We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly with great music” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe des arts

Cafe des arts
Av. de Listiqlal, Essaouira, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 189 restaurants in Essaouira
Cuisines: Italian, Moroccan
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly with great music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very friendly staff who alternate between serving, chatting with customers and playing music. As such, maybe not the best place to go if you are in a big hurry for your food, but absolutely the best place in Essaouira for a chilled out evening listening to great music and chatting.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    48
    22
    2
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“Cute, cozy restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

After suffering though some days of bad and questionable food in Essaouira, we were glad to make a break for Cafe des Arts on this leg of our evening and sitting near the window, listen beautiful music from upstairs and enjoed the food. Food was pretty good.

Restaurant has a nice ambience due to the design of the place. Cozy and just a nice place to chill.

The decor was also really cool and interesting. In addition, the staff were all really cool and a delight to chat with, particularly Abdelwahed Elhajjam.

Thank you and see you next time!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Go for the experience.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The food was pretty blah. But the experience and music was well worth it. The band was fun and they knew how to entertain a crowd. It was a lot of fun to watch the waiter as he alternated between waiting on tables and playing the 9ra9eb (the Darija spelling of: krakeb ... the gnaouwan cymbels.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamanca, Castilla y Leon, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing atmosphere and music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

After I had dinner with some friends I decided to return to the Hostel while they went to Cafe des Arts. As soon as I arrived at the hostel I realized it was a stupid idea and when I finally got to the bar I could hear from the street the sound of the music and the claps.
When I entered the room, about 20 people were there gather around singing and dancing, while the band played. The performers played a lot, always making sure that everyone got involved. At the end they also let me and some other guys play some intruments and sing, which was pretty cool.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A night to remember ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Cafe des Arts is a quaint Cafe located on Istiqlal ave. (hadada street). Twenty of us from various riads/hostels got together to take in a fantastic evening of gnawa and music of the world. The performers played for hours making sure that everyone got involved with musical instruments, with our voices and by clapping our hands. The energy was fabulous and everyone had a memorable time. A great spot to meet the lovely locals as well as other fellow travellers. Many thanks to Youssef, Rachid, Hicham and the rest of the staff. Beslama ... Amagi

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe des arts also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cafe des arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe des arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.