We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gnawa Blues

Gnawa Blues
22 rue Youssef El Fassi | Place El Mechoir, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
+(212)6 59 92 71 89
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 196 Restaurants in Essaouira
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Moroccan, Vegetarian, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Gnawa Blues, café-restaurant, place El Mechoir, Essaouira, close to the musical festivals place. Sunny terrace, welcoming dining room. WIFI. The leader proposes you a traditional Moroccan and based on fish cooking with original specialities, as shark tagine stuffed pigeon, stuffed sardines and moroccan home made pastries. Live music every evening. A warm welcome in French, English and Arabic.
Tromso, Norway
1 review
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

One night while staying in Essaouira we dropped by Gnawa blues by accident. This was by far the coziest and friendliest place we came across while travelling in Morrocco. They had just opened and not many people were in the restaurant. Lucky for us we got to learn both the owner Ayoub and Geneviève and we were fortunate enough to hear them both play Gnawa music. My boyfriend even got to try the instruments himself. We couldn't have asked for a better place to spend our last night out in Essaouira. The wine was great, the food was amazing and the atmosphere was better than we could ever had imagined. We look forward to coming back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    11
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“The friendliest place in Essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is was by far the most relaxed and welcoming place to relax and eat in the town. The family make you feel very at home, along with great simple and well priced food. I met some really interesting people in Gnawa Blues, and also had the chance to hear some of the fabulous Gnawa music, you can even pick up and instrument and have a go yourself! Make sure you make this place a regular stop. They even have a great new garden in-front of the place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A place that ticks all the boxes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I'm writing this sitting on the beautiful terrace outside gnawa blues in essaouira, which is pretty fantastic in morocco as not all places have wifi. Not only that but the food is fantastic and proposes simple alternatives when you're feeling tajined out, notably soothing broad bean soup!! Staff are really welcoming and sweet and to top all of that the toilets are clean and have loo paper, another main standing out quality in morocco! It's also very good value and just a lovely place and lively for music. All the best! Un grand merci!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very friendly place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

i was in essaouira for a while and i visited this place lots during that time, really great food which is made fresh everytime...great music selection and nice decor. its really good to sit outside and watch the daily games of football played on the square or just to take in the atmosphere of the town...the staff are really friendly and helpful

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Live Music and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We happened upon this little place. Live music and friendly staff. They took our booking and when we returned all was ready for us. Typical long room restaurant with a view out over the square at the edge of the Medina. Lovely food cooked fresh to order. Local red wine served and they went out to buy the beer that I fancied. Great Service. They sell CD's of the music. But I struck up a conversation and had a go on the Gnawa. I gave a tip for a great meal. He gave me a CD. Thanks guys.

Two days later we were walking in the markets and the owner recognised us and gave a cheery hello and waved. Not bad in a crowded market.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gnawa Blues also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Gnawa Blues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gnawa Blues, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.