We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea view riad with friendly staff ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Al Bahar

Save Saved
You added Dar Al Bahar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dar Al Bahar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 rue de Touahen, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sea view riad with friendly staff ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013



I really liked the location and sea views.

The staff were very friendly. Especially Suad who always had a huge welcoming smile and a contagious laugh. She always took an interest in how our day went. Najaht was lovely and welcoming too.

We were two women traveling alone so being in a riad with all women made us feel like it was truly a girly break!

The staff worked tirelessly and were incredibly helpful and honest. For example, I checked out and left my luggage with reception and asked if I could leave my wireless music device to charge with them. At night we returned to pick up the suitcases and I forgot all about my device and Suad quickly reminded me to take it..! I also left my hot water bottle in the bed and they gave me that too. Incredible honesty!

Suad also arranged for me to have a spa and tried to get me a cheaper price than the brochures offered.

I would advise travellers to study the map and get an idea of how to get to and fro from the riad. We did this a few times. And by day two we were at home! Lol

On the second morning at breakfast I requested eggs and they were delicious served with salt n moroccon spices. We also bought baguettes and asked Suad to slice and grill them which she did happily.

Brilliant riad with friendly staff.
Najaht even spoke a little English too.

I would advised travelers not to be overwhelmed by the dark alleys. We were two women and it was safe.

Also, Hearing the comforting sounds of the waves from our room was magical.

Overall Small but clean rooms with stunning panoramic views, & riad beautifully decorated with art and cute furniture, & Lovely throws on the bed.

It's easy to get your bearings as we were able to get back to our riad without asking for help

Brilliant hot showers too .

I would stay here again just to hear Suads laugh!


The negatives:

Wifi only in reception area. Not in rooms or on terrace and only till 11pm.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    57
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
22
80
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

the location just by the sea, above the old walls of Essouira, the room was basic, clean & nice, to be able to sleep and hear the ocean waves! ouch it was a bless, we stayed only one night, and we really wished to stay more.

Outstanding view from the rooftop, take a jacket, bottle of wine and go up there for unforgettable night :)

The Only Negative Thing that they doesn't accept any Credit Cards, have to pay in cash

Room Tip: Ask for rooms by 2nd floor & 3rd
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The room I had was small, and a little expensive in keeping with my "spend less than a Motel 6" attitude. Nice place for couples, don't get me wrong, and the breakfast was nice! If you have your babe with you, fine, if not, go to the Hotel Al Fath right by the square and on the sea.

Room Tip: Again, it was a little pricey for a solo, cheap traveler. Go to Hotel Al Fath at the square. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Nice location, our room was with a wonderful view on the atlantic ocean and the beautiful terrace was just upstairs.
We had a good breakfast staring at the sea.
Nice and confortable room but a little bit small.

Room Tip: The upper floor room has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We spent 5 nights here in April. We chose this riad due to the amazing views and proximity to the sea. We had also realised from other reviews / pictures / price, that is wasn't necessarily a luxury riad. We slept in the Alba suite and it is worth the money for the sea view. The rooms are fine, bed comfortable, clean, good bathroom, and a sufficient size unless you have lots of luggage. The roof terrace is amazing, and the breakfast is good.
Overall if you want to be near the sea and hear the waves crashing while you sleep then this is the place, it is a very comfortable riad with friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

After a long gap, we really had a wonderful time together. And, this was all because of the calm location and lovely staff of Dar Al Bahar hotel. We stayed here for three days and had no issues regarding anything. Rooms are nicely decorated and well-appointed. Terrace is the place where breakfast is served. Amazing views of sea can be captured from here. Staff is very friendly and helped us a lot. I will definitely recommend this name to all my friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Thomas, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had some trouble in making our reservation for this room, which eventually involved 2 telephone calls, several emails and a disappointment that seemed to me to be unnecessary, however, the fellow at the property disagreed. We were especially keen on the view, though, so booked anyway, in the Alba suite. The room was fine and well furnished, although the bed was pretty hard. The kitchen was adequately equipped, and there was a wonderful supply of hot water. Despite fiddling and reading the hand written instructions we couldn't get the television to work, but that's likely down to us, and if you're there, you're not likely to be after the television, anyway. I'd rate the room as 'average' in the grand scheme of things, but the view makes up for a lot of mediocrity. I've attached an image taken from the bedroom window, no fancy tricks with the camera, this is just a vanilla shot. It's that close to the sea, probably the closest in town. There are stairs down to the seaside from what looks like the property (as seen from the battlement, adjacent) but was advised that the stairs are closed. I did see others walking out there, though. Others in the area advised that there is access, but I had no luck finding it. Your mileage may vary. The rooftop terrace was locked at the time of our visit, which was a shame. The housekeeper was friendly and welcoming, although others we encountered were a rather chilly. Breakfast was fine. The town is very relaxing, particularly after a few days in Marrakech - you can choose your dinner fresh from the sea and just unwind. Long trip from the edge of the medina to the place, would advise hiring someone with a cart (20 mad) if you have more than one piece to carry.

Room Tip: We had the Alba suite, and I'd cheerfully advise anyone considering the property to ante up for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Al Bahar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Al Bahar

Address: 1 rue de Touahen, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#23 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Al Bahar 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Al Bahar is certainly the name it deserves: the house by the sea.Built on the ramparts of the city of Essaouira in the "San Dion" area, she faces the ocean and its trade winds. From the terrace the view is one of constant movement, winds breaking against the rocks of the coast, offering an amazing spectacle. From there, you can also enjoy the panoramic view over the medina with its northern fort of the ancient Scala and the Mellah (the former Jewish quarter). In the distance, you can see the sand dunes, which actually touch the northern outskirts of the city. Jean-Claude and Lise, a french-dutch couple, have completely renovated this house which was built at the turn of the last century. At that time, this part of Essaouira was much more animated thanks to the presence of an authentic windmill which formerly provided flour for the city and the back country. At this place, a new hotel has been built but the street name remained: Touahen, which means ‘mill’ in Arabic.Today, the peacefulness of this place is only disturbed by breaking waves and shrieking seagulls.During October 13-17, 2012, the town of Essaouira witnessed the filming of parts of the third season of "Game of Thrones", the popular medieval fantasy series. On October 15, some of the scenes were filmed on our street and near Dar Al Bahar, both almost magically transformed in a medieval set by the crafty crew, some of them also being our guests in the hotel. For the current and future fans of the series, we share some of our photos of the stars, extras and set, and, for those wishing to experience the "Game of Thrones" atmosphere, we look forward to having them of our guests.You will certainly have a pleasant stay in Dar Al Bahar ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Dar Al Bahar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Al Bahar Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Al Bahar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.