We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like No Other” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maroc

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Maroc to your Saves list
Villa Maroc
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10, rue Abdellah Ben Yassine, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
New York City
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Like No Other”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

We recently returned from our 12th New Year stay at the Villa Maroc. Although we have strayed to other local Riad Hotels in Essaouira..we always find our way home and leave with the feeling that we've just had an experience that will carry us through another 6 months in New York!....Constantly being manicured, evaluated and renovated by the wonderful Swiss and Moroccan couple who own it...The 4 lovingly restored medina houses are full of 1001 night surprises..no 2 guest rooms are the same..and dinner is served in private dining rooms aside lovely fires. The kitchen is the best in Essaouira using their own home grown vegetables, olive and argon oils and also serves a wonderful breakfast on the Terrace rooftop overlooking the port and magnificent beach
and mountains. The spa includes a hammam, Massage center and everything that one may need to experience Morocco in maximum comfort and hospitality. We are always eager to return to the Villa Maroc and do so at every opportunity...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    87
    30
    6
    11
See reviews for
63
198
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

We've stayed here before. It still has the charm and design that made it our favourite. The rooms we had this time were even better and more comfortable. Breakfast on the roof terrace looking out to sea is a must. The restaurant is still extremely good and very cosy in front of an open fire with chandeliers of candles.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

We agree with all the previous reviews, this is an amazing place but unfortunately the room we were allocated (6/7) was very disappointing, despite being in the top price bracket as it had a sea view it was small, basically furnished and overlooked a load of rubbish, it was also extremely noisy (seagulls, traffic etc). This was a real let down as we spent a lot of time reading reviews and looking on the net for a place with nice rooms before we booked. In our opinion it is much better to forgo the seaview and ask for an inner room as these are much quieter and generally larger. We were able to view all the other rooms in the hotel and all of them were better than room 6/7, the pricing category did seem strange as some rooms were huge and seemed to be of a better class, so its a bit of a luck of the draw situation! Which can be frustrating if you draw the short straw!! The staff did change our room on the second night though but they did want to charge us £180 a night for four nights in a sea view room even though we only spent one begrudging night there - they did reduce the charge after a minor conflict on departure. It would be much better to be able to specifiy your room on the web when booking through a room gallery.
Food was brilliant, authenic but with a twist and reasonably priced, brilliant location etc, would go back as long as we were able to specify a room.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

Nice artwork. Central location next to Medina and harbor. Some rooms have views and/or fireplaces; ask for these rooms.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

I am confused by the mixed reviews I have seen of this place. We had no problem finding the place. It is quite close to ocean and some of the rooms have a good view of the harbour.
Our room was right at the top and kind of small but was very romantic because of the small window that overlooked the square facing harbor. White Sea Gulls flying all over. Room was quiet. Terrace is a wonderful relaxing place. In fact the whole town is a very relaxed place to take in. Dinner we had was wonderful - ambience is great, service was great.
I am not sure why others have found this place to be run-down. We stayed in many beautiful riads in Fez, Marrakech and other cities in Morocco, and we found this to be a charming place with great interior. Not the best place we stayed in Morocco but would certainly come back to this place if we come to Essaouria again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

Sweet trip! Would love to see in the on season! Very peaceful and fun people in town. Everyone at the hotel was great and went out of their way to be excellent hosts.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

Here is our opinion about the Villa Maroc.
The Villa Maroc easy to find and in the heard of the medina.
The first impression was very positive, it's a beautiful place.
The staff was very nice and made everything to make our stay as nice as possible.
The room was very spacefull, clean and well arranged.

The people in the Riad where very nice, helpfull and flexible.
We had some interresting discussions with some members of the staff. The restaurant is wonderfull, there are a lot of small corners to keep privacy.
The meat was unbelivable good, we never had eaten so good during a vacation.

We spend a wonderfull week in the Riad and could benefit 100% from our vacation.
If you want to have a nice stay in Essaouira, we would recommand you the Villa Maroc without any problem.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Maroc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maroc

Address: 10, rue Abdellah Ben Yassine, Essaouira, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#15 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maroc 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The leading Riad Hotel in Essaouira. Villa Maroc has everything you could dream of for an unforgettable holiday. Great location tucked inside the ramparts of the historical medina, a UNESCO World Heritage site. Villa Maroc offers you breathtaking views of the sea and port, 21 rooms with simplicity, spirituality, elegance and refinement, as well as an Oriental Spa. Just a few minutes from the sea and port. Close to both shops and beaches. Villa Maroc is famous for its regional cuisine and romantic candlelit dinners round an open fire. Villa Maroc is the meeting place for artists, actors and musicians." Good Wifi connection throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Maroc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maroc Hotel Essaouira
Maroc Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Maroc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.