We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful villa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maroc

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Maroc to your Saves list
Villa Maroc
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10, rue Abdellah Ben Yassine, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very beautiful villa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Everybody knows Villa Maroc in Essauoira. It is perfectly located and has a superb decoration in all the different rooms of this villa. Breakfast at the terrace has a fantastic view of the sea and the port. Very clean and personal very helpful.
The only missing thing is a swimming pool, but the rest is more than compensated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are happy to know that you appreciate your stay at Villa Maroc in town. 15 minutes from town we own "Les jardins de Villa Maroc" our guesthouse with a beautiful swimming-pool where you can spend the day in the calm of the fantastic country side rounding Essaouira.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    108
    36
    7
    12
See reviews for
77
231
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed in the family suite in August, so beautiful, clean, stylish and elegant. It's also quirky, with little odd rooms and staircases leading up to interesting places. Quiet and peaceful, yet near to everything. Best of all is the roof terrace, with amazing views. Had breakfast every morning there, the breakfast was good, fresh orange juice and pancakes etc. we stayed with our teenage children. Loved Essouirra, especially in August as it has nice cooling breezes, want to go back. Miss it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your comment. Would be nice to see you again in august.
Essaouira is known for its breeze in summer. We don't have that african heat you would expect in Morocco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a beautiful Riad, and so well located in the Medina. The staff, cleanliness & rooms were all great. the bathrooms were the best we had in Morocco, having said that you pay for it, quite expensive compared to other places we stayed at, but Essaouira is!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
All our guests appreciate the position of Villa Marc. Right behind the ramparts inside the medina, 2 minutes to the beach and the harbor and fantastic views over the sea from the roof terrace.
Thank you so much for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This Riad is sweet and charming. Simple and yet very stylish! Rooms are nice size and clean.
The dinners are served in very quaint salons and some even have fireplaces next to the tables.
The dinner was fantastic and the portions large. We could not finish our meal so we asked them
to wrap it up and we had it for breakfast! Too good to waste. Centrally located, but not noisy. Would certainly stay again. Only one word of caution watch your head when going up and down the stairs, not made for very tall people.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11, no view, and not really much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your lovely report. We hope to be able to welcoming you soon at Villa Maroc again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We arrived too late in the evening to have the house dinner which looked amazing, but had an incredible breakfast on the rooftop terrance in the morning. The Villa was charming and comfortable. We enjoyed tea by the fire in the evening. The staff was welcoming and very nice. The location was good, but also hard to find (at first), as it is located along a narrow street up against the medina wall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Propriétaire at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you.
As we serve only fresh, seasonal and traditional food, you have to order before 4pm to enjoy dinner at Villa Maroc. Please don't hesitate to order dinner with your booking to find a good meal on your arrival. See you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, R?on de Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our suite, with sea view, was excellent. Sumptuous breakfast on the roof terrace was an the best start to the day. Dinner in on of the cosy salons, with an excellent bottle of wine was really nice. The staff were friendly, smiling and helpful. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you - from paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Staying at the Villa Maroc is a real pleasure : the atmosphere is very quiet, peaceful and in the same time elegant, authentic.
Having diner in one of the small salons in front of the fireplace with music and candles is just a pure moment of happynness and make you feel at home.
People working there are very nice and professional. The aperitif or the breakfast on the roof terrace is wonderful as well.
We stayed 2 nights as well in ''the gardens of Villa Maroc". It was nice moment to relax and swim
This is the place when you need to make a break and full yourself with positive energy.
We will comeback. Florence and Laurent

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Propriétaire at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at Villa Maroc or in our country house "Les jardins de Villa Maroc".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
1.1 mi away
Riad Zahra Mogador
Riad Zahra Mogador
#11 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#15 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#12 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
0.2 mi away
Dar Maya
Dar Maya
#5 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maroc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maroc

Address: 10, rue Abdellah Ben Yassine, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#15 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maroc 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The leading Riad Hotel in Essaouira. Villa Maroc has everything you could dream of for an unforgettable holiday. Great location tucked inside the ramparts of the historical medina, a UNESCO World Heritage site. Villa Maroc offers you breathtaking views of the sea and port, 21 rooms with simplicity, spirituality, elegance and refinement, as well as an Oriental Spa. Just a few minutes from the sea and port. Close to both shops and beaches. Villa Maroc is famous for its regional cuisine and romantic candlelit dinners round an open fire. Villa Maroc is the meeting place for artists, actors and musicians." Good Wifi connection throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Maroc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maroc Hotel Essaouira
Maroc Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Maroc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.