We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a delightful family run authentically Morrocan experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gnawa Blues

Gnawa Blues
22 rue Youssef El Fassi | Place El Mechoir, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
+(212)6 59 92 71 89
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 193 restaurants in Essaouira
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Moroccan, Vegetarian, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Gnawa Blues, café-restaurant, place El Mechoir, Essaouira, close to the musical festivals place. Sunny terrace, welcoming dining room. WIFI. The leader proposes you a traditional Moroccan and based on fish cooking with original specialities, as shark tagine stuffed pigeon, stuffed sardines and moroccan home made pastries. Live music every evening. A warm welcome in French, English and Arabic.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“a delightful family run authentically Morrocan experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We loved this place. We stumbled upon it by accident and received a warm welcome, delicious food and a live performance by the talented Ayoub accompanied by his brother. We then wound up there for the next two nights enjoying their family run hospitality, delicious coffee, tasty food and fantastic music! A real find and certainly the place to be!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    57
    10
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to hang!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were initially drawn to the place by the very reasonably priced set menu.
In the end we felt that we had just eaten in the best resturant in town!!

The food was great! The atmosphere was lovely! Half way through the meal, I noticed that we were sitting by a guitar they use in the gnawa music. So when the owner came by I asked him if he played the instrument!
A smile grew on his face and he said he not only played it but he made the instrument! I asked him to play and without hesitation he picked it up and sat by us and started to play!
His little brother soon joined in with singing and clapping! it was great! He told us a little more about the origins of the music and what each song meant. It was soo good!
Not only was the food delicious, and the staff friendly, they're also very talented musicians!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful authentic experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very friendly staff, great food, high hygienic standards and a beautiful African touch. You even get life Moroccan music if you are lucky and a canary bird will sing for you ;)!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cosy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Lovely spot. The restaurant is really cosy.
Our waiter was so nice, he was playing some live music in the end of the evening.
The foods were really good, I had a soup from fresh vegetables from the medina, really good!
A very nice place to go to chill out and have dinner!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding stuffed sardines and friendly host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We loved this little place. It's right next to the big hotels on the square. The host didn't speak great english but was very patient and warm. We ate dinner there and returned the next day for the fried stuffed sardines. Outstanding!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gnawa Blues also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Gnawa Blues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gnawa Blues, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.