We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun waves” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Essaouira Beach

Essaouira Beach
Essaouira, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 49 things to do in Essaouira
Attraction details
Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun waves”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

As we came in the fall, there was little wind and we could stay on the beach. We had fun in the waves. Didn't really do any swimming. The sunbeds and mattresses have seen better days, but then they didn't cost much either.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    232
    109
    24
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thionville, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“DIRTY!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Beautiful, but VERY dirty!!! Could not belive that there was not a single rubbish bin and we could see everyting from plastic bottles to dirty dipers lying around!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“OK for abit of sun and a dip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Spent 5 days in Essaouira. The beach is abit like Weston-Super-Mare with hot sun and clean sea. Not much else to do, only 1 shop near the beach with limited items to buy, but they do have drinks and suntan lotion. The beach draws in the young Moroccan guys that like to show off with there football skills or just boys being boys. We did watch a small band of them going around talking to the ladies which was putting people off so left the beach. There are some sellers that approach you on the beach that can get abit annoying.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Windy at times, but a nice beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The beach stetches about 3 kms along the main avenue in Essaouira. Actually, it is the first thing you see to your left when you get to that small city : the colourful kites , the surf schools and the numerous restaurants alongside the beach ,where where you can have simple sandwiches or delicicious seafood pizza.as well as local tagines for very reasonable prices.The beach is generally crowded during the summer, as Essaouira is the nearest seaside town to Marrakech,(where temperatures are as high as 50°Celcius in July and August !) It is also very crowded during the annual Gnaoua Music Festival ( inJune) , but apart from these two occasions, Essaouira is generally a quiet and safe city.The best place for a swim is near the dunes , but only if you like rough waters, . It is generally very windy in the afternoons , to the joy of kite-surfers and wave-hunters .You can also go camel or horse-riding near the dunes . the sunsets of Essaouira are simply breath-taking ...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Popular but you can find quiet spots”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I was lucky to have amazing weather during my stay in Essaouira. It was not too windy and the sun shone every day. This beach runs from the port around towards the dunes. I was there in height of summer and it was busy - although i found it nice to see all the activity and people enjoying themselves. You can go in the water - mindfully (quite rough - many did) There are deck chairs you can hire.... i think i was asked for 50dh for a parasol and deckchair...as with everywhere in Morocco just negotiate...i paid 25 for a single chair and parasol. The surfer boys who manage this mini operation are trustworthy (always gave me exact change) they look after your bag if you want to leave it and go for food/a swim etc....will get you a snack if you request it etc.

The quieter spots and softer sand is nearer to the dunes where more surf schools are and horseriding takes place. No chairs there, but you don't really need it. It is a safe beach, kept as clean as possible considering the volume of people during my visit. I ran ever day barefoot on the sand and absolutely loved it. There are water/ice cream/crepe/juice stalls on the main promenade.... Enjoy it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essaouira Beach also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Essaouira Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essaouira Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.