We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm, delightful little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Liouba

Save Saved
You added Dar Liouba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dar Liouba
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   26/28 Impasse Moulay Ismail, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 156 Essaouira B&B and Inns
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Calm, delightful little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

If you're looking for a calm, friendly, stylish stay in the middle of the atmospheric Medina, Dar Liouba is perfect. Patricia and her team are the most charming hosts: as soon as we arrived we were offered drinks, a map was produced and excellent recommendations given for places to eat, drink and visit, all of which turned out to be excellent choices.

Our room (Lavande) was small but perfectly formed, with lovely herringbone tiled floors, a bath alcove (looking out onto the rooftops) and a very comfortable bed. We were on the third floor (great exercise!), so just one floor below the roof terrace, where we enjoyed breakfast on the sunnier mornings.

Every morning (we stayed for 8 days) breakfast was slightly different: fresh strawberries one morning followed by pancakes and tiny bananas, a delicious fragrant rice pudding, moist fruit cake as well as freshly squeezed orange juice, breads, tea and coffee etc.

We had dinner there one night which we'd also highly recommend. My kofte and my husband's seafood tagine were as delicious as anything we tasted in restaurants, and when the bill arrived, it (together with some wine and beer) was incredibly reasonable.

Patricia's calm, warm, inviting hospitality together with the ambience she's created throughout this lovely riad make this a great choice for a chilled-out and cosy stay.

Room Tip: Lavande has a small inner lobby, a separate loo and is double-aspect, making it light and airy and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    100
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
66
188
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Welcoming, peaceful, relaxing, clean, light, warm and friendly. The rooms with ensuite were spacious, well laid out and astonishingly good value. Chilling out on the roof terrace as the sun set was a highlight of our holiday. We would love to come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Truly our best stay in Marocco!!! Great room, location,breakfast,bed, cleanliness and lovely staff. The recommendations to best restaurants, spots etc we got from Fati were the best. During the rest of our tour thru Marocco we didn't find any restaurant that matched her recommendation :) The night porter was very friendly just like all of the staff.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be excellent. Much space, very clean and the shower works great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Dar Liouba greeted us with open arms..tired and grubby after trekking in the Atlas...Fati and Yosef were very easy and kind and our room,with window,was our first chance to kick back. Dinner and breakfast was lovely,the roof garden offering a superb view over the city. True to previous reviews,the beds,linen and entire interior was really wonderful. Easy to find and very central,we would warmly recommend Dar Liouba to anyone visiting. Another must,although slightly expensive is eating fresh seafood in the harbour. Many thanks to all.

Room Tip: Room with window..all quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay and the host med us very welcome. The room was excellent and we would like to come back again.
The host made us very welcome and we got a very good contact and got many good advises.
It was lovely to have to breakfast at the top floor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Slightly lively neighbourhood, but it was a public holiday. Very glad to have been given an upgrade as we realised their cheapest room have no external window. Well furnished tidy rooms. Excellent breakfasts but disappointed with evening meal. Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The place was really beautiful, clean and the breakfast was delicious :D
Staff were really helpful, as we had to go to the hospital in the midle of the night and he walked us there (alone we would probably get lost).
There is nothing bad to talk about it.

Room Tip: The bed are super comfortable, the bathroom has hair dryer and in the breakfast is not only deliciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Liouba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Liouba

Address: 26/28 Impasse Moulay Ismail, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Liouba 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Liouba is much more than a charming guesthouse, it is a place where you will feel at home. A house where conviviality, enchantment and an atmosphere of relaxation reign.The general atmosphere is laid back and cheerful, with a bright architecture.A pergola rises three floors from the interior courtyard of this former Imam’s house, culminating in an octagonal skylight. This intriguing structure provides each bedroom with a charming cedarwood balcony, hand carved by local craftsmen, overflowing with flowers, from which you look down into a small internal garden that is a specific feature of these town houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Prestigia, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Dar Liouba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Liouba Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Liouba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.