We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Essaouira” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Table by Madada

La Table by Madada
7 rue Youssef El Fassi, Essaouira, Morocco
+212524472106
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 196 restaurants in Essaouira
Price range: $13 - $40
Cuisines: Moroccan, Seafood, Brasserie
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cork
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“One of the best in Essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I don’t know how this isn’t rated higher than 12 but its new enough so give it time. we ate here twice in June. It was so nice the first time my wife wanted to have our anniversary dinner there so we returned to celebrate. Nice modern but charming restaurant with character, lovely décor and ambience in a convenient location at the edge of the medina. Nicely laid out and spacious with comfort and quality feel. The hostess/owner was a lovely French lady who was very nice to us and very engaging in conversation and really cared about our experience in the restaurant and that we were happy with our meal. We found that service in Morocco was typically lacking to poor in most places but NOT so here the waiting staff were very good, attentive, friendly and well drilled by the owner so that was a pleasant surprise. Food and wine was very good and prices good. Would wholeheartedly recommend a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    153
    64
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London , UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Nice restaurant in the medina of Essaouira, with a cosy atmosphere, live music, excellent food and service and very fair prices. Delicious lobster salads and well made grilled bream. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best in Essaouira ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have recently spent 5 nights in Essaouira and La Table was one of the restaurants recommended by the owners in our Riad. Everything about the restaurant was perfect ... the food (especially the monkfish & pear tajine), the wine, the ambience, the staff and also the live music all combine to make our visits very memorable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salema, Portugal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best in Town No Doubt About it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

What to say... everything perfect here design, service,food, drinks, company and whatnot

Had the oysters gratin from Dahklia(?), then a crab gratin and lamb tajine for Azra accompanied by a small green salad. Wine: Ferme Rouge slightly chilled
A chocolatey dessert, forgot the name ( the wine was working on my brain cells) and two cognacs at the bar where we enjoyed the musicians.
We stumbled home to our Riad happy as larks

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Far and away the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful restaurant in a great location serving excellent French food using the best local ingredients. Value is unbelievable though it is expensive by some local, far lower, standards. Should be number 1, compares unbelievably favourably to Elizir that rates number 2

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Table by Madada also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Table by Madada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Table by Madada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.