We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nicely decorated, clean and comfortable riad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Emeraude Riad Hotel

Save Saved
You added Emeraude Riad Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emeraude Riad Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 rue Chbanate | Petite Porte Bab Marrakech, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“nicely decorated, clean and comfortable riad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

we had a bit of trouble finding the riad when we arrived, however it is well signed so once we got our bearings we had no trouble spotting it. Breakfast included delicous pancakes and fruit which was more than we expected. The room was on the small side- however it was cosy and clean.
The Riad is located along a narrow dim alley so it may be a bit scarey at night for solo travellers- but i think you'll find this is typical of many riads in town away from the main streets.
Lovely rooftop terrace!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    40
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
61
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This place is ok, standard, adequate. The only reason I stayed here is because I was a solo traveller and wanted to taken advantage of the lower cost single rooms. But if I had my time again I would find a friend, split the cost and stay somewhere much nicer.

The rooms are ok, kind of small, look like they do in the photos. The breakfast is standard, the roof terrace is ok. I had a room on the roof terrace with a little table outside of it but I never got to use it as the other guests kept sitting out there. (not sure why given there was about 8 other tables to choose from!) Breakfast times were quite annoying as the other guest kept moving the table directly in front of my door to catch the sun which meant had to interrupt people's breakfast and make them move the table to get in and out of my room. Although this hotel can't be responsible for other people's stupidity they could have moved this table to somewhere else on the terrace that was more appropriate for everyone.

The room security could be improved, the door can only lock with a padlock or a flimsy bolt whilst inside and felt like it could have easily been broken into with any kind of force. There is no backage hold and if you want to leave bags there for the day you have to leave them in reception which is not always staffed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have just completed a 1700 mile tour round Morocco in a 4WD and this hotel was easily the best stay of our trip. The welcome is warm, the decor is tasteful and the rates are reasonable. Some people may find the rooms a little small but if you want en-suite facilities it will take up some space. This is the only hotel we stayed in that managed to hit every single criteria in the bathroom - hot water, toilet paper, soap, and towels all present and cleaned daily. The beds were comfy and the bed linen was clean, the breakfast was extensive and catered to individual needs and the roof terrace was very pleasant. If you want a great hotel inside the medina, look no further!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This Riad was at the outer edges of the Medina and was on a street that had low foot traffic and felt a bit scary at night. The price was quite low but I was expecting something nicer based on the photos posted here. In reality, it is very dim, dank and my room was incredibly small and felt dirty. The door felt like a closet door and I was concerned about the safety of my belongings. I would have paid a bit more for something a bit more comfortable. I did not look forward to coming back to the room at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

I loved this riad! Great location and easy to find! Room are good size and clean! Breakfast was fresh and great to eat up on the terrace! Staff were friendly and helpful.

I didnt expect such great quality for the price! Would 100% recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My husband and I just came back from Morocco and although he has been here before, it was my first experience in a real medina. We arrived in Essaouira close to midnight, hungry and tired. The man who greeted us, Brahim gave us some local currency (we did not have the time to exchange) so that my husband could get some food.
The hotel was nice and quaint and the staff was super nice and patient with my broken french :) Everyone was helpful for information about renting a car, local eateries, and merchandise. I suppose I enjoyed my stay here because I felt like I was staying in someone's home. It was nice and quiet during the night and the medina is enjoyable during the day. Although a couple of the rooms were small, they are clean, and well decorated with paintings and local art.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in Sept 2011 and had a pretty good experience ; rooms are nice and well decorated also a little small ; the pictures on the website might be misleading , some parts of the hotel are a bit tired - breakfast on the roof top is enjoyable ; staff is friendly and gives good advise ....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Emeraude Riad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emeraude Riad Hotel

Address: 228 rue Chbanate | Petite Porte Bab Marrakech, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#28 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Emeraude Riad Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hôtel Emeraude is a traditional riad in the 18th century.Our 10 rooms are arranged around a patio. The rooms are beautifull decorated and have every comfort, excellent beds, private bathroom, dressing, hair dryer, and quiet.The breakfast included in the price, is served on the terrace, panoramic views of the medina, lounger, sofa.A computer is available at the reception, and we also have free Wi-Fi.We arrange airport transfert and have a public car park 24/24 h. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Emeraude Riad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emeraude Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emeraude Riad Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.