We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Damerham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Loved the breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a really spacious room with big bathroom and large balcony overlooking the pool area. The hotel was very clean and we had new shampoo and conditioner etc added to our bathroom every day. The hotel was across the road from the beach and was close to all the places we wished to go and we walked to them all quite safely.

The buffet style breakfast was amazing with such a choice and possibly everything you could think of to eat and we ate outside by the pool each day. We ate so well at breakfast that we did not need to eat again until the evening.

There was a Spa but we did not have time to use it.

Room Tip: Pool side facing for the big balconies. We were facing West so we got the sun from mid morning onwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédérique A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear TAHITA,

Thank you for your comment.

I am so happy that you enjoyed you stay with us; it was a pleasure of welcoming you.

I hope to see you again very soon on a next visit in Essaouira.

Your sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    282
    97
    36
    17
See reviews for
177
428
49
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

It is a very nice hotel, clean, with beautiful flower arrangements everywhere including in our suit. Check-in process is very effective. We booked a sea view executive suit, of which the view was great, but the balcony is tiny. The evening clean service when they cleaned our bathroom after our after-beach bath has been very much appreciated; as we enjoyed coming back to a clean room in the evening. The location is perfect with a short walk to the medina in Essaouria, where there are many nice restaurants and shops.
The reception staff is not friendly, nor helpful. On the first evening, I called asking for an extra bed-sheet, after 3 times explaining my wish; she understood what my need was and gave me a wrong number to call. This number was to the room-service, who then transferred me to the housekeeping dept.. It would be a better service if the reception staff had helped instead of diverting me to another department! When we checked out in early morning on the 10th of May, the female receptionist was almost rude to me, may be because I did not understand French, or perhaps she had a bad night!
We rate the overall staff in this hotel as “good” because all the other staff we met during our stay were all friendly!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédérique A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear GLOBALTROTTE,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at the Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

I noted your comment about reception; i will not hesitate to share with the front office manager.

I will take the necessary actions, all my sincere apologies for this experience.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your comment.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

After we had left a dirty Riad in the Medina we were happy to find this clean hotel. The rooms were good but nothing special. It is a kind of hotel we usually try to avoid but here it served wat we wanted, a place near the beach clean and friendly staff. We had dinner in the beach side restaurant which was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédérique A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear MIRJAMREIS,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel

Thank you for your message, i hope to welcome you home again.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here in April after 2 nights in the Atlas Mountains. After a long and very hot drive from Asni via Marrakesh we arrived at Le Medina- we were greeted with steaming hand towels and very welcome mint tea, what a treat! Our room had a tiny balcony with a view of the beach and sea, very comfortable with a luxurious feel to it. Immaculately clean, air conditioning a welcome respite at night, clean towels daily and sometimes more often. Breakfast round the pool was plentiful and delicious, the pool was huge. The loungers got "bagged" fairly early but there were more on a different level above the indoor pool (which we didn't try, there was also a Hammam and Spa). There were roses everywhere and a wonderful scent of roses. The hotel is in a great position for exploring the medina and souk, an easy walk. We were sorry to leave!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédérique A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear SARA,

Thank you for taking time to write about your stay at Le Médina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa.

I am so happy that you enjoyed you stay with us, it was a plesure of welcoming you .

i hope to see you again very soon on a next visit in Essaouira.

yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We went here after five nights in Marrakech and as its on the coast the temperature was much nicer. We were however still in 28 degree heat and when we discovered the air conditioning wasn't working g we were disappointed. After mentioning this to the reception they immediately upgraded us to a suite at no extra charge. This was a fantastic suite with sweet gifts laid out on our coffee table every day. One night we were even invited to their cocktail bar which was free for an hour an had a live band but this is only reserved if you had a suite.
The swimming pool was amazing and theyhad a free hamam for all guests. There is also an indoor pool which has SALT water which is heated to 35 degrees! It was very good.

The only downside is that breakfast is an ecreate and is 18 euros per person.

In conclusion this is a great hotel and we would recommend to anyone wishing to have a relaxing holiday for sunbathing etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédérique A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Google Translation
Chère Safi,

Je tiens à vous remercier d'avoir pris le temps de nous faire part de vos remarques.

Je souhaite vous présenter mes sincères excuses pour tous désagréments vécu lors de votre séjour parmi nous.

Vos remarques ne peuvent que nous aider à nous améliorer dans nos prestations et aller de l'avant.

Nous sommes heureux cependant et vous remercions de votre satisfaction à l'égard de la qualité du personnel.

Je me ferai un réel plaisir à vous accueillir lors de votre prochain séjour à Essaouira.

Dans l'attente de votre retour, je reste à votre entière disposition pour tout complément d'information.

Bien à vous
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Casablanca,Shanghai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was there last February, I was lucky to have good weather, my title sums up the feeling I had when I woke up in the morning.
beautiful hotel, exceptional city, especially if your room overlooks the ocean.
good breakfast in beside the pool, especially with a radiant sun.
do not miss this intense pleasure if you go through Essaouira
make a small cuts out and go see "Sidi el kaouki"

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédérique A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Google Translation
Cher SAAD,

Tout d'abord je voudrais vous remercier d'avoir commenté votre séjour au Médina Essaouira

Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa.

Je suis ravie de voir que votre séjour fût positif dans son ensemble.

Je vais féliciter l'ensemble du personnel sur leur qualité de service.

Je me ferai un réel plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau à Essaouira.

Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean and overlooked the pool. Easily one of the most comfortable Emperor sized beds we have slept in! Excellent breakfast in nice setting around the pool. Sun beds were very comfortable with good quality mattresses. Staff were helpful and friendly. Disappointed that the pool wasn't heated as advertised and was very cold. If visiting this resort, be aware that there is occasionally a cold wind blowing off the ocean which even if it is sunny and hot, brings the temperature down. You may need a fleece / warm jacket in the mornings and evenings. Overall we would highly recommend this hotel for comfort and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Go for a pool view. Sea view rooms face the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédérique A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Steve,

Au nom de toute l'équipe MGallery Le Médina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa, je tiens à vous remercier pour le temps que vous avez consacré afin de mettre un commentaire sur l'établissement.

Je suis très heureuse que votre séjour parmi nous ait apporté pleine satisfaction.

Pour la piscine, je vous prie d'accepter mes sincères excuses pour ce désagrément, votre remarque a été prise en considération et le nécessaire a été fait dès la réception de votre commentaire.

Je me réjouis de vous recevoir à nouveau parmi nous dans les meilleures conditions.

Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection

Address: Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#18 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#20 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a sumptuous Moroccan riad, the facade of the Sofitel Thalassa Essaouira is painted the traditional red of Mogador. Set on the coast, close to the medina, this charming luxury hotel furnished with thuja and lemon wood cabinets, provides direct access to a luxury thalassotherapy centre. Enjoy an unforgettable leisure and fitness break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea And Spa - Mgallery Collection
Accor Thalassa Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira
Essaouira Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.