We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent quality hotel where the star rating is very accurate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“excellent quality hotel where the star rating is very accurate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We went here after five nights in Marrakech and as its on the coast the temperature was much nicer. We were however still in 28 degree heat and when we discovered the air conditioning wasn't working g we were disappointed. After mentioning this to the reception they immediately upgraded us to a suite at no extra charge. This was a fantastic suite with sweet gifts laid out on our coffee table every day. One night we were even invited to their cocktail bar which was free for an hour an had a live band but this is only reserved if you had a suite.
The swimming pool was amazing and theyhad a free hamam for all guests. There is also an indoor pool which has SALT water which is heated to 35 degrees! It was very good.

The only downside is that breakfast is an ecreate and is 18 euros per person.

In conclusion this is a great hotel and we would recommend to anyone wishing to have a relaxing holiday for sunbathing etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédérique A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Google Translation
Chère Safi,

Je tiens à vous remercier d'avoir pris le temps de nous faire part de vos remarques.

Je souhaite vous présenter mes sincères excuses pour tous désagréments vécu lors de votre séjour parmi nous.

Vos remarques ne peuvent que nous aider à nous améliorer dans nos prestations et aller de l'avant.

Nous sommes heureux cependant et vous remercions de votre satisfaction à l'égard de la qualité du personnel.

Je me ferai un réel plaisir à vous accueillir lors de votre prochain séjour à Essaouira.

Dans l'attente de votre retour, je reste à votre entière disposition pour tout complément d'information.

Bien à vous
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    250
    89
    33
    13
See reviews for
145
367
40
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Casablanca,Shanghai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was there last February, I was lucky to have good weather, my title sums up the feeling I had when I woke up in the morning.
beautiful hotel, exceptional city, especially if your room overlooks the ocean.
good breakfast in beside the pool, especially with a radiant sun.
do not miss this intense pleasure if you go through Essaouira
make a small cuts out and go see "Sidi el kaouki"

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédérique A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Google Translation
Cher SAAD,

Tout d'abord je voudrais vous remercier d'avoir commenté votre séjour au Médina Essaouira

Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa.

Je suis ravie de voir que votre séjour fût positif dans son ensemble.

Je vais féliciter l'ensemble du personnel sur leur qualité de service.

Je me ferai un réel plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau à Essaouira.

Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean and overlooked the pool. Easily one of the most comfortable Emperor sized beds we have slept in! Excellent breakfast in nice setting around the pool. Sun beds were very comfortable with good quality mattresses. Staff were helpful and friendly. Disappointed that the pool wasn't heated as advertised and was very cold. If visiting this resort, be aware that there is occasionally a cold wind blowing off the ocean which even if it is sunny and hot, brings the temperature down. You may need a fleece / warm jacket in the mornings and evenings. Overall we would highly recommend this hotel for comfort and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Go for a pool view. Sea view rooms face the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédérique A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Steve,

Au nom de toute l'équipe MGallery Le Médina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa, je tiens à vous remercier pour le temps que vous avez consacré afin de mettre un commentaire sur l'établissement.

Je suis très heureuse que votre séjour parmi nous ait apporté pleine satisfaction.

Pour la piscine, je vous prie d'accepter mes sincères excuses pour ce désagrément, votre remarque a été prise en considération et le nécessaire a été fait dès la réception de votre commentaire.

Je me réjouis de vous recevoir à nouveau parmi nous dans les meilleures conditions.

Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a room overlooking the pool which was very nice. Breakfast isn't included and was 18euros pp per day which was ridiculous as its just your standard hotel breakfast, but for convenience we paid it.
Drinks and food expensive on site and lunch wasn't nice so go to the medina for your food.

They have a bar that didn't have a soul in it the three nights we stayed here. We had hoped there would be a good atmosphere as it is quite a big hotel but it seemed to be very quiet. Pool area really nice, but not sheltered from the wind. You can help yourself to towels by the pool and the lounging areas outside are lovely. Nice little gym, indoor pool small.

Seems like the biggest and best hotel in the medina area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédérique A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Client,

Au nom de toute l'équipe MGallery Le Médina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa, je tiens à vous remercier pour le temps que vous avez consacré afin de mettre un commentaire sur l'établissement.

Je profite l'occasion de vous présenter mes sincères excuses pour tous désagréments survenus lors de votre séjour.

Je tiens à vous informer que nous prenons en considérations toutes vos remarques.

Merci pour votre compréhension.

Je me réjouis de vous recevoir à nouveau parmi nous dans les meilleures conditions.

Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Really enjoyed staying at this hotel with my family, The location was perfect...short walk to the old city and marina and across the street from the beach. Pool was beautiful. Service was just okay....no one went out of their way for anything. The spa was completely lacking and the people working at night at the spa was completely inept.....could there really be no towel at the indoor hot tub??

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédérique A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear nycatty35

First i would like to thank you for taking time to write about your stay at Le Médina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa.

I am so happy that you enjoyed you stay with us, it was a plesure of welcoming you .

i hope to see you again very soon on a next visit in Essaouira.

yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Close to the old town and thebeach, not sure itsgreat value at full price butt we booked through expedia and were very happy. Luxorious room, lovely pool, nice staff. I would definitely come back here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédérique A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Rob 1974_12

First i would like to thank you for taking time to write about your stay at Le Médina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa.

I am so happy that you enjoyed you stay with us, it was a plesure of welcoming you .

i hope to see you again very soon on a next visit in Essaouira.

yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Former Sofitel, just three minutes from the medina, ideal location if you prefer a hotel to a riad. Rooms were excellent and cleaned twice a day (despite what some other reviewers have said) with an evening chocolate! Possibly the most spacious and comfortable beds we have ever slept in! Lovely pool area with a variety of comfortable beds and covered loungers. Bar and restaurant to the standard you would expect, however we would recommend taking breakfast in the medina (ore authentic and much better value). Free wifi in the reception also reached our room and the pool.

Room Tip: We had a pool view with a terrace, which we highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédérique A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear riglins,

First i would like to thank you for taking time to write your comment about your stay at Le Médina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, I will transfer your compliments to my staff.

I hope to welcome you home again with us on your next visit to Essaouira.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection

Address: Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#7 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#18 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#20 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a sumptuous Moroccan riad, the facade of the Sofitel Thalassa Essaouira is painted the traditional red of Mogador. Set on the coast, close to the medina, this charming luxury hotel furnished with thuja and lemon wood cabinets, provides direct access to a luxury thalassotherapy centre. Enjoy an unforgettable leisure and fitness break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea And Spa - Mgallery Collection
Accor Thalassa Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira
Essaouira Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.