We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Interesting Building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maroc

Save Saved
You added Villa Maroc to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Maroc
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10, rue Abdellah Ben Yassine, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #18 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Location, Interesting Building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

This place is great. The location is perfect and their jumble of buildings has so much character. The room was neither large nor elaborate but it was clean, the bed was comfortable and we loved our experience. We were with a group and had dinner in one of their dining areas and it was excellent.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your report. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Maroc. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again among us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    81
    28
    6
    11
See reviews for
57
183
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

after busy days in Marrakech a great place to relax, the old riyad is tastefully - not stylish - decorated with beautiful fabrics and Marrocan furniture, excellent food and very friendly private atmosphere. Great location within the Medina with wonderful view to the beach and harbor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Maroc. Hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had planned to stay two nights, but when we arrived my partner decided to make the decision one night would be enough and we headed back to the (amazingly perfect) El Fenn in Marrakech. Villa Maroc came recommended from friends and we weren't disappointed, but we also weren't blown away. We had a room at the very top off the breakfast terrace. It was a cute set up with the sleeping area up one level and a nice sitting area when you first enter the room. But, the door didn't close tightly enough to stop the wind from rattling it continuously (this was solved with a washcloth in the space). The bathroom was a little more run-down than I'd hoped to see, but other than these two complaints the riad was charming. Dinner is served tucked into various little rooms/alcoves and the food was very good. Breakfast was served up on the terrace (it's chilly with the wind, of course) and the service was pleasant while the food wasn't as good as that served at dinner.
The location is great - it's just a short walk to the beach, breakwater and you're right in the medina.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have spent 4 nights, this past month of august in Villa Maroc. Our stay was really super, highlighting achitecture and interiors character (tres bon goût) , unbeatible service ( thanks to all) amazing rooms and rulers savoir faire. Food is also fantastic. This is real luxe, traditional and simple plaisir de vivre, not modern marketing. Thank you Cornelia. Nous reviendrons Incha Allah. A la prochaine fois !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you. Hope to see you soon again at Villa Maroc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We certainly seem to have had a different experience from other recent reviewers. The hotel's location is certainly one of its advantages, so close to everything the medina, port and beach have to offer - and the terrace for breakfast overlooks all of these - just wonderful. The communal areas of the hotel, dining spaces etc are simply and tastefully decorated, not over-fussy. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean and we really liked the shower room. My only comment would be that I would have appreciated a hair-dryer. The bed-linen and towels were good hotel-quality and changed frequently. We ate dinner at the hotel twice and the food was absolutely delicious. We are vegetarian and the cook produced a superb meal for us which has to rank with one of the best veggie meals we've had on our extensive travels. During our stay, all the staff were charming and friendly. Breakfasts were simple but good - with home-made preserves and yoghurt.

At no time were the hotel's facilities misrepresented - the website makes it clear that the pool is at their other property.

If staying again, I would ask for a room away from the side alleyway - some locals like to congregate there in the small hours to chat!

Overall, a lovely hotel where we felt very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your comment. We would be happy to see you soon again at Villa Maroc.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

What could be said nicely of this riad was the location and the terrace with a view.

The rooms are overpriced and small. My friend got another bigger room after voicing out her dissatisfaction. We have seen customers requesting for a change in rooms, so the whole system looked weird to me - were we supposed to get what we paid for only when insisted? As we were only staying for one night, we didn't fuss too much and just beared with what we were given. As another reviewer has said, we didn't feel the Moroccan hospitality here. It was really a shame as we were a group of three and each has a varying degree of knowledge or expectation on Morocco. I would have thought that it was easy to "seduce" one of my friends who was new to Morocco into love, but our first night here in this trip was definitely a no-no.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are sorry that we have not been able to answer your expectations.
Villa Maroc is a "Hotel de charme" located in four houses of the 18th century. We have 21 rooms - each one different in style and size - five different price-cathagorys. Decoreted with local handcrafts and antiques.
We are here every day to make your stay at Villa Maroc as pleasent as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We are a couple of Moroccans who used to live in New York. Since our return to Casablanca where we live now, we try to travel around Morocco as much as we can to enjoy the beautiful landscapes of our country and appreciate the exotism and the warm hospitality of Ryads. Essaouira is one of our favorite places and we stayed there many times in various hotels and Ryads. We like especially the Ryad experience where for less than 50€, you stay in very charming and welcoming guest houses where the owners amaze you with their little attentions, their care for you as a special customer and the generous breakfasts they serve you in very beautiful terraces that have a view on the medina and the beach.
This time, as we were traveling with our 11 months old baby, and after a short stay in sofitel essaouira Mogador resort, we wanted to give to our baby a ryad experience. We decided to book for a more "upscale" ryad naively thinking that by paying much more than we used to, we will have bigger and more comfortable rooms as well as a superior service. We decided to go for Villa Maroc because of the good reputation this place has as one of the first ryad to become a guest house in Essaouira. What a great disappointment it was. This place is not only dirty, shabby and overpriced, but it is a shame for Moroccan legendary hospitality.
First of all, the premium room they gave us was very small, with very old and useless dusty furnitures. No welcoming touch in the room like a flower or a bottle of water. When you call yourself " maison de charme" it's the little gestures that make your guests feel special that makes the difference. In Villa Maroc, you only feel like a stupid client with very low expectation ready to overpay for mediocrity.
In the rooms, there are no phone connections, this is not a problem in itself but when you range yourself as an upscale guesthouse, the least you can do is to provide minimum commodities specially when your room is at the roof top and you have to go down many floor and through a labyrinth with a baby in your arm to ask for basic commodities like water or soap.
As far as breakfast is concerned, a beautifully presented breakfast with products from the region like argan oil are the least you can expect from a Ryad that positions itself as an upscale one. At Villa Maroc, you get the most basic and tasteless breakfast you can get. Coffee and milk is served in cracked up dishes, bread was chewy and not grilled, there was no honey and even though the owners have a domain in the region of Essaouira where they produce argan oil and other terroir products, they didn't have a glimpse of generosity to serve you some at breakfast which is compeletely against moroccan rules of hospitality. And last but not least, if you want eggs, you have to pay for them 20dhs ( abt 2€)for one boiled egg and 30dhs (abt 3€)for an omelet. Besides, olives that are always served for free wherever you go in Morocco are charged 2€. This is a shame! In morocco, wherever you go, hotels or ryads or other guesthouses, eggs are always included in breakfast and never ever in our life, we have been charged for olives!. In villa Maroc, not only they charge you 1350 dhs (abt 135€)for a very small and dirty room, but they serve you a very poor breakfast and make you pay for eggs and olives as an extra.
Well to sum it up, please don't waste your money in such a shameful and dirty place that doesn't reflect at all moroccan sense of hospitality. There are many small ryads out there much less expensive who will give you a true experience of moroccan hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are sorry that we have not been able to answer your expectations.
A big number of regular guests appreciate our service's and understand the philosophy of our hotel, that we manage since 18 years.
Villa Maroc is a "Hotel de charme" located in four houses of the 18th century. We have 21 rooms - each one different in style and size - five different price-cathagorys. Decoreted with local handcrafts and antiques.
We use handmade local pottery, especially made for us. Our home made and fresh food is served by our loyal and smiling staff, working with us since nearly 20 years.
Our breakfast, served (not buffet) on the roof terrace with views over the harbor and the beach, is well known and - as you can read in other reviews - very appreciated.

We are here, every day, to make you feel home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Maroc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maroc

Address: 10, rue Abdellah Ben Yassine, Essaouira, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#15 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maroc 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The leading Riad Hotel in Essaouira. Villa Maroc has everything you could dream of for an unforgettable holiday. Great location tucked inside the ramparts of the historical medina, a UNESCO World Heritage site. Villa Maroc offers you breathtaking views of the sea and port, 21 rooms with simplicity, spirituality, elegance and refinement, as well as an Oriental Spa. Just a few minutes from the sea and port. Close to both shops and beaches. Villa Maroc is famous for its regional cuisine and romantic candlelit dinners round an open fire. Villa Maroc is the meeting place for artists, actors and musicians." Good Wifi connection throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Villa Maroc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maroc Hotel Essaouira
Maroc Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Maroc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.