We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bohemian style Riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Baoussala

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Essaouira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Baoussala
Douar El Ghazoua, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Bohemian style Riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

On our trip along the Atlantic Moroccan coast we stopped in Essaouira for two nights before heading to Marrakesh. We stayed in the Hamman room, which was rather cosy and spacious. There were candles a lovely fireplace and the ceiling had muiti coloured glass bits which gave the room ax exotic touch, pity one of the glasses was broken and it since one night it was raining a bit of water was dripping from the ceiling but it was nothing too bad. The owner and Leah made us feel very welcome and their waiter Rasheed was also extremely kind and helpful.
Lovely pool although the water was really cold. We had dinner there one night and the food was really nice. Wi fi is available almost everywhere and the atmosphere is very relaxed: guests don t even need to say when they want to have breakfast, and it can be servered anywhere you wish.
The main downside is that is not located very close to Essaouira and the last three kms are unpaved bumpy road.
Ideal if you just want to relax and do very little.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    382
    33
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
156
175
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had been driving for hours in the Moroccan October sun, when at the end of a 3km dust track we turned our hire car around the last corner and we were met with a very unassuming wooden gate, with a terracotta painted wall surrounding the perimeter. Hot, tired and hungry we entered through the gate and WOW! suddenly our weary heads were lifted. We had walked into an Oasis of colour and tranquillity.
No sooner had we put our bags down we were asked to sit down at our table in the courtyard and were treated to a fantastic meal with wine and a very gratefully received beer.
The rest of our stay was fantastic, eating there every night on a different table in the courtyard was just a magical experience.
Daisy, our youngest made a friend (Sophia) and they played and explored the grounds, and even found some tortoises in the Garden.
We all also enjoyed the swimming pool and terrace, relaxing and playing with the owners dog, who was very soft and playful.
the rooms are great, and there is free WI-Fi within the grounds.
I have to mention Rasheed, he was always very helpful and whatever we asked for he provided with a smile and treated the kids like an uncle!
A fantastic place to spent time, like other reviews our only regret was only spending three night there.
Well done team Baoussla!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Absolutely loved this Riad!! Fantastic, attentive staff made us feel really at home, perfect way to relax after the craziness of Marrakech. Lovely room, relaxing atmosphere and great pool. Also highly recommend the food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spent a pleasant few days here, but I had very high expectations after reading all of the 5 star reviews, and unfortunately it didn't quite live up to them.

On the plus side, the riad is attractively decorated and the food is good. The pool area and courtyard where breakfast and dinner are served are very nice, although I didn't like the style of the bedrooms quite as much (although they are large). The owners were very friendly and helpful indeed, and made every effort to help us enjoy our stay. The vibe is distinctly bohemian, which although not really my style, was relaxing and enjoyable on holiday. The riad is located quite a way from Essaouira, down a very bumpy track.

It's hard to put my finger on why I'm only awarding 3 stars. To explain, I think that if you were in Morocco anyway and were spending a few days in Essaouira, this would be a perfectly nice place to stay. However, I don't think it's so amazing that it's worth doing what we did on the basis of all of the rave reviews, and travelling all the way from the UK specifically to come here.

Room Tip: The rooms around the courtyard can be a bit noisy - there's a cottage near the pool which looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Certainly off the beaten track but only about 20 minutes by car from the Medina and beaches of Essaouira, this Riad is a place to unwind. Dominique and Leah go out of their way to answer all your queries about the area and to ensure that all your needs are met. It feels much more like staying in a home than in a hotel. The grounds are well laid out with lots of little private areas where you can sit and read, chat, relax.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

First, i want to make clear that Baoussala is not on the sea or walking distance to the medina. However, for us, that was perfect. After doing the big tour, Marrakech, Fez, Tangier, etc., we were a little tired. The riad is out of the way, set in what was/is some type of orchard. One afternoon we hung out all day at the pool and had a wonderful lunch cooked for us, and the breakfasts were great. Leah and Dominique were great hosts and i would easliy stay here again. Very relaxing, a great way to end a trip

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our stay in Baoussala was wonderful and the most relaxing holiday we have ever taken, it was great to be staying off the beaten track, it's several miles outside Essaouira and the final leg really is down a long dusty track! We arrived very late in the evening and the view of the stars and milky way was a great way to start the holiday, I ended every evening by sitting on the roof terrace star gazing, fantastic!

All the staff are friendly and helpful and always go the extra mile, a couple of examples:

1) We are vegetarian and the chief had never had to cater for that for a two week period, they brought several books and we eat a different meal on each occasion all delicious, this beats all the holidays we've taken so far and the food was far superior than eating in Essaouira.
2) We hired a car for a couple of days but unfortunately got two punctures after a few miles, we were picked up by Léah and she arranged for us to be taken to where we wanted to go as well for the car to be fixed and dropped off. She went even further and suggested a guide for all the places we wanted to visit, we took up the offer and she even got us a full refund on the hire car!

If you want to get away from it all and experience a different culture we recommend Baoussala unconditionally, lazing by the pool is relaxing, a taxi into Essaouira is quick and cheap and a wonderful place to visit, the guided tour of a berber village and traditional production of argen oil was unforgettable, the beaches are long and quite. If you are thinking of going to Morocco or specifically Essaouira then Baoussala is the place to stay, we will return again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Baoussala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baoussala

Address: Douar El Ghazoua, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the Riad Baoussala is a lovely house situated in the nature, 9 kilometers south of Essaouira, and near by the wild beaches of Sidi Kaouki. This charming hotel is composed of 3 rooms and 3 suites, all differents, comfortables and stylish, they offer a quiet and peacefull atmosphere.From the gardens to the roof terraces, the pool to the Hammam, with your family of just as a couple, the Riad Baoussala is the perfect place to chill out and enjoy a stay near Essaouira.The pool is now heated at 28° all year arround thanks to an ecologique system. We offer a free access to the Hammam and we propose scrubs and massages upon request.Dominique, Léah and their team welcome you in this uncommom place where modernity and tradition are mixed for your pleasure! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Baoussala Essaouira
Riad Baoussala Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Baoussala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Baoussala to your Saves list