We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, perfect and perfectly set little Dar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Al Bahar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Al Bahar to your Saves list
Dar Al Bahar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 rue de Touahen, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, perfect and perfectly set little Dar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed at Dar Al Bahar for two nights in April. It's a lovely little Dar, perfectly set location off the main hustle and bustle, beautiful terrace with views overlooking the sea. The star were warm and friendly, breakfast nice. The rooms were each unique and individually decorated, clean and comfortable. Would highly recommend Dar Al Bahar.

Room Tip: Wonderful little Dar in a perfectly set location off the busy main drag. Quiet, friendly staff, beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    61
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
86
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here five nights. Our room was small, but inexpensive, and we had a magnificent view over the Atlantic. The staff was friendly. Breakfast was served on the roof terrace, where we also spent some afternoon siestas. Very centrally located.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarAlBahar, Guest Relations Manager at Dar Al Bahar, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a nice stay and we look forward to having you again as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013



I really liked the location and sea views.

The staff were very friendly. Especially Suad who always had a huge welcoming smile and a contagious laugh. She always took an interest in how our day went. Najaht was lovely and welcoming too.

We were two women traveling alone so being in a riad with all women made us feel like it was truly a girly break!

The staff worked tirelessly and were incredibly helpful and honest. For example, I checked out and left my luggage with reception and asked if I could leave my wireless music device to charge with them. At night we returned to pick up the suitcases and I forgot all about my device and Suad quickly reminded me to take it..! I also left my hot water bottle in the bed and they gave me that too. Incredible honesty!

Suad also arranged for me to have a spa and tried to get me a cheaper price than the brochures offered.

I would advise travellers to study the map and get an idea of how to get to and fro from the riad. We did this a few times. And by day two we were at home! Lol

On the second morning at breakfast I requested eggs and they were delicious served with salt n moroccon spices. We also bought baguettes and asked Suad to slice and grill them which she did happily.

Brilliant riad with friendly staff.
Najaht even spoke a little English too.

I would advised travelers not to be overwhelmed by the dark alleys. We were two women and it was safe.

Also, Hearing the comforting sounds of the waves from our room was magical.

Overall Small but clean rooms with stunning panoramic views, & riad beautifully decorated with art and cute furniture, & Lovely throws on the bed.

It's easy to get your bearings as we were able to get back to our riad without asking for help

Brilliant hot showers too .

I would stay here again just to hear Suads laugh!


The negatives:

Wifi only in reception area. Not in rooms or on terrace and only till 11pm.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

the location just by the sea, above the old walls of Essouira, the room was basic, clean & nice, to be able to sleep and hear the ocean waves! ouch it was a bless, we stayed only one night, and we really wished to stay more.

Outstanding view from the rooftop, take a jacket, bottle of wine and go up there for unforgettable night :)

The Only Negative Thing that they doesn't accept any Credit Cards, have to pay in cash

Room Tip: Ask for rooms by 2nd floor & 3rd
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The room I had was small, and a little expensive in keeping with my "spend less than a Motel 6" attitude. Nice place for couples, don't get me wrong, and the breakfast was nice! If you have your babe with you, fine, if not, go to the Hotel Al Fath right by the square and on the sea.

Room Tip: Again, it was a little pricey for a solo, cheap traveler. Go to Hotel Al Fath at the square. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Nice location, our room was with a wonderful view on the atlantic ocean and the beautiful terrace was just upstairs.
We had a good breakfast staring at the sea.
Nice and confortable room but a little bit small.

Room Tip: The upper floor room has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We spent 5 nights here in April. We chose this riad due to the amazing views and proximity to the sea. We had also realised from other reviews / pictures / price, that is wasn't necessarily a luxury riad. We slept in the Alba suite and it is worth the money for the sea view. The rooms are fine, bed comfortable, clean, good bathroom, and a sufficient size unless you have lots of luggage. The roof terrace is amazing, and the breakfast is good.
Overall if you want to be near the sea and hear the waves crashing while you sleep then this is the place, it is a very comfortable riad with friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Al Bahar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Al Bahar

Address: 1 rue de Touahen, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#20 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#23 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Al Bahar 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Al Bahar is certainly the name it deserves: the house by the sea.Built on the ramparts of the city of Essaouira in the "San Dion" area, she faces the ocean and its trade winds. From the terrace the view is one of constant movement, winds breaking against the rocks of the coast, offering an amazing spectacle. From there, you can also enjoy the panoramic view over the medina with its northern fort of the ancient Scala and the Mellah (the former Jewish quarter). In the distance, you can see the sand dunes, which actually touch the northern outskirts of the city. Jean-Claude and Lise, a french-dutch couple, have completely renovated this house which was built at the turn of the last century. At that time, this part of Essaouira was much more animated thanks to the presence of an authentic windmill which formerly provided flour for the city and the back country. At this place, a new hotel has been built but the street name remained: Touahen, which means ‘mill’ in Arabic.Today, the peacefulness of this place is only disturbed by breaking waves and shrieking seagulls.During October 13-17, 2012, the town of Essaouira witnessed the filming of parts of the third season of "Game of Thrones", the popular medieval fantasy series. On October 15, some of the scenes were filmed on our street and near Dar Al Bahar, both almost magically transformed in a medieval set by the crafty crew, some of them also being our guests in the hotel. For the current and future fans of the series, we share some of our photos of the stars, extras and set, and, for those wishing to experience the "Game of Thrones" atmosphere, we look forward to having them of our guests.You will certainly have a pleasant stay in Dar Al Bahar ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Dar Al Bahar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Al Bahar Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Al Bahar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.