We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed little Riad.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maroc

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Maroc to your Saves list
Villa Maroc
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10, rue Abdellah Ben Yassine, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
swan lake mb canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Relaxed little Riad.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here after reading about it. We here for 3 nights, had a terrible meal across the street at L Mechaour our first day, then had 2 dinners at Maroc, both were excellent in very a cosy setting with excellent service. The Moroccan staff were very helpful, a special thanks to Ayashi. The European staff were all good as well.

I thought the breakfast was just okay for the price paid, nothing memorable, extra charge if you want an egg etc. Bar service etc was very attentive. Would have give this place 5/5, but it is in need of a coat of paint here and there, especially on the upper terrace. We also had a stained undersheet on our bed, which was quickly taken care of as well.

All in all would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. Your opinions keep us encouraged to improve our service in the future.
Best wishes from the entire staff of Villa Maroc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    108
    36
    7
    12
See reviews for
77
231
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Villa Maroc is very well situated for the Medina and the coast. Our room (1/2) was nicely furnished, and comfortable although it did have a slight mustiness- something we found fairly commonly in Morocco. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

We enjoyed eating breakfast on the terrace. Dinner was served in a number of small rooms, which had a certain charm. The cook was talented but we felt we paid a lot for a meal here compared to other restaurants in Essaouira.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Villa Maroc is an amazing place to stay, combining top class service with a very laid back approach that leaves you feeling comfortable whatever your mood. The staff are what really mark it out - they are unceasingly kind and concerned that you have everything you need, without ever being intrusive. They even called us before our stay to confirm that our online booking was going to meet our requirements, unheard of in this day of call centres and automated responses! The hotel itself is beautiful, with all the little hidden corners, atmospheric lighting and log fires you would hope to find in your dream riad. The bar and dining areas are charming and relaxed, we whiled away many an hour playing backgammon and drinking decent local wine. The terrace, where you can have breakfast, sunbath, take tea or just relax with a book was perfect with great views of the sea, beach and incredible sunsets. There is a tree growing in the central courtyard which crests on to the terrace and while we were there had singing mynah birds and even its own chameleon. Calm, tranquil, it's the perfect antidote to Essaouira's medina. The location is great, near enough to the medina walls that getting out to a car is quick and easy, less than 5 minutes walk to the beach for long strolls in the sunshine and right in the medina itself for access to cafes, restaurants, shops and the souk. Having stayed in chilly riads in Essaouira twice before over christmas, this was also the first time I've ever been truly warm at night once the sun sets, helped along by the hot water bottles the staff put in your bed every night. One word of caution would be to appreciate that you are staying in an old building in an old city - if you can't live without lifts and satellite TV you might prefer to stay in a more modern build outside the medina. For me though, the atmosphere of the building, charm and old school courtesy of its staff and perfect service make Villa Maroc somewhere I would return to in a heartbeat - we've only been home a week and are already wondering when we can return! Top marks.

Room Tip: There are lots of floors and lots of stairs at the Villa Maroc as it is a merger of 4 old riads. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We're very looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I cannot remember when I stayed at the Villa Maroc last but each time I stay here it's like my home from home. The staff are friendly, the food is fantastic, the welcome great and the hands-on owners become friends overnight. It's just a delight to live there and I love it. It's easy to locate when you arrive and more importantly easy to find your way back. Just a few short minutes walk from both the beach and the Medina this hotel is ideally placed for everything Essaouira has to offer. The peaceful roof terrace gardens, the mini courtyards, the views of the ocean, the unique charm of an individual room in a Riad all makes a stay here magical.

In my opinion this is undoubtedly the best hotel in Essaouira. The staff are like a family and do their absolute best to help you in anyway they can, nothing seems to be too much trouble and if there is any query the Lady of the House is usually there to help in a variety of fluent languages.

Room Tip: This is a Riad with narrow stairs. The staff will always help with luggage so decide which floor you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel is 3 riads combined together to form a spectacular habitat with courtyards and roof gardens galore.

The staff were wonderful, from Management to wait/servers. Accommodations needed to be made for a friend who had difficulty with the narrow winding staircases. They bent over backwards to accommodate him and get me a room near to him at a reduced price. Food was excellent. Fresh fist one night was just sumptuous, moist and done to perfection. You can order the three course meal or any portion of it. Best coffee in Morocco. Wonderful accommodations, clean and tidy and spacious. Great common rooms, tons of them!

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool, so disregard that rating. The hotel is at the entrance to the Medina, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Fantastic location; comfortable rooms with great views over the medina and the ocean; delicious food served either on the roof terrace overlooking the harbour or in one of a series of private dining rooms around the courtyard; and prompt, attentive service throughout our stay.

Have stayed elsewhere in Essaouira before, and Villa Maroc is far better than anywhere else I've seen. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our stay at the Villa Maroc was a perfect start of our recent trip to Morocco. We stayed for 2 nights which enabled us to explore Essaouira's highlights at leisure. The Villa consists of 4 riads that are connected to each other with stairs and corridors, and the place oozes with charm, as you have the feeling you are in a house, not in a hotel. Each room is different. Ours had a nice tadelakt bathroom, a bedroom, and a small sitting lounge, all with carefully selected furniture and decoration. Delicious and somptuous breakfast is served on the spacious terraces of the riads, with view over the medina at one side and the port and the coast at the other one. In the evening it is possible to have a lovely (you have to pre-order) dinner in one of the lovely decorated rooms or small stylish lounges of the riads. This means excellent and fine Moroccan cooking consisting of appetizers, salads and tajines, combined with a good selection of Moroccan wines.
The Villa is perfectly located near one of the southern gates (Babs) of Essaouira, and if you arrive by car, you can conveniently park your car at the guarded parking near tot the gate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
1.1 mi away
Riad Zahra Mogador
Riad Zahra Mogador
#11 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#15 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#13 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
0.4 mi away
Riad Chbanate
Riad Chbanate
#3 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maroc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maroc

Address: 10, rue Abdellah Ben Yassine, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#15 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maroc 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The leading Riad Hotel in Essaouira. Villa Maroc has everything you could dream of for an unforgettable holiday. Great location tucked inside the ramparts of the historical medina, a UNESCO World Heritage site. Villa Maroc offers you breathtaking views of the sea and port, 21 rooms with simplicity, spirituality, elegance and refinement, as well as an Oriental Spa. Just a few minutes from the sea and port. Close to both shops and beaches. Villa Maroc is famous for its regional cuisine and romantic candlelit dinners round an open fire. Villa Maroc is the meeting place for artists, actors and musicians." Good Wifi connection throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Maroc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maroc Hotel Essaouira
Maroc Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Maroc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.