We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madada Mogador

Save Saved
You added Madada Mogador to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Madada Mogador
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5, rue Youssef el fassi, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #16 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

A delightful small hotel just within the medina walls, making it a great location close to the souks, harbour and ramparts. We had a lovely large room (Madada room) with its own private terrace with a sea view, and a super bathroom with huge tub which my husband really enjoyed. A good breakfast was served on the rooftop terrace. Do make sure to have a meal at the restaurant downstairs Le Table, and also at one in the main street called Eliza I think. We had excellent meals at both of them. Wafaa and Pauline were very welcoming and helpful with suggestions on what to see and do. Highly recommended as a place to relax at the end of a holiay in Morocco.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Front Office Manager at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and

look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    70
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
30
201
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kyiv,, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Nice small hotel with perfect location just behind medina walls with fantastic terrace overlooking the ocean. Everything is up to the level from the very first step to the riad. First we were welcomed by Pouline and Wafaa and offered tea/coffee. After we left out things and got ready for the walk in Medina, Pouline made an informative presentation on the main sights/restaurants/things to do in Essaouira. Staff in general was very friendly and helpful all our stay long. Breakfasts were fresh ans tasty and we enjoyed them spending morning hours on the terrace. We decided to have a horse riding and it was ordered for us by Pouline at short notice. All we had to do is just be ready the next morning in time. We liked also interior of the hotel - even small details are considered: pictures on the walls, delicate arome in the rooms. Although we took a standard room (Sabra) it was spacious and comfortable. Windows of the room faced the passway in the Medina, but we didn't hear any noise from outside. Worth to say that there are plenty of thing to do in the hotel (if you're tired of walking outside and want to relax). In the hall you can find nice variety of books: novels, art books, guides and magazines. We also saw a chest full of board games for a company of friends. For us it was nice to meet Sultan, a huge cat - essential member of the hotel's family :)
I would recommend to take a cooking course in l'Atelier Madada and visit the restaurant Le Table - these will make the stay even better.
So I think that Madada Mogador is the perfect place to stay in Essaouira for those who are looking for romance, want to relax and spend enjoyable days!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Vira,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property and for your kind words. We think our staff is pretty awesome as well and we appreciate your saying so!

We hope you come back and visit us again soon!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great location on the edge of the medina, with small balconies facing the sea. Very nice breakfast on the rooftop, with a sea view. Very friendly service. Helped to make Essaouira the highlight of our nine days in Morocco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and

look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

With every magic carpet ride there is often at the end of your journey a wonderful discovery and experience.... Ours began with being greeted by Wafaa who immediately made us so welcome and her enthusiasm was contagious as we were shown our room with its private terrace and bathroom that was quite amazing with its copper basins and a view. Roses were everywhere including in the room which added such a very special personal touch. Explore the souks and the restaurants walk around the ramparts where you will discover the past... Old signs showing what the buildings had once been. My only regret was not buying a tangine dish so we will just have to return.
Breakfast on the terrace was excellent and a touch romantic if it's romance you are looking for you will definitely find it at Madada Mogador.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Margarette,

Thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all of your kind words!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent 3 truly special days at the Madada Mogadur. We had a spacious room with private terrace and loved all aspects of the experience, particularly the lovely folks who hosted us. We loved taking the cooking workshop next door and dining at the restaurant Le Table. We so enjoyed this place we hope to come back and spend another 3 to 4 days next year!!

Room Tip: Ask for larger room with private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Lovely place to stay. We had suite on room with private terrace. Felt very private and exclusive. Rooms could have been updated slightly - our iPod dock didn't work and fixtures a little tired however the location, view and service made up for it.
Breakfast or drinks on the terrace were of good quality. Discretely delivered and cleared away. Hotel staff extremely knowledgable about local Attractions. Do take their restaurant recommendations.
Not your usual hotel layout but a nice change the the norm. Two placid cats will keep you company if you want it ( though easily shooed away if you want to be alone)
A physical door between bathroom and bedroom (rather than sliding screen) and a little cosmetic work and it would be the prefect seaside hideaway in the sun.


  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

This beautiful hotel lies snuggled against the ramparts next to the Orson Wells Park and in easy walking distance to the port, souks and beaches. If approached by car, there is a parking lot next to the park, a stone’s throw from the hotel.

From the outside, Madada Mogador is just another Moroccan hotel. But once you reach the first floor, a whole new world opens up. To quote the hotel: “The magic of the place is created by a subtle alliance between orientalism and zen. A different art de vivre where silence and intimacy invites you to relax.” - So true!

The main area (reception/lounge/small library) is done in a very hip and contemporary loft-like style with beautiful Moroccan paintings, indirect lighting and WiFi throughout.

The highlight of the hotel however, is its gorgeous terrace. Furnished with Dedon-like lounge chairs, tables and sofas, it was definitely our favorite spot. We particularly enjoyed having a very delicious breakfast up there with a view to die for!

Our room “Pacha” had direct access to the terrace facing the ocean. The room size is not particularly big, but spacious enough for storing two large suitcases and with the built-in wardrobe, you can stow away all your stuff. The bathroom features a large bath and a lovely hand-basin in aged brass.

There is no WiFi on the terrace and therefore in the rooms up there, but I guess that shouldn’t be an issue while on

We also enjoyed having dinner at the After 5 restaurant with its international cuisine and peaceful atmosphere. The food was extraordinarily delicious and worth every dirham. And if you get bored with your company, there’s excellent WiFi reception :-)

All the the employees at Madada Mogador are very friendly and attentive. They help you in every way possible and really make you feel at home. It’s really recommended to use their help for making reservations at the more popular restaurants in town.

Last but not least, we fell in love with their two most gorgeous cats, Sultana and Sultan. If only we had had the space to smuggle them out … we so wanted to!

So anyone thinking about staying in Essaouira should consider this amazing place, its simply perfect.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property and for your kind words! We hope you come back and visit us again soon!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madada Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madada Mogador

Address: 5, rue Youssef el fassi, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#14 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madada Mogador 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Against the blue of the ocean, Madada Mogador is an intimate address hidden behind the ancient ramparts. The magic of our contemporary house comes from the subtle blending of oriental refinement and well appointed open spaces. The result is an ambiance of pure Zen and serenity that invites guests to truly relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Escapio so you can book your Madada Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madada Mogador Essaouira
Madada Mogador Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madada Mogador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.