We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the experience.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe des arts

Cafe des arts
Av. de Listiqlal, Essaouira, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 196 Restaurants in Essaouira
Cuisines: Italian, Moroccan
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Rabat
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Go for the experience.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The food was pretty blah. But the experience and music was well worth it. The band was fun and they knew how to entertain a crowd. It was a lot of fun to watch the waiter as he alternated between waiting on tables and playing the 9ra9eb (the Darija spelling of: krakeb ... the gnaouwan cymbels.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    24
    2
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salamanca, Castilla y Leon, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing atmosphere and music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

After I had dinner with some friends I decided to return to the Hostel while they went to Cafe des Arts. As soon as I arrived at the hostel I realized it was a stupid idea and when I finally got to the bar I could hear from the street the sound of the music and the claps.
When I entered the room, about 20 people were there gather around singing and dancing, while the band played. The performers played a lot, always making sure that everyone got involved. At the end they also let me and some other guys play some intruments and sing, which was pretty cool.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A night to remember ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Cafe des Arts is a quaint Cafe located on Istiqlal ave. (hadada street). Twenty of us from various riads/hostels got together to take in a fantastic evening of gnawa and music of the world. The performers played for hours making sure that everyone got involved with musical instruments, with our voices and by clapping our hands. The energy was fabulous and everyone had a memorable time. A great spot to meet the lovely locals as well as other fellow travellers. Many thanks to Youssef, Rachid, Hicham and the rest of the staff. Beslama ... Amagi

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Live music and great ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Great (small) cosi place, great food (especially the chicken lemon tajine) and great live music from Abdul, Rachid and Yossef. Greetings, Evelien & Lode

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great music and atmosphere and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Loved our nite with the artists in this cute and cosy cafe! really enjoyable and great service..charming waiters;)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe des arts also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cafe des arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe des arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.