We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great rooms and pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, great rooms and pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Really enjoyed staying at this hotel with my family, The location was perfect...short walk to the old city and marina and across the street from the beach. Pool was beautiful. Service was just okay....no one went out of their way for anything. The spa was completely lacking and the people working at night at the spa was completely inept.....could there really be no towel at the indoor hot tub??

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédérique A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear nycatty35

First i would like to thank you for taking time to write about your stay at Le Médina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa.

I am so happy that you enjoyed you stay with us, it was a plesure of welcoming you .

i hope to see you again very soon on a next visit in Essaouira.

yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    313
    108
    41
    17
See reviews for
185
479
56
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Close to the old town and thebeach, not sure itsgreat value at full price butt we booked through expedia and were very happy. Luxorious room, lovely pool, nice staff. I would definitely come back here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédérique A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Rob 1974_12

First i would like to thank you for taking time to write about your stay at Le Médina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa.

I am so happy that you enjoyed you stay with us, it was a plesure of welcoming you .

i hope to see you again very soon on a next visit in Essaouira.

yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Former Sofitel, just three minutes from the medina, ideal location if you prefer a hotel to a riad. Rooms were excellent and cleaned twice a day (despite what some other reviewers have said) with an evening chocolate! Possibly the most spacious and comfortable beds we have ever slept in! Lovely pool area with a variety of comfortable beds and covered loungers. Bar and restaurant to the standard you would expect, however we would recommend taking breakfast in the medina (ore authentic and much better value). Free wifi in the reception also reached our room and the pool.

Room Tip: We had a pool view with a terrace, which we highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédérique A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear riglins,

First i would like to thank you for taking time to write your comment about your stay at Le Médina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, I will transfer your compliments to my staff.

I hope to welcome you home again with us on your next visit to Essaouira.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights in this hotel in March 2013. We had a double room on the 3rd floor facing the swimming pool, lovely, clean and spacious room with balcony and very good bath and cupboard facilities. The well furnished balcony made it a pleasure to sit there in the sun as well as around the swimming pool. We had breakfast around the pool every morning except one which we enjoyed inside as it was wet outside after a rainy night.
Staff was very helpful, service was good and the common areas were a pleasure to relax in.
The hotel is on the seafront and very convenient for beach walks, trips to the Medina, Restaurant and the Fishing harbour.

Room Tip: A room facing the pool may be a more sheltered choice than one facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédérique A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Synnove01

Thank you for taking time to write your review about your stay at Le Médina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, I will transfer your compliments to my staff

I hope that i will have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Wished to escape Marrakech for a few days, and wanted somewhere handy for the beach (as we have a toddler) with a decent pool/spa as well as being walking distance to the main town for restaurants and shops. This hotel was the only one which ticked the boxes, and we had a suite (two rooms) overlooking the pool. The service in the hotel was good and we enjoyed our stay. I think Sofitel have slightly abandoned this hotel (including dropping their name from the name of the hotel) to focus on their new hotel out of town, and I think that shows. Also the pool is too cold (compared to the Sofitel in Marrakech) and the drinks are very expensive. But no significant complaints at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédérique A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Coolblade

Thank you for taking time to write your review about your stay at Le Médina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa

I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, I will transfer your compliments to my staff

I hope that i will have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A great hotel with very friendly staff, comfortable rooms, a lovely pool, plenty of relaxing/sunbathing areas, a decent spa and fabulous views of the sea and the old town. Its just close enough to the centre of town without being too close and a perfect place to base yourself and hide away from the bustling outside world when you've had enough!

Room Tip: Get a sea view room as they all have little balconies and wonderful sun sets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
CharlesEsq

Thank you very much for your message. I appreciate that you take time to give us your feed back!

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, I will transfer your compliments to my staff.

I certainly would be very pleased too see you again on a next visit to Le Médina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa.

I hope to welcome you home again

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel is in a good location and the staff are very friendly.however the food was not up to scratch or good value....the worst part of the trip was the hotel was too mean to put the air condition on in our room or any of the guest rooms....they told use that the system was broken
But one of the staff told us they do not put the air on until later on in the year..the temperature
In our room was 75 degrees F . I lost sleep for the four nights we stayed there..

Room Tip: Face the pool the rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Clivenm,

Thank you for taking time to write your review about your stay at Le Médina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa

I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, I will transfer your compliments to my staff

I hope that i will have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection

Address: Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#7 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#18 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#19 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a sumptuous Moroccan riad, the facade of the Sofitel Thalassa Essaouira is painted the traditional red of Mogador. Set on the coast, close to the medina, this charming luxury hotel furnished with thuja and lemon wood cabinets, provides direct access to a luxury thalassotherapy centre. Enjoy an unforgettable leisure and fitness break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea And Spa - Mgallery Collection
Accor Thalassa Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira
Essaouira Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.