We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maroc

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Maroc to your Saves list
Villa Maroc
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10, rue Abdellah Ben Yassine, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Redhill, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed in the family suite in August, so beautiful, clean, stylish and elegant. It's also quirky, with little odd rooms and staircases leading up to interesting places. Quiet and peaceful, yet near to everything. Best of all is the roof terrace, with amazing views. Had breakfast every morning there, the breakfast was good, fresh orange juice and pancakes etc. we stayed with our teenage children. Loved Essouirra, especially in August as it has nice cooling breezes, want to go back. Miss it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your comment. Would be nice to see you again in august.
Essaouira is known for its breeze in summer. We don't have that african heat you would expect in Morocco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    87
    30
    6
    11
See reviews for
63
198
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a beautiful Riad, and so well located in the Medina. The staff, cleanliness & rooms were all great. the bathrooms were the best we had in Morocco, having said that you pay for it, quite expensive compared to other places we stayed at, but Essaouira is!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
All our guests appreciate the position of Villa Marc. Right behind the ramparts inside the medina, 2 minutes to the beach and the harbor and fantastic views over the sea from the roof terrace.
Thank you so much for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This Riad is sweet and charming. Simple and yet very stylish! Rooms are nice size and clean.
The dinners are served in very quaint salons and some even have fireplaces next to the tables.
The dinner was fantastic and the portions large. We could not finish our meal so we asked them
to wrap it up and we had it for breakfast! Too good to waste. Centrally located, but not noisy. Would certainly stay again. Only one word of caution watch your head when going up and down the stairs, not made for very tall people.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11, no view, and not really much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your lovely report. We hope to be able to welcoming you soon at Villa Maroc again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We arrived too late in the evening to have the house dinner which looked amazing, but had an incredible breakfast on the rooftop terrance in the morning. The Villa was charming and comfortable. We enjoyed tea by the fire in the evening. The staff was welcoming and very nice. The location was good, but also hard to find (at first), as it is located along a narrow street up against the medina wall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Propriétaire at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you.
As we serve only fresh, seasonal and traditional food, you have to order before 4pm to enjoy dinner at Villa Maroc. Please don't hesitate to order dinner with your booking to find a good meal on your arrival. See you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, R?on de Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our suite, with sea view, was excellent. Sumptuous breakfast on the roof terrace was an the best start to the day. Dinner in on of the cosy salons, with an excellent bottle of wine was really nice. The staff were friendly, smiling and helpful. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Owner at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you - from paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Staying at the Villa Maroc is a real pleasure : the atmosphere is very quiet, peaceful and in the same time elegant, authentic.
Having diner in one of the small salons in front of the fireplace with music and candles is just a pure moment of happynness and make you feel at home.
People working there are very nice and professional. The aperitif or the breakfast on the roof terrace is wonderful as well.
We stayed 2 nights as well in ''the gardens of Villa Maroc". It was nice moment to relax and swim
This is the place when you need to make a break and full yourself with positive energy.
We will comeback. Florence and Laurent

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Propriétaire at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at Villa Maroc or in our country house "Les jardins de Villa Maroc".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Villa Maroc and would return in a heartbeat.

A few scenarios will be indelibly marked in my memory ... the warm, smiling welcome received from Said as I walked through the doors at 11pm after a long journey, followed by supper served in my room (despite the late hour) ... breakfast on the roof terrace awash with glorious sunshine, with views of the ramparts, the extensive beach and the sparkling sea ... a cookery class with the gorgeous, engaging and hilarious Hayatt (apologies, not sure of the correct spelling) after a shopping trip round the markets for the ingredients ...a trip to Les Jardins de Villa Maroc, a breathtakingly beautiful 'sister' guesthouse a few kilometres away (I'm desperate to stay here at some stage!) ... vases of fresh roses every day throughout the riad ... the beyond beautiful ambience created for dinner in the evening, with the intimate dining salons illuminated by candles and the animated glow from open fires, gentle Moroccan music playing quietly in the background (I thought I'd died and gone to heaven!) ... I hope you get the picture.

The riad is indeed labyrinthine - a feature I found charming (can't stand generic-style featureless hotels, to be honest). I stayed in a 'superior room' which was huge, with a sofa and table area. The bed was fabulous and so comfortable, and the toilet was in a separate little room (within the room), which is a great idea (typically french in concept I think). The staff were courteous and helpful ... but I have to mention with special fondness and gratitude Hayatt, Leila, Said and the wonderful Ayaachi.

Further points: Food was terrific (dinners delicious!), I really liked the wine I was served (I ordered by the glass), you can order a beer whenever you fancy one. I liked the fact that at breakfast they included French-style baguette bread (I'm not overly fond of Moroccan bread).

Worth noting - my trip was at the end of April and although the weather was fantastic, it does get cold at night. Do the needful for that time of year and pack a nice warm pair of pyjamas and a warm cardigan for evening strolls round the town.

Also important - if you are booking an airport transfer, stress that you would like a driver who isn't tired of living!!! The driver who transported me from Agadir airport to the riad (a 2.5 hour journey) drove like Schumacher on crack!! Not for the faint-hearted - especially given the winding mountainous roads involved.

I ordered a car at the end of my stay to take me from Essaouira to Taroudant (approx. 4 hours by car) and the staff made sure, on hearing my previous experience, that I got a really great driver (Hossein), who drove steadily and also acted as an impromptu tour guide, pointing out places of interest along the way and anecdotally informing me about local culture and events.

Should you choose this riad on your trip, I hope you enjoy it as much as I can honestly say that I did.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Propriétaire at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We see that you really enjoyed your stay at Villa Maroc. We are here to make your stay as comfortable as possible and appreciate that you where happy in our house. Thank you so much for your lovely report. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Maroc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maroc

Address: 10, rue Abdellah Ben Yassine, Essaouira, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#15 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maroc 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The leading Riad Hotel in Essaouira. Villa Maroc has everything you could dream of for an unforgettable holiday. Great location tucked inside the ramparts of the historical medina, a UNESCO World Heritage site. Villa Maroc offers you breathtaking views of the sea and port, 21 rooms with simplicity, spirituality, elegance and refinement, as well as an Oriental Spa. Just a few minutes from the sea and port. Close to both shops and beaches. Villa Maroc is famous for its regional cuisine and romantic candlelit dinners round an open fire. Villa Maroc is the meeting place for artists, actors and musicians." Good Wifi connection throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Maroc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maroc Hotel Essaouira
Maroc Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Maroc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.