We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Stunning Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Maya to your Saves list
Dar Maya
33 rue Oujda, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Stunning Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights with our daughter and son-in-law. We loved the modern architecture and our spacious and luxuriously appointed rooms with bathrooms, balconies, and comfortable beds. The roof terrace and sitting out areas are great for relaxing in the cool and quiet. The friendly owner Gareth and his staff were very helpful and attended to all our requests (and the dogs Eddy and Nini also made friends). Gareth was a mine of information and booked a taxi transfer back to Marrakech airport for us. The ample breakfast (fruit juice, pancakes, fresh fruit, eggs, croissants, baguettes, jam and butter) was excellent, and we had amazing meals in the evenings following Gareth’s local restaurant recommendations.

We thoroughly recommend this Riad which is ideally situated if you want to be in a quiet location in the medina with easy walking distance to shops, fishing port, beach, and good eating places.

Room Tip: The riad has 4 floors (including roof terrace) without a lift. Laafit and Tignna both very comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    19
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
156
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Dar Maya is brilliant, and I loved Essaouira — I'm already plotting our return. We only stayed for two nights, but I'd love to stay longer and spend more days wandering the streets of the medina and lounging on Dar Maya's rooftop watching the changing skies and drinking tea. Everything was perfect.

The staff were all exceptionally friendly and helpful, and didn't laugh at me at all when I locked our cameras in our in-room safe and then couldn't get them out again. Every single surface at the hotel was lovely (I kept touching the walls, because I became a bit obsessed with how smooth the gorgeous tadelakt felt) and the underfloor heating in the bathroom was luxurious. The breakfasts were particularly yummy, and our tagines at dinner very tasty.

And, it was a delight to meet Gareth and his dogs, made Internet-famous by their TripAdvisor fans! We'd emailed Gareth before arrival to book our pick-up from Marrakech (an enjoyable journey with a very friendly driver) and a spa treatment (an amazing dreamy hammam followed by a really great in-room massage) and everything was wonderful. Thanks, Gareth!

Also, there's a little case of beautiful things you can buy in the lovely tiny lobby, and the earrings I picked up there became my staples for the rest of our honeymoon; I love them.

Room Tip: We had, I think, one of the smaller rooms (Akshood), and it was still big. We had massive cases, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband & I recently stayed at Dar Maya, only for one night, but our time at the riad was wonderful. When we arrived we were immediately greeted by two very lovable dogs, Eddy & Nini. We did not have the pleasure of meeting Gareth but the staff was welcoming and very helpful. The riad is spectacular in design & décor. Very romantic with a gorgeous rooftop lounge. Breakfast was delicious, one of the best we had in Morocco.

We would highly recommend Dar Maya to anyone travelling to Essaouira. We can't wait to return & stay long. We stayed in the Tignna Suite and it was beautifully decorated and a fabulous bathroom.

Room Tip: Tignna Suite is great, private & quiet but I'm sure all the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This riad is simply stunning. Every wall, fixture, candle, doorknob--every detail large and small--is impeccable. Gareth, the owner, has taken great care and thoughtfulness in creating each space within the hotel. The effect is elegant, relaxing and inviting. Lighting and contemporary color palettes are fantastic. Great beds, sheets, rugs, towels and even 'western' toilet paper. Both the larger and smaller rooms are equally lovely and the rooftop is a great place to unwind or take the sun. (I hear a hot tub is forthcoming). It was tough to leave the riad to explore Essaouira!

I also loved Gareth's restaurant recommendations. He knows good food, and good design.

More than that, I cannot say enough about the staff. We adored Youseff -- and not only for his commitment to assist us in every possible way-- and the very best smile in Essaouira surely belongs to Fusia. She and the others were a delight to wake up to each morning and were all wonderful at their jobs. Abdel too was just great -- friendly, knowledgeable and helpful..

The staff offers not only service AND hospitality, but kindness and warmth as well.
Bravo to them all.

And if you're a dog lover, two extremely lovable canines live at the riad -- Eddy and Nini! They stole our hearts an hour into our 4-night stay.

Take time to wind down in Essaouira....it's the most chilled city in Morocco that I saw. Highly recommend this modern, chic, pretty-much-perfect riad.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Do not hesitate to choose Dar Maya for your stay in Essaouira. Everything is new, clean and nicely decorated. A romantic adress with only 5 rooms. Don't miss the roof top with the small pool after a hot day.
You know the most important, so test it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solvang, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The architectural design of this riad is stunning, each room beautifully but simply decorated, and all rooms look out into a central courtyard. Several windows & a balcony door in my room opened to admit fresh air and lots of light - just delightful. Wonderful rooftop lounge with small pool (too cold & windy this time of year, but would be great in warmer weather. Breakfast each morning was delicious, especially the crepes and eggs. Very accommodating and helpful staff. Great medina location.

Room Tip: As with most riads and guest houses in Moroco, there are no elevators here. If steep stairs are a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Essaouira was a much needed breathe of fresh air after a 3 nights stay in Marrakech. Gareth had been great through and through from sorting out a porter to meet us at the coach station to printing us a map of the town and dishing out great restaurant recommendations. All the staffs were courteous and helpful and Eddy and Nini were such great friendly dogs. The riad (and especially the room) was tastefully decorated and the underfloor heating in the toilet felt so nice. I would totally recommend Dar Maya to anyone who's planning to visit Essouira.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Maya

Address: 33 rue Oujda, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Maya is a luxury boutique hotel, offering five rooms, a spa and heated dip-pool in a chic, tranquil riad in the heart of Essaouira’s historic medina. Having successfully blended a mix of understated Moroccan and contemporary European styles, Dar Maya oozes elegance, subtlety and intimacy. Our aim is to make your stay at Dar Maya as enjoyable as possible, and we offer an impeccable level of service that only a small luxury hotel can provide.With stunning ocean views from the terrace, the hotel is a few minutes walk to all the main attractions and amenities including the bustling cafes and restaurants, souks, port and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline and Prestigia so you can book your Dar Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.