We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madada Mogador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Madada Mogador to your Saves list
Madada Mogador
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5, rue Youssef el fassi, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a great spot in Essaouira. Perched on top of the walled city, it's an oasis of calm among the hustle & bustle of daily life in the streets below.

We were greeted by the concierge, who resembled a mischievous genie that had just appeared from a magic lamp. After the obligatory paperwork & mint tea, she whisked us up to our room; we had booked one with a sea view & terrace. Immediately, we were struck by the openness of it, & the fantastic view from 2 sides over the sea. Asked if we would like an upgrade, my first question was 'how much', the reply: 'for free'. Wow, that's not something you hear very often. We were led through a door marked 'private' (always a good sign) to our own private terrace & gorgeous spacious room. We had the Suite Cherifa (junior suite), refreshingly simply appointed, & a really lovely comfy, but firm bed.

Breakfast is quite an impressive spread of classic Moroccan fayre: fig or orange conserve, yogurt, honey, freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh crusty bread & Moroccan pancakes; all brought to you by one of the house staff. Whenever we had questions about local recommendations for dining, we were impressed with the level of seemingly impartial knowledge.

The two house cats, Sultan & Sultana; who mooch about the place, aren't bothersome at all.

It's a great place for a weekend break & a perfect hideaway from the dusty hubbub below.

There is no parking at he hotel, so you will have to barter with one of the guys outside the city wall for a spot nearby. There are spots that require you to leave your keys, but if you haggle hard enough, they will take you to a more secluded spot a couple of minutes walk away where you are not required to leave keys. We paid 80Dr for 2 days parking, but of course the guy did not have change for the 100 note. There are some free parking spots outside the city wall, but it's up to you if you want to sit & wait until somebody moves so you can take their place. Make sure to break down your dirhams into smaller denominations to haggle in the markets.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post on our property.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast on your private terrace and that you loved our two cats Sultan & Sultana
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    76
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
223
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My best friend and I recently traveled to many cities in Morocco and this one tops the list! A hippy, artsy, beach town, Essaouira is not to be missed. We also also picked the best location to stay. Modada Mogador is charming and lovely, with friendly staff, a beautiful ocean view terrace, and a very chic and cool restaurant right next store. Our guest room was lovely, with all the amenities of home, and upon opening our door in the morning, the sights and smells of the ocean greeted us. When staying in Essaouira, I'd highly recommend this Riad (I'm sure in the future I'll be back staying there again)!

Room Tip: Our room was perfect on the upper floor, overlooking the shared terrace area. The rooms on the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Erin,
Thank you for taking the time to post on our property.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all of your kind words! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ont.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My best friend and I travelled through Morocco for two weeks and Essaouira was our favourite place and that was in part due to our fabulous stay at this hotel, which is centrally located in the town. Our room was clean, comfortable, and well maintained (I particularly liked the towels). We had the benefit of being "upstairs" so our room opened up onto roof terrace, which affords fantastic views of the beach and is a great place for breakfast or a cold drink after a day of exploring. We had dinner one night at the restaurant and it was simply wonderful. The hotel was kind enough to arrange for our onward transportation as well and it worked out seamlessly!

I would highly recommend Essaouira and this hotel to anyone going for a visit.

Room Tip: We liked our room that opened up on to the main terrace because it was always sunny: other rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all of your kind words!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards from Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

An amazing welcome from a very professional staff. I arrived early in the morning and enjoyed a delicious complementary breakfast on the roof terrace. Stunning views from the terrace across the beach and harbor. Great location.
My room was spacious with a big comfortable bed, comfortable seating area with a supply of interesting books, a fabulous bathroom and a big private terrace.
After the bustle of Marrakech, Essaouira proved a calm place to unwind and this beautiful historic town had some great places to eat.
Beautiful cats!
Must go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for sharing your experience at Madada Mogador.
We are extremely happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and you would choose our Hotel for a return stay.
We look forward to being of service when you are back in Essaouira.

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

What a joy to be in Essouira after the madness (joyful though) of Marrakech. The medina and souks are less hassle and much more full of local people and fewer tourists. Madada Mogador is in THE PERFECT location. Fantastic terrace overlooking the sea and beach. Great restaurant next door (A Table). Superb friendly service. We'd love to come back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Staff is outstanding, very professional, friendly and helpful. The cats are friendly too. Location is central to everything Essaouira has to offer within easy walking distance and great access to beach, medina, and harbor. The roof terrace makes it the best for viewing the expansive beach and picturesque harbor. Our room was oversized, bed comfortable and furnishings delightful. Only regret is that we couldn't enjoy it longer.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property and for your kind words. We think our staff is pretty awesome as well and we appreciate your saying so! We hope you come back and visit us again soon!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed at the Madada Mogador for three nights with our two boys (14) and (11). The hotel was very pleasant and elegant. Our rooms were comfortable, very spacious with lovely double beds. The cats made our stay very enjoyable and were always keeping us company in the lobby. Also, the staff were friendly and there was a very nice receptionist who gave us tips and locations to visit.

The only negative were that we could hear a lot of noises from the streets, but the location was amazing and it was really quick to reach the souks and restaurants in the centre of the town.

(Written by my son, Marco age 11) Approved by Me

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Kelly,

Thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all of your kind words! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madada Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madada Mogador

Address: 5, rue Youssef el fassi, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#7 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#14 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madada Mogador 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Against the blue of the ocean, Madada Mogador is an intimate address hidden behind the ancient ramparts. The magic of our contemporary house comes from the subtle blending of oriental refinement and well appointed open spaces. The result is an ambiance of pure Zen and serenity that invites guests to truly relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Splendia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Madada Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madada Mogador Essaouira
Madada Mogador Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madada Mogador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.