We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel within old town walls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maroc

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 6 more sites!
Villa Maroc
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10, rue Abdellah Ben Yassine, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free parking
Ranked #18 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Rapperswil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Outstanding Hotel within old town walls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

we stayed 3 nights in this hotel in the medina, near the traditional fishermen's harbour and the souk. Some 3-4 old houses now form the Hotel, owned and personally ruled by an marocaine-swiss couple. The structure of the former private houses ist preserved. So the "tour through the hotel" has something of the exploration of a labyrinth. The old houses did not tolerate to install an elevator, so that you have to be pretty well on your feet to stay there.
The terrasse overlooks the harbour and the beach. Each (sleeping- and dining-)room has its own character , the rulers and the staff are very helpful and full of hospitality. The meals are excellent. We felt very well, and the stay was worth every single Dirham.

Room Tip: If possible choose a room at the top, so you can look over the town wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We are glad that you appreciated your stay at Villa Maroc. It would be a pleasure to welcome you soon again. Best regards. C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    76
    27
    6
    10
See reviews for
50
178
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Villa Maroc has an excellent location in the medina with easy access to the port and the old city. It is made up of four former separate riads and has a homely atmosphere and plenty of privacy; it can appear a bit of a rabbit warren when first encountered. The terrace where breakfast is taken has great views of the port and sea. The staff are friendly and efficient without being intrusive and the food and service are of a high standard. The hotel is great value for money and staying there was a wholly pleasant experience..

Room Tip: While a room with a sea view sounds a great idea there aren't many of these, and given the preva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Maroc. Thank you for your commment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in Villa Maroc as part of a 2-week guided tour. We were delighted and surprised at the quality and charm we found here. The room no. 20 is a junior suite with a garden view that was extremely clean, lovely and well located. We had breakfast and dinner here and we must say it was the best meals of our trip. Check out the dates for city festivals as this hotel's terrace is the best. A favourite.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely report. We hope to see you soon again at Villa Maroc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Everybody knows Villa Maroc in Essauoira. It is perfectly located and has a superb decoration in all the different rooms of this villa. Breakfast at the terrace has a fantastic view of the sea and the port. Very clean and personal very helpful.
The only missing thing is a swimming pool, but the rest is more than compensated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are happy to know that you appreciate your stay at Villa Maroc in town. 15 minutes from town we own "Les jardins de Villa Maroc" our guesthouse with a beautiful swimming-pool where you can spend the day in the calm of the fantastic country side rounding Essaouira.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed in the family suite in August, so beautiful, clean, stylish and elegant. It's also quirky, with little odd rooms and staircases leading up to interesting places. Quiet and peaceful, yet near to everything. Best of all is the roof terrace, with amazing views. Had breakfast every morning there, the breakfast was good, fresh orange juice and pancakes etc. we stayed with our teenage children. Loved Essouirra, especially in August as it has nice cooling breezes, want to go back. Miss it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your comment. Would be nice to see you again in august.
Essaouira is known for its breeze in summer. We don't have that african heat you would expect in Morocco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a beautiful Riad, and so well located in the Medina. The staff, cleanliness & rooms were all great. the bathrooms were the best we had in Morocco, having said that you pay for it, quite expensive compared to other places we stayed at, but Essaouira is!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
All our guests appreciate the position of Villa Marc. Right behind the ramparts inside the medina, 2 minutes to the beach and the harbor and fantastic views over the sea from the roof terrace.
Thank you so much for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This Riad is sweet and charming. Simple and yet very stylish! Rooms are nice size and clean.
The dinners are served in very quaint salons and some even have fireplaces next to the tables.
The dinner was fantastic and the portions large. We could not finish our meal so we asked them
to wrap it up and we had it for breakfast! Too good to waste. Centrally located, but not noisy. Would certainly stay again. Only one word of caution watch your head when going up and down the stairs, not made for very tall people.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11, no view, and not really much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your lovely report. We hope to be able to welcoming you soon at Villa Maroc again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Maroc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maroc

Also Known As:
Villa Maroc Hotel Essaouira
Villa Maroc Hotel
Maroc Hotel Essaouira
Address: 10, rue Abdellah Ben Yassine, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#15 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maroc 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The leading Riad Hotel in Essaouira. Villa Maroc has everything you could dream of for an unforgettable holiday. Great location tucked inside the ramparts of the historical medina, a UNESCO World Heritage site. Villa Maroc offers you breathtaking views of the sea and port, 21 rooms with simplicity, spirituality, elegance and refinement, as well as an Oriental Spa. Just a few minutes from the sea and port. Close to both shops and beaches. Villa Maroc is famous for its regional cuisine and romantic candlelit dinners round an open fire. Villa Maroc is the meeting place for artists, actors and musicians." Good Wifi connection throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, T4B and Otel so you can book your Villa Maroc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Maroc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa Maroc to your Saves list