We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, large rooms and mostly good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice, large rooms and mostly good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was our first stop on our honeymoon. Overall we were really pleased with it all and would recommend although only through 'offer' prices as our value for money included visiting with a Groupon.

The pool, breakfast, room, room service, cocktails and general service were all great. Not being particularly bilingual was not an issue here as most spoke English sufficiently if not very well.

The room did end up with ants roaming around but we had a small amount of snacks around and part of the scenery was large plants reaching up the side of the building. Although annoying it couldn't be helped much.

The wifi was very temperamental which led to quite a bit of frustration. When offered it should be consistent either way so that customers know what to expect.

The bed was the largest I think I've ever seen and the room was fantastically dark with the curtains drawn so 5 stars there.

Unfortunately the spa services were quite lacking, not in what was on offer but the organising of doing any. We waited for more than an hour whilst one other couple were served. I know there is a line to draw between giving customers a focus and importance whilst moving them a long in good time but they were WAY off in our single experience.

Overall very nice, would recommend to couples and families (there's lots to do in Essouira for all) but the price was high when not on offer.

Room Tip: Pool facing is not windy. Sea facing is windy but has an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Andrew,

I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa MGallery.

Your feedback is very important to us,I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

I hope to receive you another time with us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    315
    109
    41
    18
See reviews for
188
480
56
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

stayed 7 nights staff very helpful we found service to be very good in need of refurbishment but rooms very clean as was all of the hotel pool area nice place to chill out drinks average price for hotels we had lunch round the pool and food very good we had a great time in essaouira and would like to thank all the hotel staff for playing there part in making our holiday memorable stayed september 2013 travelled as a couple

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Andy,

Thank you very much for your message.

I appreciate that you take time to give us your feed back!

I will transfer your comment to my staff; it is the biggest reward for their daily effort and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Booked on hotels.com based upon location and good star rating and T/A reviews. Very much as billed - nice rooms, good amenities, lovely pool, great for the beach and town. Could do with a bit of a refurb/tidy up but not a major problem.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Jonny,

Thank you very much for your message!

Happy that you enjoy your stay, all the staff hope to welcome you soon in this Hotel!

I hope to receive you another time in Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Overall I was very impressed.
At check in my friend waved his Accor platinum card about and we were given an immediate upgrade to a junior suite which was really big and had an enormous balcony.

As others have noted here the hotel does indeed need a thorough renovation especially the hallways (the carpets are truly revolting - more a case of wipe your feet on the way out rather than on the way in) and the room itself is very dated although still very clean and comfortable.

The pool area is very nice and we didn't have any problems getting sunloungers.
We found all staff to be friendly and helpful especially the staff on duty at breakfast - breakfast was very nice, at tables around the pool, with a big selection. Only criticism was that neither the tea nor the coffee were ever particularly hot.

The first coupe of days we were here a tray of aftenoon snacks was left in the room which was a nice touch. I can't comment on the restaurants as we didn't try them - there are lots of high-quality restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Our favourites were la Licorne and la Decouverte.
Overall, I'd recommend it - I'd also thoroughly recommend Essaouira which is a lovely sunny seaside town full of nice restaurants and interesting little streets.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Andrew,

Thank you very much indeed for having taken the time to write your opinion in Tripadvisor and to express your satisfaction following your stay at Le Médina Essaouira hotel Thalassa sea & spa .

I will not hesitate to share it with the entire team.

I hope to receive you another time .

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you read through the last dozen reviews you get the same feel as we do. It's trying hard to be something they are falling short of. This is a great shame. Some staff are excellent and attentive and some are going through the motions. The pool and decking need a serious refurbishment. We witnessed 2 people having incidents where the poolside / decking gave way underfoot. Unacceptable. We agree with all past comments. Ideally located for beach and medinas. I would recommend the 'BAR' just 5 minutes away towards the port. Cheap local beer - ice cold and great views of the coast or local football games. Goals and fighting! Just like Ice Hockey!!

Otherwise all the usual expectations of hotel life. The staff need a bit more motivation about the priority of service and the hotel revenue it generates rather than being tipped as a desire to do the job.

Loved all the restaurants in the hotel. Give this hotel a go before Essaouira develops.

Finally we would not like a standard response from the hotel management. Mix it up a little. Some of the more hard working staff would benefit from management experience and some of the managers from starting again and learning that standing round looking serious in a shirt and tie is not what hotel service is all about. Step back and look again as if with fresh eyes.

Room Tip: Rooms to 100 + face the pool. No issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Andy,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa MGallery. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At MGallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Thank you again for taking the time to contact us and please accept our sincerest apologies.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We arrived here from a few days in Marrakech and the difference in the whole area and in particular this hotel was fantastic. On arrival we were ushered to the sofas in the reception area and immediately offered a very refreshing cold towel and a glass of mint tea. All the registration process was completed in comfort and the receptionist was particilary friendly and helpful.

Our car was parked across the road in a small section reserved for the hotel. Parking was free.

The room we had was a pool view one and was spotlessly clean and very spacious. The balcony was well equippped with a lounger, chairs and a table. Perfect for a very pleasant start or finish to the day.

The room was immaculate with a huge king bed. The quality of the sheets and pillows made the bed one of the most comfortable I have experienced anywhere in the world. There was even an evening turn down service which is becoming very rare even in 5* hotels nowadays. Even the small chocolate was very good!

The room had the usual minbar which was restocked with complimentary water on a daily basis. The seperate toilet was handy and the actual bathroom was bright and clean. Towels were of an acceptable standard and replaced daily if required.

Breakfast choice was faily standard but again the quality of the fruits, meats and cheeses were very high and were always fresh. There was a hot station doing omlettes, fried eggs and a few local specialities made to order.

We also ate in the main restaurant mid afternoon. The food was half the quality and 4 times the price of what you can get within 5 - 10 mins walk from the hotel.

The hotel location was excellent with the medina and fish market stalls just a few minutes away.

The medina is a delightful place to wander with none of the agressiveness of the shop keepers that we experienced in Marrakesh with the prices markedly cheaper.

The food stalls beside the fish market are an essential visit for any fish and seafood lovers. Just pick your own ingredients, haggle the price and that will mean the freshest of freshest fish meal anywhere in the world!

All in all Essaouira is defiantely worth a few days to relax and you can do a lot worse than Le Medina Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment; I’m going to share it with the entire team of Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

I will be pleased to see you again in Essaouira

Best Regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

After Marrakesh, we found this hotel was a lovely peaceful break. Spotlessly clean (and smelled delicious - they burnt oil everywhere - seriously the best smelling hotel I've been to). Excellent breakfast. We'd have liked more veggie options on the menu for dinner (there was 1) and we believe it may have been cooked in animal fat as we were both suffering stomach cramps after - but as this is surprisingly common we wouldn't hold it against the hotel. The pool was lovely, it was a beautiful setting and the food tasted yummy. I had a fantastic massage. We used the spa pool and hammam and really enjoyed it - but we did wish that everything in the spa pool hadn't been turned off (we understand the restricted hours but do think that hotel guests who have been restricted to 7-10pm should be able to enjoy the pool turned on!).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear alasse,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the MGallery Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.
I will transfer your opinion to my staff; we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.
Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection

Address: Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#7 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#18 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#19 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a sumptuous Moroccan riad, the facade of the Sofitel Thalassa Essaouira is painted the traditional red of Mogador. Set on the coast, close to the medina, this charming luxury hotel furnished with thuja and lemon wood cabinets, provides direct access to a luxury thalassotherapy centre. Enjoy an unforgettable leisure and fitness break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea And Spa - Mgallery Collection
Accor Thalassa Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira
Essaouira Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.