We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fontaine Bleue

Save Saved
You added Fontaine Bleue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fontaine Bleue
45 Rue Oujda, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
KMK83
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We loved this riad! The overlook to the ocean is gorgeous. We enjoyed sitting on the roof, drinking mint tea, and later, a glass of wine. We stayed in the room off the rooftop, which was beautiful. Hafida and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. The riad was fairly easy to find from the supra tours terminal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perpignan, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

This riad is beautifully located in a seaside location in the heart of the Medina. It was incredibly quiet and we literally were woken by nothing. The breakfasts are delicious and served on the lovely roof terrace from 7 to 11. The manager, Hafida was a warm and helpful presence and cooked lovely meals at a reasonable price

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with amazing hospitality. We stayed here for 2 nights and wished it could have been longer. Our host, Hafida was so lovely and went the extra mile to help us out. My boyfriend was sick with food poisoning (not from the hotel!) and she brought us medicine and called a doctor to visit the hotel. She even put a hot water bottle in our bed when we popped out to get some food. The rest of the team were just as friendly and helpful too.
We had a lovely room overlooking the sea. The bed was so comfy and the shower was fantastic. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

La Fontaine was a wonderful place to stay, my adult daughter and I had a room overlooking the city wall and looking out over the sea. Our room, and everywhere in the Riad, was very stylish, comfortable and clean. Breakfast on the roof terrace, also overlooking the sea was a great way to start the day. Delicious food and a fabulous view.. We are not French speaking but that was not a problem as Hafida and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were recommended a restaurant which was great. I loved being able to hear the sea lapping from our bedroom and watching the children playing and the cats sleeping on the wall down below.
My only regret is that we ran out of time to enjoy one of Hafida's meals of an evening!
Jill and Jess

Room Tip: Room with a sea view was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at La Fontaine Bleue for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Riad is beautifully decorated, with a great terrace and our room had a sea view. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Both the restaurant and spa recommended were great and staff went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect for exploring the narrow streets of the medina, eating fresh fish at the port and to get to the beach. Would certainly stay there again!

Room Tip: Worth asking for a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Beautiful hotel and immaculately clean. Hafida and the team are so welcomo
Ing and helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast of homemade yoghurt and fresh fruit followed by Moroccan bread and pancakes and they also provided a vegetarian evening meal on request.

Room Tip: See view nice but the Atlantic is wild and the wind strong and loud so if you prefer quiet choose a...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrovo, Bulgaria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We found La Fontaine Bleue by accident, just walking on the street. The first impression was very good and we decided to stay for few days. It smelled clean and tidy. It looked everything was made there with care for every single detail. Really beautiful with amazing view over the wild Atlantic ocean.
But great place is made by great people! And there they are! We have never experienced such a hospitality, such an amazing team! You can see and feel that everything they are doing comes from within. Excellent. We will never forget our stay in this riad, not only because of the beautiful and clean building but because in it we met lovely people we call friends!
THANK YOU!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fontaine Bleue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontaine Bleue

Address: 45 Rue Oujda, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Fontaine Bleue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontaine Bleue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.