We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home sweet home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essaouira Wind Palace

Save Saved
You added Essaouira Wind Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Essaouira Wind Palace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Avenue l'Istiqlal, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Mugla, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“home sweet home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nice architecture, very friendly staff, good location. If you arrive by bus, tell the taxi driver to go to the south door of Medina so you may avoid people trying to carry your luggage or show you the way. It is on the main street in Medina. Don't try to save money on room and book for superior with balcony. The staff is very friendly. They even sorted out our laundry which you will need after couple of days if you are not traveling with a big stock. The town itself was incredibly cold so forget you are traveling in Morocco while packing. We definitely recommend to all and it is very good value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Set about 200m within the Medina, the Wind Palace is a very comfortable riad well located for almost everything you might want while holidaying in Essaouira; restaurants, the beach, the port, banks etc are all within easy walking distance. Probably all that prevents it being described as a 'hotel' is the absence of a pool. Being within the Medina means that you are immersed in the hurly burly of the cultural melting pot that is Essaouira. If peace and quiet is your thing maybe lodging outside the walls would be preferable.

Above the reception and dining area ground floor are three accommodation floors and above those a pleasant rooftop terrace where breakfast, afternoon tea (where I'm now typing this review sipping refreshing Moroccan mint tea) and snacks are served. The terrace provides marvellous views over the roofscape of the Medina and beyond to the sea. Each floor (there is no lift) has several bedrooms of which just one, at the front, benefits from a balcony. These overlook the street which is also a main thoroughfare of the Medina. Traffic is not allowed but the very busy pedestrian street noise does intrude into these front facing rooms to quite a degree and ours, room 26 on the third floor, was described as the quietest because it was the highest and therefore furthest away from street level.

Room 26 is of a comfortable 'bed and breakfast' type, large enough for our one week stay in Essaouira and we benefitted from a good, clean, modern bathroom with a large corner bath, strong shower and plenty of hot water on tap. The bed was very firm but comfortable for that and we slept reasonably well. It was well serviced daily. While it did not have a fridge it did have a free safe and TV showing just one British channel, BBC World News.

A notable feature of the Riad is the high standard of cleanliness and decoration; every wall, door, floor and ceiling is attractively finished with Moroccan features, some very intricate and detailed.

The best part of the Riad is the welcome and service offered by proprietor Said and his staff. Always smiling, always helpful and cheerful and always there to offer help and advice of whatever type you might want. For example, they arranged our taxi transfers at a significantly cheaper cost than the travel agent. We couldn't fault them at all; they really helped make our week away in Morocco a lovely holiday. Thanks, guys!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great Riad in a superb location in the Medina with everything on your doorstep , the beach only 5 min walk away. Lovely clean rooms , cheerful and helpful staff , really nice roof terrace serving you a wonderful breakfast - Coffee , fresh juice , yogurt , fruit and pastry. Beautiful décor , recommend superior room with balcony . Would absolutely stay here again.
Dodgy Dj

Room Tip: Try to request an outer room which have windows or balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Overlooking the main street in the old city, we stayed in the Riad for 2 nights and it was a great experience overall. The rooms were spacious and clean, and the exterior is newly renovated and really stands out from the rest of the buildings nearby. Staff were very helpful throughout our stay. A great location within walking distance to all the attractions and the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Wind palace was refreshing, extremely clean with a wonderful room and bathroom. We looked over the main road in to the medina. Staff were friendly and welcoming and the atmosphere was relaxing. After much walking through the old medina it was fun to hire a bike and zip about independently.. The front desk were most helpful and I enjoyed the opportunity to converse with the woman who was managing the front desk there. Thank you for a great stay. Essaouira was such a contrast to the arid desert and mid atlas terrains.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, NS
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Wind Palace for 5 nights in May. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the main road in the Medina. It was a little noisy night time but so worth having the balcony. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Our room was very clean as was the bathroom. I think the Riad might have been recently renovated.
The location was great, right in the Medina and within minutes to the beach and fishing port.
I would highly recommend this place.
The breakfast was basic and for one or two mornings would be OK but not for an extended stay.

Room Tip: Splurge and get a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Wind Palace for 2 nights and 3 days. The hostel is new, fresh and clean. The rooms have enough space for 2 pax, own bathroom and wc also. Everything from the towels to the bed linings was clean, those things are changed by hostel staff every late morning. The room also hd flat screen tv with satellite reception. The staff were polite and welcoming.
And the price was aminzingly low considering what one get: 350 MAD/night/room including breakfast.
The hostel's location is also a peak point, since it is located in the heart of the city, at a walking distance to about everything including the beach.
We recommend this hostel to everyone without any hesitation and we'll undoubtfully stay there again, after all, Essaouira alone is worth the trip.

Room Tip: Rooms on the patio are less noisy than the ones on the street, though they don't have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Essaouira Wind Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essaouira Wind Palace

Address: 15 Avenue l'Istiqlal, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Essaouira Wind Palace 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in the heart of medina, just a few meters from the port, the beach, Skala, the animated place and the lively souks of the city, Riad ESSAOUIRA WIND PALACE has been beautifully restored in authentic Arab-Andalusian style; while preserving souls and décor of Mogador riad’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Essaouira Wind Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essaouira Wind Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.