We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite riad and a wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Maya

Save Saved
You added Dar Maya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Maya
33 rue Oujda, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Exquisite riad and a wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I don't think I can say much more than other people have already done. This riad is gorgeous, a mix of traditional and modern, impeccably clean and the service is top-notch. Staff extremly helpful, lovely breakfast, nicely positioned in the old town, with a very private terrase on top and even small swimming pool. Took advantage of lovely hammam inside the riad followed by a massage in the room. Heaven!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
109
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend in August for a few days.
- The place feel like one of those modern living magazine covers, lots of attention to detail, very homely
- Great location, generally easy to find in a town where it is easy to get lost
- Bedroom and bathroom were great (no TV mind you for those who care about that sort of thing but we didn't)
- Staff went out of their way to help us

Only tip would be to adjust the rooftop Jacuzzi somehow so that the ocean can be seen when sat in it.

Would definitely be where I would stay were I to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I staid one week in Dar Maya, in august.We were a group of friends and we rent all the riad. We loved everything: the dar's location in the middle of the medina, we loved the architecture and the decoration, and we really appreciate the kindness of the staff and the help and suggestions from Gareth, the owner of the riad. Abdel is a perfect cook, and we appreciated to have diner at the riad after a day full of activities ! And breakfast are just perfect ! I would like to add that the small swimming pool on the terrace is a plus additional.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Overall I had a fantastic stay at this lovely Riad. The positive reviews below reflect my experiences of what is a great place to stay in the lovely port town of Essaouira.

This small hotel, while traditional in design, is new from the ground up and shows the care, style and attention of the owner/builder. I stayed not long after it was completed, and there were a few minor issues as the last finishing touches were made. I would safely assume that by now the hotel is complete and running like clockwork.

The rooms are large and comfortable with plenty of natural light from the inner courtyard. I stayed in the 2 of the rooms, and both were fantastic with their clean no fuss modern design. The included breakfast on the roof terrace was a great way to start the day.

Despite being in a fantastic central location, the hotel is very quiet and you can hear the ocean on a calm night. All the major sites are an easy walk from the front door. The staff are very keen to help, and while I was there made some fantastic food recommendations.

Fresh flowers, decent wifi, plenty of power plugs and nice soft towels demonstrated the good attention to detail.

Room Tip: You can check out the 5 rooms on the hotel web site. The top rooms have the best natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

L'ensemble du séjour nous a comblé. Le riad est situé en plein centre de la vieille ville, à deux pas des remparts et des rues commerçantes. Cette proximité n'enlève rien au calme absolu, que seules les mouettes viennent perturber. La décoration est juste somptueuse, un petit palais en plein cœur de la médina. Chambre spacieuse, salle de bain avec une baignoire qui s'apparente à une fontaine, une piscine sur les toits (l'un des plus hauts de la ville) avec terrasse pour le petit déjeuner et transats, un salon décoré avec goût, le tout parsemé de bougies parfumées pour éclairer les soirées. Le personnel de l'hôtel est d'une gentillesse rare, souriant, toujours présent pour vous servir, et pour autant d'une discrétion absolue. Il faut absolument diner au moins une fois sur place, on y a mangé le meilleur tajine de la ville !! (alors qu'on en a mangé plein). Et pour ne rien enlever au confort, un massage mémorable dans la chambre. Nous nous y sommes sentis comme chez nous, en mieux !

Amazing stay. The riad is located in the center of the old town, closed to the remparts and the shops, and however, it's absolutely quiet, the silent being only disturbed by seagulls. The decoration is sumptuous, a small palace at the heart of the medina. Spacious room, a bathroom with a bath that looks like a fountain, a nice little pool on the roof (one of the highest of the city by the way) with a terrace for breakfast, a living-room decorated with a lot of taste, all of it strewed with perfumed candles, lightened every evening. People working there are really kind, smiling, always around to serve you but somehow very discret. You must eat at least one time there, since we had the best tajine we've eaten around the city. And in order to achieve perfect comfort, a nice massage in your own bedroom. We felt like we were at home, and even more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Me and my partner stayed 5 days in July in the ryad and can't really complain about anything.
The Dar is perfectly located in the good part of the Medina, near some good and affordable restaurants.
Decoration inside is a mix of trendy design and traditional Moroccan style.
It's the prefect place to chill out thanks to the sound of the nearby ocean and the delicate smell of some Moroccan perfume.

Our room on the third floor is probably the best one of the Dar. There is plenty of room, a huge bathroom and very nice, comfy and brand new furnitures.
The living room of the Dar is on the same floor and you feel like the whole floor is your own home.
Internet (wifi) works everywhere and we were even able to watch streaming videos on our iPad.

The roof terrace and its swimming pool offers stunning views of the Medina and the Ocean.

Staff is very nice and discreet. You can have breakfast where you want in the Dar and also when you want. We also had an enjoyable diner in the cosy living room.
Drivers from the Dar will pick you up at the airport and will bring you back at the end of the stay, even if the flight is awfully early in the morning.

Essaouira is a lot more pleasant than Marrakesh. This is a better place to relax and get some rest.

If we are to come back to Essaouira, we will of course book our room again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband, 11 year old daughter and I stayed at Dar Maya for 3 nights at the beginning of June. It really is a lovely place to be - we felt the staff were exceptional, so willing - nothing was ever too much trouble and all achieving that balance of friendliness whilst still allowing guests privacy. My daughter loved it - mainly because she found 2 small canine friends, but also because she felt relaxed and there was lots of space for her to safely explore. We would absolutely recommend this riad to anybody wishing to stay Essaouira - you wont be disappointed!

Room Tip: We loved our room and the bathroom particularly was a joy to bathe in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Maya

Address: 33 rue Oujda, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Maya is a luxury boutique hotel, offering five rooms, a spa and heated dip-pool in a chic, tranquil riad in the heart of Essaouira’s historic medina. Having successfully blended a mix of understated Moroccan and contemporary European styles, Dar Maya oozes elegance, subtlety and intimacy. Our aim is to make your stay at Dar Maya as enjoyable as possible, and we offer an impeccable level of service that only a small luxury hotel can provide.With stunning ocean views from the terrace, the hotel is a few minutes walk to all the main attractions and amenities including the bustling cafes and restaurants, souks, port and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dar Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.