We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and romantic restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Bleu Mogador

O'Bleu Mogador
23 Rue Bouchentouf, Essaouira, Morocco
+212 5247-83133
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 219 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: To find our restaurant in the Medina is not easy thus here is about indications: if you come from the outside from the Medina Bab (door) Marrakesh to take the second street to the right and to follow arrows. If you come from the medina to ask for it the door bab Marrakech or the street SIDI ABDAHLLA and follow her(it) arrows ring (at the top has right the bell) and we shall come to open you and Riad du XVIIIeme discovers her( before discovering the slate which Serge (the parton chef) will explain you and after ben it will be has you to tell it to us ...........
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming and romantic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by a staff member in our Riad and are so glad we ate here as we only had the one night in Essaouira. The restaurant is off a side street but easy enough to find as Essaouira is a small city.

We were given a very friendly welcome by the waitress and the chef paid us a visit during the night as well which was just great. The atmosphere in the restaurant is quaint, comfortable and classy – good for couples, groups of friends or families. It reminded me of being in a small local restaurant in countryside France.

Now for the food – even though we didn’t order starters we were given small bowls of courgette & mint soup which was lovely and fresh. For mains we had the lamb and veggie tagines which were both melt in your mouth. Definitely a step above the other tagines we’d had in Morocco! The dessert plate with 4 small desserts was yummy while the cheese plate consisted of Moroccan cheeses so was very unusual but definitely worth trying.

The only thing we were disappointed with was the wine – but we experienced this in a few places as I think a lot of wine gets damaged during transportation in the heat during summer. So we stopped ordering wine after a few days in the country.

Overall, we highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    28
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good but slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

It is a nice restaurant even if it's very hard to find it. The food is great and well cooked, but the service is very very very slow (we waited 1 hour and half to be serviced).
Anyway it's a good choice but very expensive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rousin, Gérant at O'Bleu Mogador, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Google Translation
notre place dans tripadvisor nous a fait passer en quelque jours à un nombre trop important de couverts que nous avons eu du mal à gérer surtout en cuisine vu que "je" ne voulais pas baisser la qualité
cela a engendrer de longues attentes
après cette soirée catastrophe croyez que nous allons mettre tout en oeuvre pour que cela ne se reproduise pas
serge peuzin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

3 friends dined last night. It's good that they have signs along the way from the Main Street as the way there is a little dingy. A cute little door and doorbell, and you're inside this cute little place.

Host is very friendly and really loved that the chef came out to take our order and answer any questions.

The house white by the glass was delicious, and all our meals were very flavoursome. We really enjoyed it. Took a while for the meals to come out (up to an hour, and can't really say it was due to a packed restaurant) but the food was great so we forgot about the wait once we started eating.

Definitely check it out. Pricier than others we tried but a great experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rousin, Gérant at O'Bleu Mogador, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Google Translation
notre place dans tripadvisor nous a fait passer en quelque jours à un nombre trop important de couverts que nous avons eu du mal à gérer surtout en cuisine vu que "je" ne voulais pas baisser la qualité
cela a engendrer de longues attentes
après cette soirée catastrophe croyez que nous allons mettre tout en oeuvre pour que cela ne se reproduise pas
serge peuzin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food, lovely people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Went here on our vacation, and must say: the best food we've had in Morocco!

Local tastes combined with haute French cuisine, definitely a must when in Essaouira!

Bon appetit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Wonderfully atmospheric and just opened 5 months ago. The chef and his wife are wonderful and the food some of the best I've had. They also can serve wine and I'd recommend the Sahari gris !

Please note like many places in Essouira they don't take credit cards although they say that might change in the future.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Bleu Mogador also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to O'Bleu Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Bleu Mogador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.