We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maroc

Save Saved
You added Villa Maroc to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Maroc
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10, rue Abdellah Ben Yassine, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #18 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Fantastic location; comfortable rooms with great views over the medina and the ocean; delicious food served either on the roof terrace overlooking the harbour or in one of a series of private dining rooms around the courtyard; and prompt, attentive service throughout our stay.

Have stayed elsewhere in Essaouira before, and Villa Maroc is far better than anywhere else I've seen. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    84
    29
    6
    11
See reviews for
59
190
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our stay at the Villa Maroc was a perfect start of our recent trip to Morocco. We stayed for 2 nights which enabled us to explore Essaouira's highlights at leisure. The Villa consists of 4 riads that are connected to each other with stairs and corridors, and the place oozes with charm, as you have the feeling you are in a house, not in a hotel. Each room is different. Ours had a nice tadelakt bathroom, a bedroom, and a small sitting lounge, all with carefully selected furniture and decoration. Delicious and somptuous breakfast is served on the spacious terraces of the riads, with view over the medina at one side and the port and the coast at the other one. In the evening it is possible to have a lovely (you have to pre-order) dinner in one of the lovely decorated rooms or small stylish lounges of the riads. This means excellent and fine Moroccan cooking consisting of appetizers, salads and tajines, combined with a good selection of Moroccan wines.
The Villa is perfectly located near one of the southern gates (Babs) of Essaouira, and if you arrive by car, you can conveniently park your car at the guarded parking near tot the gate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

After many good and bad experiences in travelling we have now the opportunity to draw on unlimited resources in commenting our stay in Morocco, e.g. in ‚Les Jardins de Villa Maroc‘, dependance of the famous Hotel Villa Maroc in Essaouira.
We now can rename the words hospitality, comfort and love for details: ‚Les Jardins de Villa Maroc‘. Hicham, the gorgeous Manager oft he hotel did convince us with the tipical charming morrocan friendliness as well as with tasty and typicall moroccan food and tea. Breakfast was a not finishing offer of home made and tipical food and beverages. Dinner a delicious eye candy of Tagine and tipical moroccan salads. The rooms and hotel were very clean, furnished perfectly and with love in details. Les Jardins de Villa Maroc is located countrysides, not far from Essaouira. A perfect location to relax and to create distance to the daily routine.
Les Jardins de la Villa Maroc is a Resort of the famous Hotel Villa Maroc, which is managed by Cornelia Hendry and her husband Abderrahim Ezzaher. Special highlight: Madame Hendry did personally organize a sunset sailing trip arround Essaouira and an afternoon Quad trip through the dunes of Essaouira. Just splendid! One evening we spent in Villa Maroc and had a delicious dinner which was very authentic and tasty. The Villa is a place with neverending opportunities in discovering treasures of good taste and eyecatchers of moroccan accessoires.
A stay on superlatives! Many thanks to the Management of the Hotel Villa Maroc and the employees, we will be back soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We of cause read tripadvisor reviews, and had great expectations to our stay in Villa Maroc. We spent 3 days there and had a good time. The location is exellent, the room we had was one of the biggest I have ever had (about 8o sqm) including a bathroom with a cheselong(!) But the architecture is like a riad and when a couple with a small child (with a great voice) moved in in the floor beneath us we had a hard time falling asleep.
The breakfast was served (at your choice) indoors or on a spacious roof terrace. The food was quite ok, but not impressing. On the same terrace ( a very nice place) you could have a beer or a glass of wine in the evening but there was no service so you had to go down to the bar to order. It had been a great improvement to have service on the terrace.
The dinner was served at cosy small tables in niches and small rooms. A very good ambience, but the food was not more than ok.
Overall: 4 of 5 stars and worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was the first hotel we stayed in when we first visited Essaouira, 15 years ago. We were so pleased with it that we chose it for this repeat visit. Essaouira has changed a lot in that time. The town has been spruced up with new paving and lighting, the beach has become quite glamorous, many trees have been planted, and there are many new restaurants and hotels. The only change we disliked is that the old medina used to be for pedestrians only. Unfortunately this policy has been changed and now there are noisy motor bikes zooming around all over the old town, which has changed the uniquely peaceful atmosphere of this charming Moroccan town for the worse. Fortunately the streets are too narrow to permit motor cars.

As for the Villa Maroc, it is as delightful as we remembered it. The location is perfect, a short walk from the main square, the port, and the beach. The hotel is not purpose built but rather consists of two old traditional riads that have been combined. The result is an authentic charm that you just cannot achieve in a modern hotel. Of course this means that every room is different, with different outlooks and different furniture to suit its size and shape -- so you might want to check your room first. We found our room to be very comfortable and appreciated its distinctiveness (a welcome change from the predictability of the big international chains). The staff are professional and helpful and contribute to the pleasant ambiance of the place. The food is excellent, and a welcome feature is that the dinner menu changes depending on what fresh foods are available in the local markets that day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you soon again in Villa Maroc. I promise that we will do the maximum to maintain the charming atmosphere it has.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at Villa Maroc earlier this year, and were disappointed. Due to the strength of recommendations on Tripadvisor, and the relatively higher price compared to other riads, we had pretty high expectations for Villa Maroc.

Pros:
-The rooms were the best part of our stay, as they were elegantly furnished and very cosy.
-The location for Villa Maroc is quite convenient, and easy to access.

Cons:
-The standard of the breakfast was bad, in terms of the spread and taste, compared to the fare we had in other cheaper riads that we had stayed in during our stay in Fes and Marrakech.
-Upon checking out, the hotel staff tried to charge us a higher price than what we been quoted earlier. Thankfully, we had printouts of the quotations, and even upon presenting this, there was some unpleasantness and tantrums from the staff. I would advise printing out documentation or emails before staying here to avoid any misunderstandings.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maroc, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We do appreciate your honesty.
Of course we apologize for the inconvenience you had at checkout. I want to emphasize though that misunderstandings like the one you suffered are not our habit and the payments usually work out without any trouble.
We are looking forward welcoming you again in Villa Maroc in order to prove the necessary.
Kind regards, Villa Maroc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed at Villa Maroc during our honeymoon one year ago! Unforgettable the pleasant atmosphere, wonderful cooking and the simple elegance of the rooms. The service was friendly and helpful throughout. A wonderful time we had!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Maroc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maroc

Address: 10, rue Abdellah Ben Yassine, Essaouira, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#15 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maroc 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The leading Riad Hotel in Essaouira. Villa Maroc has everything you could dream of for an unforgettable holiday. Great location tucked inside the ramparts of the historical medina, a UNESCO World Heritage site. Villa Maroc offers you breathtaking views of the sea and port, 21 rooms with simplicity, spirituality, elegance and refinement, as well as an Oriental Spa. Just a few minutes from the sea and port. Close to both shops and beaches. Villa Maroc is famous for its regional cuisine and romantic candlelit dinners round an open fire. Villa Maroc is the meeting place for artists, actors and musicians." Good Wifi connection throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Villa Maroc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maroc Hotel Essaouira
Maroc Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Maroc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.