We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but no world beater” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Cork
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good but no world beater”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Good hotel ticked most boxes but not going to win any awards. We had a nice 9 day stay here and the hotel was good without being great. Room was decent size etc with pool view, it was well located but service was at times a letdown which was common in Morocco we found. Some of the people there were great like the lady in the bar, the cleaners and one or two of the front desk. The pool attendants were good and friendly but some of the waiting staff not so great, one day I was waiting 10 minutes at a table for lunch with no sign of service at all I had to go looking for a waiter and found him sat on a table inside talking to another member of staff. Mini bar was very expensive and was not restocked daily. Prices of food and drinks are very high at €8ish for a glass of Moroccan wine poolside, €6 for a local bottle of beer, €10 for an omelette and fries. The hotel has a lot of potential as it is a nice layout and has a nice restaurant and bar but there was no life there at night I saw nobody eat in the restaurant and the bar only ever had a couple of people there at a time. They did have a cocktail and wine party for the guests one night which was very nice and a great idea with traditional music etc. They could do with more of this and also have some better facilities like the shop; we found it hard to find sun creams locally and the shop just stocked one or two, they should tailor this better to what guests are looking for typically day to day on their holiday. The beach is lovely and has a private section for the hotel. Be warned its windy though so you will get a lot of sand blowing. The spa is decent and has a hairdressers etc, nice heated pool which we were ordered out of though by a sullen employee saying it wasn’t available until after 7pm (who wants to use it then) unless for spa treatments. There is a gym also. Most of the staff didn’t have English which again is common in Morocco, funnily while I was trying to ask a waiter for milk for my tea and eventually got across what I wanted; he proceeded to try and teach me how to ask for it in French rather than learn the English for it!! The pool is nice and the sun deck / solarium is a nice area to chill. Breakfast was very good too with lots of choice. They have the basis for a very good hotel in a very good location here and its good but could do better, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it but it needs to up its game if it wants to do better and climb the ratings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederique A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Eskillington ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your observations with us following your stay at the Medina Essaouira hotel Thalassa sea & Spa.

I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

I hope that i will have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon, I promise a wonderful stay.

Thank you again for your comment.

Best Regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    227
    82
    32
    13
See reviews for
126
335
34
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Damerham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a really spacious room with big bathroom and large balcony overlooking the pool area. The hotel was very clean and we had new shampoo and conditioner etc added to our bathroom every day. The hotel was across the road from the beach and was close to all the places we wished to go and we walked to them all quite safely.

The buffet style breakfast was amazing with such a choice and possibly everything you could think of to eat and we ate outside by the pool each day. We ate so well at breakfast that we did not need to eat again until the evening.

There was a Spa but we did not have time to use it.

Room Tip: Pool side facing for the big balconies. We were facing West so we got the sun from mid morning onwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédérique A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear TAHITA,

Thank you for your comment.

I am so happy that you enjoyed you stay with us; it was a pleasure of welcoming you.

I hope to see you again very soon on a next visit in Essaouira.

Your sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

It is a very nice hotel, clean, with beautiful flower arrangements everywhere including in our suit. Check-in process is very effective. We booked a sea view executive suit, of which the view was great, but the balcony is tiny. The evening clean service when they cleaned our bathroom after our after-beach bath has been very much appreciated; as we enjoyed coming back to a clean room in the evening. The location is perfect with a short walk to the medina in Essaouria, where there are many nice restaurants and shops.
The reception staff is not friendly, nor helpful. On the first evening, I called asking for an extra bed-sheet, after 3 times explaining my wish; she understood what my need was and gave me a wrong number to call. This number was to the room-service, who then transferred me to the housekeeping dept.. It would be a better service if the reception staff had helped instead of diverting me to another department! When we checked out in early morning on the 10th of May, the female receptionist was almost rude to me, may be because I did not understand French, or perhaps she had a bad night!
We rate the overall staff in this hotel as “good” because all the other staff we met during our stay were all friendly!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédérique A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear GLOBALTROTTE,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at the Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

I noted your comment about reception; i will not hesitate to share with the front office manager.

I will take the necessary actions, all my sincere apologies for this experience.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your comment.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

After we had left a dirty Riad in the Medina we were happy to find this clean hotel. The rooms were good but nothing special. It is a kind of hotel we usually try to avoid but here it served wat we wanted, a place near the beach clean and friendly staff. We had dinner in the beach side restaurant which was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédérique A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear MIRJAMREIS,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel

Thank you for your message, i hope to welcome you home again.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here in April after 2 nights in the Atlas Mountains. After a long and very hot drive from Asni via Marrakesh we arrived at Le Medina- we were greeted with steaming hand towels and very welcome mint tea, what a treat! Our room had a tiny balcony with a view of the beach and sea, very comfortable with a luxurious feel to it. Immaculately clean, air conditioning a welcome respite at night, clean towels daily and sometimes more often. Breakfast round the pool was plentiful and delicious, the pool was huge. The loungers got "bagged" fairly early but there were more on a different level above the indoor pool (which we didn't try, there was also a Hammam and Spa). There were roses everywhere and a wonderful scent of roses. The hotel is in a great position for exploring the medina and souk, an easy walk. We were sorry to leave!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédérique A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear SARA,

Thank you for taking time to write about your stay at Le Médina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa.

I am so happy that you enjoyed you stay with us, it was a plesure of welcoming you .

i hope to see you again very soon on a next visit in Essaouira.

yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We went here after five nights in Marrakech and as its on the coast the temperature was much nicer. We were however still in 28 degree heat and when we discovered the air conditioning wasn't working g we were disappointed. After mentioning this to the reception they immediately upgraded us to a suite at no extra charge. This was a fantastic suite with sweet gifts laid out on our coffee table every day. One night we were even invited to their cocktail bar which was free for an hour an had a live band but this is only reserved if you had a suite.
The swimming pool was amazing and theyhad a free hamam for all guests. There is also an indoor pool which has SALT water which is heated to 35 degrees! It was very good.

The only downside is that breakfast is an ecreate and is 18 euros per person.

In conclusion this is a great hotel and we would recommend to anyone wishing to have a relaxing holiday for sunbathing etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédérique A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Google Translation
Chère Safi,

Je tiens à vous remercier d'avoir pris le temps de nous faire part de vos remarques.

Je souhaite vous présenter mes sincères excuses pour tous désagréments vécu lors de votre séjour parmi nous.

Vos remarques ne peuvent que nous aider à nous améliorer dans nos prestations et aller de l'avant.

Nous sommes heureux cependant et vous remercions de votre satisfaction à l'égard de la qualité du personnel.

Je me ferai un réel plaisir à vous accueillir lors de votre prochain séjour à Essaouira.

Dans l'attente de votre retour, je reste à votre entière disposition pour tout complément d'information.

Bien à vous
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Casablanca,Shanghai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was there last February, I was lucky to have good weather, my title sums up the feeling I had when I woke up in the morning.
beautiful hotel, exceptional city, especially if your room overlooks the ocean.
good breakfast in beside the pool, especially with a radiant sun.
do not miss this intense pleasure if you go through Essaouira
make a small cuts out and go see "Sidi el kaouki"

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédérique A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Google Translation
Cher SAAD,

Tout d'abord je voudrais vous remercier d'avoir commenté votre séjour au Médina Essaouira

Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa.

Je suis ravie de voir que votre séjour fût positif dans son ensemble.

Je vais féliciter l'ensemble du personnel sur leur qualité de service.

Je me ferai un réel plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau à Essaouira.

Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection

Also Known As:
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea And Spa - Mgallery Collection
Accor Thalassa Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira
Essaouira Sofitel
Address: Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#18 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#37 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a sumptuous Moroccan riad, the facade of the Sofitel Thalassa Essaouira is painted the traditional red of Mogador. Set on the coast, close to the medina, this charming luxury hotel furnished with thuja and lemon wood cabinets, provides direct access to a luxury thalassotherapy centre. Enjoy an unforgettable leisure and fitness break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Agoda, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.