We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madada Mogador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Madada Mogador to your Saves list
Madada Mogador
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5, rue Youssef el fassi, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great location on the edge of the medina, with small balconies facing the sea. Very nice breakfast on the rooftop, with a sea view. Very friendly service. Helped to make Essaouira the highlight of our nine days in Morocco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and

look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    77
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
36
227
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havelock North, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

With every magic carpet ride there is often at the end of your journey a wonderful discovery and experience.... Ours began with being greeted by Wafaa who immediately made us so welcome and her enthusiasm was contagious as we were shown our room with its private terrace and bathroom that was quite amazing with its copper basins and a view. Roses were everywhere including in the room which added such a very special personal touch. Explore the souks and the restaurants walk around the ramparts where you will discover the past... Old signs showing what the buildings had once been. My only regret was not buying a tangine dish so we will just have to return.
Breakfast on the terrace was excellent and a touch romantic if it's romance you are looking for you will definitely find it at Madada Mogador.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Margarette,

Thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all of your kind words!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent 3 truly special days at the Madada Mogadur. We had a spacious room with private terrace and loved all aspects of the experience, particularly the lovely folks who hosted us. We loved taking the cooking workshop next door and dining at the restaurant Le Table. We so enjoyed this place we hope to come back and spend another 3 to 4 days next year!!

Room Tip: Ask for larger room with private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Lovely place to stay. We had suite on room with private terrace. Felt very private and exclusive. Rooms could have been updated slightly - our iPod dock didn't work and fixtures a little tired however the location, view and service made up for it.
Breakfast or drinks on the terrace were of good quality. Discretely delivered and cleared away. Hotel staff extremely knowledgable about local Attractions. Do take their restaurant recommendations.
Not your usual hotel layout but a nice change the the norm. Two placid cats will keep you company if you want it ( though easily shooed away if you want to be alone)
A physical door between bathroom and bedroom (rather than sliding screen) and a little cosmetic work and it would be the prefect seaside hideaway in the sun.


  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

This beautiful hotel lies snuggled against the ramparts next to the Orson Wells Park and in easy walking distance to the port, souks and beaches. If approached by car, there is a parking lot next to the park, a stone’s throw from the hotel.

From the outside, Madada Mogador is just another Moroccan hotel. But once you reach the first floor, a whole new world opens up. To quote the hotel: “The magic of the place is created by a subtle alliance between orientalism and zen. A different art de vivre where silence and intimacy invites you to relax.” - So true!

The main area (reception/lounge/small library) is done in a very hip and contemporary loft-like style with beautiful Moroccan paintings, indirect lighting and WiFi throughout.

The highlight of the hotel however, is its gorgeous terrace. Furnished with Dedon-like lounge chairs, tables and sofas, it was definitely our favorite spot. We particularly enjoyed having a very delicious breakfast up there with a view to die for!

Our room “Pacha” had direct access to the terrace facing the ocean. The room size is not particularly big, but spacious enough for storing two large suitcases and with the built-in wardrobe, you can stow away all your stuff. The bathroom features a large bath and a lovely hand-basin in aged brass.

There is no WiFi on the terrace and therefore in the rooms up there, but I guess that shouldn’t be an issue while on

We also enjoyed having dinner at the After 5 restaurant with its international cuisine and peaceful atmosphere. The food was extraordinarily delicious and worth every dirham. And if you get bored with your company, there’s excellent WiFi reception :-)

All the the employees at Madada Mogador are very friendly and attentive. They help you in every way possible and really make you feel at home. It’s really recommended to use their help for making reservations at the more popular restaurants in town.

Last but not least, we fell in love with their two most gorgeous cats, Sultana and Sultan. If only we had had the space to smuggle them out … we so wanted to!

So anyone thinking about staying in Essaouira should consider this amazing place, its simply perfect.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property and for your kind words! We hope you come back and visit us again soon!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epse, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

A very nice B&B , a few steps from the beach and the little port of Essaouira. The room was absolutely stunning with a very nice litle private balcony. On the roof there is a big terrace with wonderful seaviews , comfortable lounge chairs. You can take your breakfast there or in the room.
I was there with my son, sonit was not a problem buy...the door of the room was a few meters from the reception and the kitchen. So if you are in love and you expect to make some noise during the night, it could be a problem.....
We discovered a Cockroach in the room and he was....huge.... But never mind, it is Morocco....

Don't go to eat in the port. I csn not remrmber the nsme but it was dirty snd you have to wait a very longvtime...go to Le chalet de la Plage. Very tasty. If you take a mixed fish grill, it is enough for 2 persond....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
It was a pleasure to having you at Madada Mogador. Thank you very much indeed for your Comment

We are looking forward to welcoming you next time.

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Live2travel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We spent 3 glorious nights at Madada Mogador. The location of this Riad is outstanding. Within the medina but just steps from the beach. We had a room with a private terrace which boasted a beautiful view of the harbor and beach. The room also had an amazing bathroom with a giant soaking tub and a door overlooking the ocean. You have the option of eating breakfast on your terrace or on the rooftop terrace....we did both and both were fantastic. We also just simply enjoyed an afternoon glass of wine on the terrace. The staff could not be more friendly or willing to help make your stay any better. They make you feel as if Madada Mogador is your home away from home. While there, we also decided to take the 1/2 day cooking class. It was such fun and I would highly recommend it. Afterwards you can eat the fruits of your labor (we did pretty well as students as it was delicious). I also would recommend the restaurant next door, The After Five Lounge. We had a really great steak there which was quite welcome after eating all of the tagines.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property and for your kind words. We think our staff is pretty awesome as well and we appreciate your saying so! We hope you come back and visit us again soon!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Madada Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madada Mogador

Address: 5, rue Youssef el fassi, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#7 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#14 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madada Mogador 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Against the blue of the ocean, Madada Mogador is an intimate address hidden behind the ancient ramparts. The magic of our contemporary house comes from the subtle blending of oriental refinement and well appointed open spaces. The result is an ambiance of pure Zen and serenity that invites guests to truly relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Madada Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madada Mogador Essaouira
Madada Mogador Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madada Mogador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.