We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous natural beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essaouira Beach

Essaouira Beach
Essaouira, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 49 things to do in Essaouira
Attraction details
Kilkenny, Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Gorgeous natural beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A wide expanse of sand, with a fairly high tidal range, so it was really big when the tide was well out. The closer to the town (and port) you are, the more rubbish you find, which is disappointing. As you get further away, it gets a lot cleaner. There seems to be decent surf there all the time. Watch out for the camel dung!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    232
    110
    24
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Long sandy beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Went on long walks when the tide is out to a very secluded part of the beach. Very popular for football!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The beaches are not so great.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The beach a was disappointment, the water is not very clean and the is beach it self is very dirty. Lucky our Hotel had a great pool.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Nehterlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Although we were only here a short time we love the vastness and cleanliness of the beach. We were there as a couple but saw that the beach area was also suitable for families.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

it was an awesome place - compared to the hassle and stink of marrakech - essaouira was a delightful experiance. real prices - great food. the budget sea bbq by the sea was aesome. we ate like kings and paid very little. perfect for a stroll into the smelly fish portside but the fish and bustle of the fish market is wicked! take a hanky because lor' its smelly! great shopping prices - lots to do and all within walking distance. a very relaxed and cxhilled out place with much more to offer than some of the inland cities. essaouira gets my vote a hundred times over and i will def. go back. you can also find hotels everywhere and haggle for prices you can afford.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essaouira Beach also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Essaouira Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essaouira Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.