We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel for a peaceful getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madada Mogador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Madada Mogador to your Saves list
Madada Mogador
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5, rue Youssef el fassi, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great small hotel for a peaceful getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On arrival we were greeted by a smile and offered an upgrade to one of the suites with a terrace. Ok, so the terrace was not so private, but nice nevertheless.

The room has lovely views across the port and sea beyond, a decent sized clean room and comfortable bed. Liked the large tiled bath in which there was plenty of room for two people! The hotel has a great location on edge of the old town, a short walk to the sea, beach and port.

Breakfast was great (seems to be in most decent Moroccan hotels) and staff friendly and attentive. Couldn't fault the hotel or Essaouira - it and makes a great romantic weekend break away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la-Table-Madada, Responsable relations clients at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We are very pleased for a five star note and to read in your review that your getaway was peacefully and appreciated.
We simply do our best to satisfy our guests and with your comment we understand this was successfully.
All Madada team hope to welcome you once again.
Kind regards from everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    71
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
31
210
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Had a rubbish time arriving in Essaouira, the water pressure was stymied across the entire town and out pre-booked apartment lacked the ability to compress water to the top floors. After a draining mid-afternoon searching out a suitable alternative we came across Madada.

Location, excellent - 2 minute walk to the beach. Service, second to none (we had noisy pipes first night due to the water pressure, fixed immediately) Room cleaned with refreshed towels every night. Beautiful bath, comfortable surroundings and a terrace to boot (a private one too if you pay the extra) Couldn't have been more pleased. No hard sell, fantastic non-pressured and fully comprehensive service. Will even deliver your breakfast to your room.

If you're looking for a little luxury, this is certainly the place to be in Essaouira.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la-Table-Madada, Responsable relations clients at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post an excellent review on our small jewel..

It was a pleasure to make your holidays lovely and we appreciated the details you noticed.

We share your review with the whole staff and wish you a safe return back home.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

We stayed in one of the suites with a so called private balcony which was actually just an old curtain across the shared balcony about the same height as my chest so not private at all - it was not my idea of a suite either just a small, rather dark room -it didn't even have a proper shower you had to hold the shower head in one hand and try to wash with the other one. They advertise free WiFi but it never worked anywhere except downstairs by the kitchen , certainly not on the balcony or in the rooms. The best things about this place are the breakfast which was good with the exception of the very average coffee - and the location has a good view of the sea. I have been to Morocco several times and unfortunately this is the most disappointing accomodation I have stayed in, my advice is keep your expectations low - I will not be returning to this hotel

Room Tip: Dont expect the suites to be anything other than a simple room with none of the extras one usually e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable relations clients at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
We are also disappointed about your review.
Even though we did so much for you to enjoy your stay here and we'd like to clarify the situation for our readers and our loyal customers.

We received your reservation 3 rooms with four months in advance. We held one of our best rooms on the terrace, Cherifa junior suite with wide windows and great ocean view (not a bit dark as you said in your review and there's a difference between a balcony and a terrace).

We have bath tubs and showers, and so it was your choice when you booked this room with bath tub.

When you check in, we were surprised to welcome only 2 rooms instead of 3 confirmed rooms.
Even though you had to pay according to our cancellation policy, the price of 850 Euro for this 3rd unoccupied room, we made an exception not to spoil your holidays in Essaouira.

Nevertheless, the WiFi works very well in the common areas (as stated online) and we propose different types of coffee to be served with breakfast (regular coffee or Nespresso).

We find your review aggressive and rude, and we're confident in our good services and the politeness of our staff.
Perhaps we should have charge your credit card and strictly apply our cancellation policy.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We just spent a beautiful week at Madada Mogador. The hotel was really nice, great terrasse where a delicious breakfast is served, one of the best view on the city with the beach on one side and the port on the other side.
The rooms are elegantly decorated, spacious and yet very contemporaine. The staff really make you feel at home : very attentive, making restaurant taxis bookings, … and always making us discovering new places. We did a cooking class which I highly recommended : the food was delicious, the chef impeccable and the all experience a pure moment of joy.
Just wish I can go back soon :-)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable relations clients at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
We really appreciate you review on our small boutique hotel and share this one with happiness with the whole staff.
It was a pleasure to make your family feeling good during your holidays and we hope to welcome you in our small bijou next year.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed in Madada for 5 nights and if you're not a cat lover don't go to Morocco, there are cats everywhere!!
This boutique hotel was great and we ate breakfast on our own private balcony every morning as the sun came up. Fantastic views of the beach and sea, the staff were very very helpful, couldn't do enough, great location for local restaurants and the market.
We sunbathed on the balcony one day which was great.
Our pet seagull ensured that we didn't lay in too late either.
Highly recommended place to stay. :)

Room Tip: ask for a room on the top floor with french doors onto the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable relations clients at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the view, the service and our breakfast.
We look forward to welcome you in the future!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a great spot in Essaouira. Perched on top of the walled city, it's an oasis of calm among the hustle & bustle of daily life in the streets below.

We were greeted by the concierge, who resembled a mischievous genie that had just appeared from a magic lamp. After the obligatory paperwork & mint tea, she whisked us up to our room; we had booked one with a sea view & terrace. Immediately, we were struck by the openness of it, & the fantastic view from 2 sides over the sea. Asked if we would like an upgrade, my first question was 'how much', the reply: 'for free'. Wow, that's not something you hear very often. We were led through a door marked 'private' (always a good sign) to our own private terrace & gorgeous spacious room. We had the Suite Cherifa (junior suite), refreshingly simply appointed, & a really lovely comfy, but firm bed.

Breakfast is quite an impressive spread of classic Moroccan fayre: fig or orange conserve, yogurt, honey, freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh crusty bread & Moroccan pancakes; all brought to you by one of the house staff. Whenever we had questions about local recommendations for dining, we were impressed with the level of seemingly impartial knowledge.

The two house cats, Sultan & Sultana; who mooch about the place, aren't bothersome at all.

It's a great place for a weekend break & a perfect hideaway from the dusty hubbub below.

There is no parking at he hotel, so you will have to barter with one of the guys outside the city wall for a spot nearby. There are spots that require you to leave your keys, but if you haggle hard enough, they will take you to a more secluded spot a couple of minutes walk away where you are not required to leave keys. We paid 80Dr for 2 days parking, but of course the guy did not have change for the 100 note. There are some free parking spots outside the city wall, but it's up to you if you want to sit & wait until somebody moves so you can take their place. Make sure to break down your dirhams into smaller denominations to haggle in the markets.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post on our property.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast on your private terrace and that you loved our two cats Sultan & Sultana
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My best friend and I recently traveled to many cities in Morocco and this one tops the list! A hippy, artsy, beach town, Essaouira is not to be missed. We also also picked the best location to stay. Modada Mogador is charming and lovely, with friendly staff, a beautiful ocean view terrace, and a very chic and cool restaurant right next store. Our guest room was lovely, with all the amenities of home, and upon opening our door in the morning, the sights and smells of the ocean greeted us. When staying in Essaouira, I'd highly recommend this Riad (I'm sure in the future I'll be back staying there again)!

Room Tip: Our room was perfect on the upper floor, overlooking the shared terrace area. The rooms on the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Erin,
Thank you for taking the time to post on our property.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all of your kind words! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madada Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madada Mogador

Address: 5, rue Youssef el fassi, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#14 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madada Mogador 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Against the blue of the ocean, Madada Mogador is an intimate address hidden behind the ancient ramparts. The magic of our contemporary house comes from the subtle blending of oriental refinement and well appointed open spaces. The result is an ambiance of pure Zen and serenity that invites guests to truly relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Escapio, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Madada Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madada Mogador Essaouira
Madada Mogador Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madada Mogador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.