We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy place, bad neighborhood” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Emeraude Riad Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Emeraude Riad Hotel to your Saves list
Emeraude Riad Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 rue Chbanate | Petite Porte Bab Marrakech, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“noisy place, bad neighborhood”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

The hotel itself is clean and nicely decorated, but needs a renovation (do not trust the images from their web-site). But noise is terrible. Depending on the location of your room you have a choise between screaming children (day and night), circular saw (during the day), noisy neighbors walking upstaires and downstaires (day and night). But the personnel is worst of all. Simply ignoring your requests. Smoking downstaires (day and night), the smell comes directly to your room. We asked for a breakfast (we paid in advance) to be served at 7.00. The guy was sleeping and there were no breakfast. waked up, he brought a COLD coffee. Anyway, the place itself and a breakfast are overpriced. The view from roof terrace is horrible - comparing to other riads in more touristic part of Essaouira. You can definitely find something less expensive and more quite for the same price or less.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    41
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
14
65
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

I can't say enough nice things about this place. We arrived here after another place (Riad Nakhla) misplaced our reservation, treated us rudely, and then booked us into a place with which we were very dissatisfied. Fed up with how we'd been treated at our initial riad, we went in search of somewhere else and happened upon Hotel Emeraude.

The place is fantastic. The staff were exceedingly helpful and accommodating. The location is perfect. If you are coming or going on a Supratours bus, you are only a few minutes' walk from the drop off point. It is located close to a gate into the medina, so relative to many other hotels, it is actually quite easy to find. If you want to be surrounded by tourist shops and restaurants, this is not exactly the place for you, but we found the atmosphere much nicer than in the part of the city clogged with touts and aggressive shopkeepers. The rooms are not large but are very tastefully decorated. Someone in a review from several years back described the rooms and bathrooms as somewhat tired and in poor condition. I think there must have been a renovation since then since the bathroom was ultra-modern and absolutely spotless. Indeed, the entire place was spotless and well kept. After our initial problems with accommodation in Essaouira, this hotel felt like it was heaven sent.

As for value, our best comparison is the riad we stayed in our first night in Essaouira for Dh 250. Emeraude Hotel was a little less than twice as expensive (we paid Dh 450), but many, many times nicer.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

This little hotel definately has pros and cons. The rooms are tiny but clean, modern and nicely decorated. Not too moroccan in decor, but modern and thoughtful. There is a lovely terrace for breakfast and taking in the sun (I can imagine, it was cold and wet when we were there). However, the cons of this place really come out when it is cold and wet (like we had). The rooms are too small to be able to spend any time in - they fit a double bed, a side table and small cupboard, and then there is only room to put your bags down and just move around. The terrace is not protected from Essaouiras strong winds which it is so famous for - so only really great in summer, and there is not real salon to sit in to read a book or enjoy some tea. It is a great place if you just want somewhere to sleep at night and be out all day - it is reasonably priced, comfortable in a basic sense and clean, but that is about it. Good for the budget minded traveller who would prefer something newly refurbished in the heart of the medina.

  • Liked — Clean and modern
  • Disliked — lack of areas to relax in case of bad weather, room size
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

i wish i could review this hotel but they lost our booking and then tried to tell me that i had cancelled it when in fact i had sent them an email asking if we could change the leaving day

there are however plenty of other better places to stay in essaouira and we ended up at a great place

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

A good small hotel within the walls.
We were one night (5th March) for 42euros. We were in the last floor (I think that it was the third floor).
The room was clean and the toilet was very good
Nice terrace, friendly service

They knew somebody who works in the Cooperative and we bought them a litre Huile d'Argan (oil) for 12euros.

Daniel

  • Liked — terrace
  • Disliked — The street
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

After the disappointment of our accomodation in Marrakech this charming little hotel was just what the doctor ordered. Located against the rampart walls it´s easy to locate with a half decent town plan. The whole riad has a nautical feel befitting the town´s Atlantic coast location. The mixture of white, blue, and yellow as interior decor gives the place a very cheery look. The rooms are fairly small (cosy) but very clean. We stayed 2 nights including New Year´s Eve. We paid 45€ per night for a double with breakfast (served on the roof terrace). The only slight criticisms are that the electricity seemed to be switched off for a few hours during the day and that more noisy guests (Americans) can be heard easily. But these were minor irritations. All round, for a low budget short stay in the pretty town of Essaouira, this hotel is almost ideal.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

Slightly difficult to find, down a tiny street in the medina leading from a small gate in the city walls. Turned up and hoped they had a room, at first said no, then they had afterall. Room was ok, but nothing special, staff friendly, breakfast on roof terrace very pleasant. Convenient location and fairly quiet. Charged us slightly more on checking out than agreed when booked in, but we did not make a fuss as it was a small difference. Horrified however when unpacking our bags at the next hotel (miles away in Marrakesh) to find each of us had "lost" our most expensive best tops from our bags, despite locking the room each day, we phoned the hotel but they were not to be found. One garment we may have mislaid, but one each....? Be warned, lock your bags as well as your room. A shame as it was a pleasant enough , if basic hotel.

  • Liked — Roof Terrace
  • Disliked — Clothes going missing
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emeraude Riad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emeraude Riad Hotel

Address: 228 rue Chbanate | Petite Porte Bab Marrakech, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#28 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Emeraude Riad Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hôtel Emeraude is a traditional riad in the 18th century.Our 10 rooms are arranged around a patio. The rooms are beautifull decorated and have every comfort, excellent beds, private bathroom, dressing, hair dryer, and quiet.The breakfast included in the price, is served on the terrace, panoramic views of the medina, lounger, sofa.A computer is available at the reception, and we also have free Wi-Fi.We arrange airport transfert and have a public car park 24/24 h. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Emeraude Riad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emeraude Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emeraude Riad Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.