28° all year arround thanks to an ecologique system. We offer a free access to the Hammam and we propose scrubs and massages upon request.Dominique, Leah and their team welcome you in this uncommom place where modernity and tradition are mixed for your pleasure! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Baoussala Essaouira
Riad Baoussala Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Baoussala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.