We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Medina of Essaouira

Medina of Essaouira
Essaouira, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$48*
and up
Essaouira Day Trip from Marrakech
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in Essaouira
Type: Historic Sites, Neighborhoods, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dar Zahira is a beautifully restored and charming riad for up to 6 persons. You'll get a private & cosy place for you and your travel companions.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

It is small enough to reach everything by foot, there are plenty of watering holes, and reasonable restaurants, and the possibilities for shopping are endless. In some restaurants you can eat while enjoying the wonderful views of the ocean.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    438
    62
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“love the old doors and walking around ancient streets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

the Essaouira medina is a really old medina with loads of history - the Portugeuse then revamped when the Sultan moved in when the Portugeuse moved out - also a long history of Jewish living here so a mix of people groups and cultures.
Some wonderful old doors, door surrounds and windows around the narrow streets - some with old cobblestones still.
Lots of interesting shops and interesting glimpses into the lives of locals that still live here.
Worth a wander or two

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Truiden, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A nice day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A nice location for a day out. You can leave the car on the parking lot south of the Medina. From there you can visit the harbor, the Ramparts, the Beach and the Medina. Visit the souk on Avenue de l'Istiqlal, the main street through the Medina, and stroll the little streets to the North-West. You can have food on Place Moulay Hassan, or on one of the squares in the heart of the Medina. Where the little streets focus on tourists, the souk on Avenue de l'Istiqlal is still genuine. Overall, the atmosphere is calm and not mainly focused on tourism.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espinho, Portugal
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely week in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We took a one day trip to Essaouira and how relaxing that was.
The Essaouira medina is smaller than the Marrakech medina and also less chaotic.
We loved the architecture of the place and all the surroundings.
Much fresher that in Marrakech also (23ºC in Essaouira @ 16:00 and 42ºC in Marrakech @18:00).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Gate 1 Tour to Essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Gate 1 offered a wonderful day-long excursion to the beachside town of Essaouira, a Portuguese fortification with a bustling fish market, calm medina, and temperate climate. The tour guide provided information in English on the historic significance of the town, and led us through the souk, stopping by shops of interests to travelers. He pointed out a bookstore for me to find a book I'd been looking for and introduced me to the owner, who had lived in New York City. This personal attention to my needs impressed me. He wanted us to enjoy our trip to the fullest. I usually don't take organized tours, but after this 12-day trip with Gate 1 I wouldn't hesitate to book another one.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medina of Essaouira also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Medina of Essaouira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medina of Essaouira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.