We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sand and Sun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essaouira Beach

Essaouira Beach
Essaouira, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 53 things to do in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sint-Truiden, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sand and Sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A nice even beach, with a good stretch of fine sand, clean. Stroll the promenade, get a tan and have a dip in the sea. Not too crowded.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    259
    127
    30
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espinho, Portugal
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely week in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Be aware that the temperature difference between Marrakech and Essaouira beach can be almost half. (Essaouira @16:00 23ºC and Marrakech @18:00 42ºC)
Lovely beach nice sidewalk and view.
It almost feel you're somewhere in Europe, beside the fact that you will see a lot of locals fully dressed at the beach :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cleanest beach in Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

So clean, little chilly but it really adds to the way the city grooves. It is my favorite beach (and I have been to almost all of them in Morocco).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wind and Kites”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

If you are a wind or Kite surfer then this is the beach for you . IT blows non stop everyday .. some days it blows a little less.. other days it blows a lot more. We arrived just before the music festival and all the plastic bags and other sanitary products we being cleaned of the beach.. I dont reccomend it for anybody who would want to sunbath

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Away from the madness of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Unfortunately the wind was blowing whilst we were there for the day and whilst we didn't swim, we did walk the beach to the far end and back, visited the fish market, and shopped in the Medina. The atmosphere in Essouaira is so relaxed after Marrakesh, and you could enjoy shopping leisurely with lots of the stores advertising prices without that constant pressure of selling, you can still bargain regardless. If I had known about Essouaira before my visit to Morocco, I would have booked to stay for a few days to soak up the vibe! Great seafood!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essaouira Beach also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Essaouira Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essaouira Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.