We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a life time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Maya

Save Saved
You added Dar Maya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Maya
33 rue Oujda, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Trip of a life time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is the first time my Husband and I have managed to get away together in years and what a memorable trip it was! This was largely due to where we stayed at Dar Maya which was luxurious and extremely well run. The owner Gareth couldn't do enough to accomadate us. I would HIGHLY recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
115
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

From the moment we walked through the door of Dar Maya we were blown away by the beauty and style of the place. It has been very tastefully decorated and the rooms are the most comfortable we have found in the whole of this trip to Morocco. Gareth and his staff go out of their way to make sure that all is well. We have been thoroughly pampered and spoilt by them throughout our stay and we will be sorry to leave. I highly recommend the hamam , massage it wqs the best ever. We qre in a couple of times, Abdel is an excellent chef. We will most definitely recommend this hotel to our friends. Many thanks Gareth for your kindness and hospitality we will be back next year

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This place is verything the other reviews say it is. A marvellous rebuild of an old riad, done in great style. Breakfast is modest but, crucially, it is served whenever and wherever you want it to be. Gareth is a congenial host and his staff are great too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I booked Riad Dar Maya because of its innovative styling and services. To that end, the riad lived up to expectations. Heated bathroom floors, clean, spacious, a warm fireplace in the room, great location. However, a two irksome simple items that seem like tablestakes for a hotel troubled my experience: (1) The bathroom shower drain did not function, even after an attendant came to address the situation (2) The room/riad carried a subtle, but insidious aroma of stale sewage. The bathroom issue would not have been bad if it were resolved prior to our departure, but after the attendant could not remediate the situation immediately, the issue was met with indifference and non-action. I do not know how to address the second situation. Perhaps it is the type of cleaner used combined with personal olfactory [dis]preference, but I did not have a good experience. Maybe it is better for others or just a seasonal issue.

Room Tip: Be sure to check the themes of your suite because each has a different flavor/specialty which you ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth T, Owner at Dar Maya, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dar Maya welcomes feedback from all our guests and we are willing to be judged by these reviews. We believe it is important for prospective guests to know that this reviewer quietly left the hotel without paying for his room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Riad Dar Maya was absolutely wonderful - the whole place is beautiful, and our room was incredible - with a bath I could have spent days in! The food was great, and Gareth and his team were so helpful and accommodating - Gareth's recommendations in Marrakech really made the rest of our trip. The taxi that picked us up from the airport was great too - and was a great guide, teaching us some Arabic words and helping me practice my French! I couldn't recommend Dar Maya more.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Beautifully designed and furnished, romantic, candle lit.

Hammam and massage: Wow! A must! Exhilarating Hammam and the best massage ever had, in room, amazing sound track and candle lit

Food at hotel: as good as if not better than top restaurants in Essaouira, worth staying in for.... Just need to tell them a few hours in advance.

Roof terrace: great place to unwind, relax and watch the rooftops come alive, listen to sound of crashing waves.

Bedroom: super comfortable, amazing candlelit baths, best night sleep

The weather was great in November, recommend it for winter sun.

The Medina: a delightful mix of sights, sounds and smells. Very laid back, felt very safe. Very clean.

Happy smiley staff, who seem to really care about their jobs.

So much to do. Something for everyone. A total escape from normal life.

Thanks Gareth, Eddy & Nini for an unforgettable stay!

Room Tip: we stayed in Tignna which apparently means SKY. Highest room closest to the roof terrace and dip poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

When travelling to Essouira we wondered if we had been optimistic in booking to stay 9 nights thinking perhaps what would you do after the first 3 or 4 days.
No problem! From the moment we stepped into Dar Maya and shook hands with with Gareth we were at home.
The riad was beautiful and had every convenience we could have wanted. Gareth and staff were anxious to make our stay in Essouira memorable and make us think about a return visit.
The riad was so central to everything and Gareth and staff had so many suggested activities that when our last night came we thought we could have easily stayed a couple more nights. (can recommend the Moroccan cooking course suggested by Gareth.) Can highly recommend Dar Maya for an extended stay - a couple of nights is definitely not enough to experience Essaouira and its wonderful culture.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Maya

Address: 33 rue Oujda, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Maya is a luxury boutique hotel, offering five rooms, a spa and heated dip-pool in a chic, tranquil riad in the heart of Essaouira’s historic medina. Having successfully blended a mix of understated Moroccan and contemporary European styles, Dar Maya oozes elegance, subtlety and intimacy. Our aim is to make your stay at Dar Maya as enjoyable as possible, and we offer an impeccable level of service that only a small luxury hotel can provide.With stunning ocean views from the terrace, the hotel is a few minutes walk to all the main attractions and amenities including the bustling cafes and restaurants, souks, port and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.