We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A coastal Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Baoussala

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Essaouira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Baoussala
Save
You added Riad Baoussala to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar El Ghazoua, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A coastal Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had been driving for hours in the Moroccan October sun, when at the end of a 3km dust track we turned our hire car around the last corner and we were met with a very unassuming wooden gate, with a terracotta painted wall surrounding the perimeter. Hot, tired and hungry we entered through the gate and WOW! suddenly our weary heads were lifted. We had walked into an Oasis of colour and tranquillity.
No sooner had we put our bags down we were asked to sit down at our table in the courtyard and were treated to a fantastic meal with wine and a very gratefully received beer.
The rest of our stay was fantastic, eating there every night on a different table in the courtyard was just a magical experience.
Daisy, our youngest made a friend (Sophia) and they played and explored the grounds, and even found some tortoises in the Garden.
We all also enjoyed the swimming pool and terrace, relaxing and playing with the owners dog, who was very soft and playful.
the rooms are great, and there is free WI-Fi within the grounds.
I have to mention Rasheed, he was always very helpful and whatever we asked for he provided with a smile and treated the kids like an uncle!
A fantastic place to spent time, like other reviews our only regret was only spending three night there.
Well done team Baoussla!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iconik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Absolutely loved this Riad!! Fantastic, attentive staff made us feel really at home, perfect way to relax after the craziness of Marrakech. Lovely room, relaxing atmosphere and great pool. Also highly recommend the food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eilidhbenjers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spent a pleasant few days here, but I had very high expectations after reading all of the 5 star reviews, and unfortunately it didn't quite live up to them.

On the plus side, the riad is attractively decorated and the food is good. The pool area and courtyard where breakfast and dinner are served are very nice, although I didn't like the style of the bedrooms quite as much (although they are large). The owners were very friendly and helpful indeed, and made every effort to help us enjoy our stay. The vibe is distinctly bohemian, which although not really my style, was relaxing and enjoyable on holiday. The riad is located quite a way from Essaouira, down a very bumpy track.

It's hard to put my finger on why I'm only awarding 3 stars. To explain, I think that if you were in Morocco anyway and were spending a few days in Essaouira, this would be a perfectly nice place to stay. However, I don't think it's so amazing that it's worth doing what we did on the basis of all of the rave reviews, and travelling all the way from the UK specifically to come here.

Room Tip: The rooms around the courtyard can be a bit noisy - there's a cottage near the pool which looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Becky1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Certainly off the beaten track but only about 20 minutes by car from the Medina and beaches of Essaouira, this Riad is a place to unwind. Dominique and Leah go out of their way to answer all your queries about the area and to ensure that all your needs are met. It feels much more like staying in a home than in a hotel. The grounds are well laid out with lots of little private areas where you can sit and read, chat, relax.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margam011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

First, i want to make clear that Baoussala is not on the sea or walking distance to the medina. However, for us, that was perfect. After doing the big tour, Marrakech, Fez, Tangier, etc., we were a little tired. The riad is out of the way, set in what was/is some type of orchard. One afternoon we hung out all day at the pool and had a wonderful lunch cooked for us, and the breakfasts were great. Leah and Dominique were great hosts and i would easliy stay here again. Very relaxing, a great way to end a trip

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our stay in Baoussala was wonderful and the most relaxing holiday we have ever taken, it was great to be staying off the beaten track, it's several miles outside Essaouira and the final leg really is down a long dusty track! We arrived very late in the evening and the view of the stars and milky way was a great way to start the holiday, I ended every evening by sitting on the roof terrace star gazing, fantastic!

All the staff are friendly and helpful and always go the extra mile, a couple of examples:

1) We are vegetarian and the chief had never had to cater for that for a two week period, they brought several books and we eat a different meal on each occasion all delicious, this beats all the holidays we've taken so far and the food was far superior than eating in Essaouira.
2) We hired a car for a couple of days but unfortunately got two punctures after a few miles, we were picked up by Léah and she arranged for us to be taken to where we wanted to go as well for the car to be fixed and dropped off. She went even further and suggested a guide for all the places we wanted to visit, we took up the offer and she even got us a full refund on the hire car!

If you want to get away from it all and experience a different culture we recommend Baoussala unconditionally, lazing by the pool is relaxing, a taxi into Essaouira is quick and cheap and a wonderful place to visit, the guided tour of a berber village and traditional production of argen oil was unforgettable, the beaches are long and quite. If you are thinking of going to Morocco or specifically Essaouira then Baoussala is the place to stay, we will return again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlewis42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed in the Marabout suite at Baoussala for 10 nights with our two daughters as part of a first trip to Morocco. Having had a very busy year we wanted to to relax in lovely surroundings and that's exactly what we managed to achieve here!
The riad is small enough to ensure that you feel comfortable with the staff and other guests but there are so many places to relax that you can always find a quiet spot aswell. The entire place has a stylish boho vibe with a warm smile to greet you wherever you go. Dominique and Leah go out of their way to help organise any trips and were great at coordinating taxis (or providing lifts) when we wanted to go out and about. They make sure each day that you're all happy and have everything you need. Their recommendation to go camel riding in countryside nearby was greatly enjoyed as was the lunch we had at the Camel House ("Maison du Chameaux?).
We loved our accommodation which was really characterful but also spacious and very comfortable. The girls relished their round, domed room (we eventually managed to persuade them to swap for one night!) and the huge spa-like bathroom was a delight to use - masses of fluffy towels and lovely toiletries all helped! For our family, having the luxury of our own self-contained cottage right by the pool was perfect.
The pool itself is as gorgeous as it looks in the pictures. Photo opportunities abound all around Baoussala. The sunloungers are the most comfortable we've ever come across. It is very easy to spend a whole day just chilling around the pool, having a freshly cooked lunch there, dozing while the children splash with any other children staying. Our girls were able to play and swim happily, roam around, feed the donkeys, harrass the tortoises and all of this with smiles and greetings from the lovely staff wherever they went.
The whole family had a hammam (beautifully stylish little building, of course) and this was an invigorating(!) and thoroughly enjoyable experience for us all. Great for family bonding!
We felt that we ate really well but also healthily during our stay as all the food is so deliciously fresh, carefully and thoughtfully prepared. Our girls are not big meat eaters but Rachid still managed to provide them with lovely suppers and was very flexible in letting them opt in and out of the fixed menu each evening.. There is a great "can do" attitude here form all concerned which takes away so much of the stress one can experience when holidaying as a family. We are all really missing our wonderful breakfasts and dinner under the stars in the courtyard. I think I should stop writing now as it's making me feel sad not to be there! Thankyou so much to you all for our lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sussexfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.0 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
5.3 mi away
Riad Chbanate
Riad Chbanate
#3 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
0.8 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#7 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
5.2 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#14 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Jardin des Douars
Le Jardin des Douars
#4 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Baoussala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baoussala

Address: Douar El Ghazoua, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#2 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Baoussala 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Baoussala is a lovely house situated in the nature, 9 kilometers south of Essaouira, and near by the wild beaches of Sidi Kaouki. This charming hotel is composed of 3 rooms and 3 suites, all differents, comfortables and stylish, they offer a quiet and peacefull atmosphere.From the gardens to the roof terraces, the pool to the Hammam, with your family of just as a couple, the Riad Baoussala is the perfect place to chill out and enjoy a stay near Essaouira.The pool is now heated at 28° all year arround thanks to an ecologique system. We offer a free access to the Hammam and we propose scrubs and massages upon request.Dominique, Leah and their team welcome you in this uncommom place where modernity and tradition are mixed for your pleasure! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Baoussala Essaouira
Riad Baoussala Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing